Student Recreation Center

  • SRC Header (Matty with lifeguards)

American Red Cross CPR, AED and First Aid Training

Student Practices CPR on a training dummy

Get American Red Cross Certified for CPR, AED and First Aid in Only One Day

Would you like to learn true lifesaving skills in just one day? The Student Recreation Center of the University Student Union (USU) is offering in-person classes throughout the semester to get you certified in CPR, AED and First Aid. For just $57 per person, you’ll receive hands-on training that will prepare you to recognize and respond appropriately to a variety of cardiac, breathing and first aid emergencies. This program will teach the skills that you need to know to provide immediate care to a suddenly injured or ill person until more advanced medical personnel arrive and take over.

All American Red Cross classes will be held on select Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. in the Grand Salon of the USU. Each class is limited to 15 participants. You’ll be provided with workshop equipment including manikins, AEDs (automated external defibrillators), disposable gloves and masks in person.

For available class dates, please see below:

Summer 2021

  • Saturday, May 22: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, May 21)
  • Saturday, June 5: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, June 4)
  • Saturday, June 19: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, June 18)
  • Saturday, July 10: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, July 9)
  • Saturday, July 24: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, July 23)
  • Saturday, Aug. 7: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Aug. 6)
  • Saturday, Aug. 21: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Aug. 20)

Fall 2021

  • Saturday, Sept. 11: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Sept. 5)
  • Saturday, Sept. 18: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Sept. 12)
  • Saturday, Sept. 25: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Sept. 19)
  • Saturday, Oct. 2: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Sept. 26)
  • Saturday, Oct. 16: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Oct. 10)
  • Saturday, Oct. 23: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Oct. 17)
  • Saturday, Nov. 6: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Oct. 31)
  • Saturday, Nov. 13: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Nov. 7)
  • Saturday, Nov. 20: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Nov.14)
  • Saturday, Dec. 4: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. (Register through Sunday, Nov. 28)

No prerequisites are required

Registration and Participation

  1. Register for your chosen virtual class session on the SRC Portal. Upon registration, you will receive a Zoom link, curbside pickup/drop-off booking link and a mandatory health screening form.
  2. Once registered for the class, complete your CSUN Health Screening prior to arriving on campus.

Certification Requirements

  • Participate in all course activities
  • Demonstrate competency in all required skills
  • Successfully participate in an end-of-course scenario(s)

All CPR, AED and First Aid certifications are valid for 2 years from the date of your course completion.

For more information, contact Ryan Hairapetian at 818-677-5804.