Biology

Faculty & Staff

 

Dr. Jonathan Kelber with two students in lab.

 

NIH Awards CSUN Professor $1.46M to Support Cancer Research

CSUN Weekly _ Kelber

Portrait of CSUN biology professor Cindy Malone

CSUN Receives $2.77 Million to Build ‘Bridges’ to Regenerative Medicine

CSUN Today _ Malone

 /science-mathematics/biology/stem-cell-training-program

Coral reef from the air.

Professor Bob Carpenter is Among a Team of 20 International Researchers Taking NASA on a Voyage to the Depths of the Ocean

 

CSUN Today _ Carpenter

Wheeler North Award Recipient Larry Allen giving presentation.

 

Professor Larry Allen, Chair of Biology, receives the 2016 Wheeler North Award from the California Academy of Sciences

 

‪#‎SCAS2016‬

 
Portrait of Dr. Rachel Mackelprang

Prof receives $1.3 million NASA grant to study possible link to ET life

CSUN Magazine (Mackelprang) 

 Dr. Randy Cohen and Dr. Ben Yespelkis

Rat Race: The neurological effects of exercise in rats with ataxia

CSUN Magazine (Cohen) 
 Portrait of Dr. Jonathan Kelber.

Biology prof paves 
way for future breast cancer treatments

 CSUN Magazine (Kelber)

 

Publication Log - a growing list of writings by faculty and students

Full-Time Faculty

Larry Allen: CR5101/MG4112; 818-677-4037; larry.allen@csun.edu

Lisa Banner: CR5417/5411; 818-677-7655; lisa.banner@csun.edu

Chhandak Basu: CS3218A; 818-677-4592; chhandak.basu@csun.edu

David Bermudes: MG4216; 818-677-6062; david.bermudes@csun.edu

Robert Carpenter: MG4110; 818-677-3256; robert.carpenter@csun.edu

Randy Cohen: CR5416; 818-677-2352;

Cheryl Courtney-Hogue: CR5315; 818-677-3349; cheryl.hogue@csun.edu

Maria Elena deBellard: CS3216B; 818-677-6470; mariaelena.debellard@csun.edu

Steve Dudgeon: MG4105; 818-677-7322; steve.dudgeon@csun.edu

Peter Edmunds: MG4113B; 818-677-2502; peter.edmunds@csun.edu

Robert Espinoza: CR5319; 818-677-4980; robert.e.espinoza@csun.edu

Gilberto E. Flores: EH2208A; 818-677-4276; gilberto.flores@csun.edu

David Gray: CR5327; 818-677-7653; dave.gray@csun.edu

Yoshie Hanzawa: CR5217/5207;

Fritz Hertel: CR5321; 818-677-3353; fritz.hertel@csun.edu

Ray Hong: CS3211; 818-677-3347; ray.hong@csun.edu

Tim Karels: CR5320; 818-677-2990; karels@csun.edu

Jonathan Kelber: CR5220; 818-677-4481; jonathan.kelber@csun.edu

Mariano Loza Coll: CR5421; 818-677-4411; mariano.lozacoll@csun.edu

Rachel Mackelprang: EH2207; 818-677-4589; rachel.mackelprang@csun.edu

Cindy Malone: CR5423; 818-677-6145; cmalone@csun.edu

Rheem Medh: CR5422; 818-677-3338; rheem.medh@csun.edu

Sean Murray: EH2205D; 818-677-2950; sean.murray@csun.edu

Kerry Nickols: MG4200; 818-677-6147;  kerry.nickols@csun.edu; website kerrynickols.weebly.com

Jeanne Robertson: CR5318; 818-677-4408; jeanne.robertson@csun.edu

Crystal Rogers: CR5419; 818-677-6219; crystal.rogers@csun.edu

Cristian Ruiz Rueda: CR5205; 818-677-6217; cristian.ruiz-rueda@csun.edu

Paula Schiffman: CR5314; 818-677-3350; paula.schiffman@csun.edu

Mark Steele: MG4100; 818-677-4270; mark.steele@csun.edu

Nyssa Silbiger: MG4109A/4109; 818-677-4427;   

Mary-Pat Stein: CS3220A; 818-677-5603; mary-patricia.stein@csun.edu

Michael Summers: EH2200; 818-677-7146; michael.l.summers@csun.edu

Melissa Takahashi: EH2226D; 818-677-4483; melissa.takahashi@csun.edu

Casey terHorst: CR5316; 818-677-3352; casey.terhorst@csun.edu

Cheryl Van Buskirk: CS3216A; 818-677-4591; cheryl.vanbuskirk@csun.edu

Virginia Vandergon: CR5418; 818-677-6362; virginia.vandergon@csun.edu

Paul Wilson: CR5317; 818-677-2937; paul.wilson@csun.edu

Jeremy Yoder: CR5313; 818-677-2158; jeremy.yoder@csun.edulab.jbyoder.org   @JBYoder

Maria Elena Zavala: CS3207; 818-677-3342; mariaelena.zavala@csun.edu

 

Lecturers

Maurie Beck: CR5218 ;  818-677-4674; mbeck@csun.edu

Ali Ebneshahidi: CR5218; 818-677-6553; ali.ebneshahidi@csun.edu

Desiree Goetting: CR5218; 818-677-2670; desiree.goetting@csun.edu

Michael Franklin: MG4112D; 818-677-7145; drmfranklin@aol.com

Loni Hands: CR5219; 818-677-2971; 

Cynthia Hitchcock: CR5319; 818-677-4980; cynthia.hitchcock@csun.edu

James Hogue: CR5334; 818-677-3310; james.n.hogue@csun.edu

Dana Harmon: CR5219; 818-677-4482;

Cynthia Kay-Nishiyama: CR5219; 818-677-4339; cynthia.kay-nishiyama@csun.edu

Carson Keller: CR5329; 818-677-5035; carson.keller@csun.edu

Karen Koch: CR5420; 818-677-4335; karen.koch@csun.edu

Ernest Kwok: CR5434; 818-677-3383; ernest.kwok@csun.edu

Janet Kubler: janet.kubler@csun.edu

Paul Lonquich: CR5219; 818-677-2616; paul.lonquich@csun.edu

Daniel Odom: CR5210; 818-677-5375; daniel.odom@csun.edu

Cody Russell: CR5218; 818-677-6218; cody.russell@csun.edu

Georgios Tsounis: MG4113B; 818-677-5314; georgios.tsounis@csun.edu

Edward Zambrano: JD1573; 818-677-4606; edward.zambrano@csun.edu

 

Staff

Michael Abernathy, Instructional Support Assistant – Wet Lab MG4112; 818-677-4037; michael.abernathy@csun.edu

Danielle Amoroso, Instructional Support Technician – Freshman Labs CR5233; 818-677-4416; danielle.amoroso@csun.edu

Sarah Cohen, Administrative Support Assistant CR5101; 818-677-3356; sarah.cohen@csun.edu

Ann Dorsey, Instructional Support Technician – Botanic Garden and Greenhouse Greenhouse; 818-677-3496; ann.dorsey@csun.edu

Wendy Dunbarr, Instructional Support Technician – Stockroom CR5108; 818-677-2056;             

Vickie Everhart, Administrative Support Coordinator CR5101; 818-677-3356; 818-677-2034; vickie.everhart@csun.edu

Manuel Fernandez, Instructional Support Technician – Microbiology Preparation Lab MG4205; 818-677-2891; manuel.c.fernandez@csun.edu

Linda Gharakhanian, Administrative Analyst/Specialist CR5101; 818-677-3356; lghar@csun.edu

Rachel Giacopuzzi-Brown, Administrative Analyst – Minority Biomedical Research Support (MBRS) EH2310; 818-677-4981; rachel.giacopuzzi-brown@csun.edu

Mark Harris, Instructional Support Technician – Freshman Labs CR5233; 818-677-4416; mark.e.harris@csun.edu

Cherie Hawthorne, Administrative Support Coordinator CR5101; 818-677-3356; cherie.hawthorne@csun.edu

James Hogue, Instructional Support Technician – Herbarium/Vertebrate Collection CR5334; 818-677-2861; james.n.hogue@csun.edu

Brenda Kanno, Instructional Support Technician – Botanic Garden and Greenhouse Greenhouse; 818-677-3496; brenda.j.kanno@csun.edu

William Krohmer, Administrative Analyst/Specialist II – Manager of Technical Services & Safety CR5412; 818-677-4426; william.krohmer@csun.edu

Karen Moore, Instructional Support Technician – Freshman Lab CR5233; 818-677-4416; karen.a.moore@csun.edu

Audrey Morehead, Instructional Support Assistant – Microbiology Preparation Lab MG4205; 818-677-2891; audrey.morehead@csun.edu

Elizabeth Perez, Stockroom Assistant – Stockroom, CR5108; 818-677-2056; elizabeth.perez@csun.edu

Terri Richardson M.D., Pre-Health Advisor, 818/677-7305, CR 5104; terri.richardson@csun.edu

Toni Uhlendorf, Instructional Support Technician – Vivarium Supervisor CR5113; 818-677-3992; toni.uhlendorf@csun.edu

 

Emerita and Emeritus Faculty

Nancy Bishop

Linda Caren

Mary Corcoran

Jim Dole (still on campus as an academic advisor):

George Fisler

Warren Furumoto

Anthony Gaudin

Kenneth C. Jones: 818-458-7523

Daisy Kuhn

Jennifer Matos

Joyce Maxwell:

Joseph Moore:

Steven Oppenheimer: CR5433; 818-677-3336; steven.oppenheimer@csun.edu

Ross Pohlo

Edward Pollock

O. Tacheeni Scott

Phillip Sheeler

Mary Lee Sparling:

Charles Spotts

Charles Weston

Kenneth Wilson: P.O. Box 39512, Los Angeles, CA 90039-0512

Deceased Faculty

Peter Bellinger, Larry Baresi, Kevin Daly, William A. Emboden, Jr., John Kontogiannis, Liyun Liu, Aïda Metzenberg, Stan Metzenberg, Richard Potter, Richard Swade, Paul Tomasek