USU

  • University Student Union

Staff

Management Staff

Debra L. HammondDebra L. Hammond
Executive Director

(818) 677-2390
debra.hammond@csun.edu

Debra L. Hammond has more than 39 years of experience in higher education. She received a bachelor’s degree in sociology from Rutgers University and a master’s degree in educational administration from California State University, Los Angeles. She currently serves as the Executive Director of the University Student Union (USU) at California State University, Northridge (CSUN). The USU is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization governed primarily by students. She opened a $60 million Student Recreation Center as well as a Pride (LGBTQ) Center, a Veterans Resource Center, and a state-of-the-art Oasis Wellness Center in 2013 and is currently in the process of planning a $130 million renovation/new construction project for the USU. She also serves as a faculty member in the Michael D. Eisner College of Education. She teaches in the college counseling student services program where she received the Outstanding Professor of the Year Award in 2012. For her body of work, the California State University (CSU) selected Debra from among the CSU’s 23 campuses as its outstanding staff member of 2016. The Wang Family Excellence Award is the highest award presented to an administrator by the CSU. Debra also received the San Fernando Valley Business Journal’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2017 for her accomplishments as a woman in business. 

Jimmy FrancisJimmy Francis
Associate Executive Director, Operations & Services

(818) 677-2629
jimmy.francis@csun.edu

Jimmy Francis started with the University Student Union in February 2011, and served as the Director for the Student Recreation Center before being appointed to the Associate Executive Director role. He provides leadership and direction for the operations and services areas of the USU, and also leads its renovation and construction projects. His passion is to help students achieve their educational goals by providing valuable employment experience and quality programs, services and facilities. Jimmy earned his master’s degree in Sports and Exercise Management from The Ohio State University and his bachelor’s degree in Physical Education from Ohio Wesleyan University.

Joe IlluminateJoseph C. Illuminate
Associate Director, Accounting & Finance

(818) 677-6492
joe.illuminate@csun.edu

Joseph Illuminate has served as the Associate Director, Finance & Business Services since February 2004. He provides leadership and direction for the USU Finance & Business Services department. Joseph is focused on being a steward of student fees to ensure there are sufficient resources to fund programs and services for students at the highest level. He earned his master’s degree in Public Administration and graduate certificate in Business Administration from California State University, Northridge. Joseph also holds a bachelor of science degree in Business Administration with a specialization in accounting from California State University, Los Angeles.  

Sharon KinardSharon Kinard
Associate Director, Administration & Communications

(818) 677-6025
sharon.kinard@csun.edu

 

 

 

Kaila Lavin

Kaila Lavin
Director, Student Recreation Center

(818) 677-5649
kaila.lavin@csun.edu

Kaila Lavin was born in New Mexico and raised in Arizona. She began working at a recreation facility in high school and loved the fun environment it created. From there, she attended the University of Arizona and began working at the Student Recreation Center on campus. Over the next four years, she advanced through several positions within the department and decided that the recreation industry was the career path for her. 

After graduating from the University of Arizona with a degree in Psychology, Kaila moved to California. She attended CSUN and received her graduate degree in Tourism, Hospitality, and Recreation Management (RTM) while serving as a graduate assistant for the new SRC during the construction phase. Kaila continued working her way up in the SRC to her current role as Interim Director. 

Kaila also serves as a Lecturer for the RTM department and teaches classes for the graduate program. Additionally, Kaila works part time as Lead Faculty and Technology Integration Specialist for CORE Unlimited, a consulting firm specializing in collegiate recreation and software development. Kaila enjoys her time traveling, teaching group exercise classes, and spending time with family and friends. 

Kristen Pichler

Kristen Pichler
Associate Director, Human Resources & Professional Development

(818) 677-3849
kristen.pichler@csun.edu

Kristen Pichler, or KP as she’s more commonly known, started her employment with the University Student Union in 1985. Since then, she’s served in a variety of progressively responsible positions prior to stepping into her current role as the Associate Director, Human Resources & Professional Development in 2000, leading HR functions for the USU’s 450 employees and 40 volunteers. KP fosters a legal, safe, and fair employment environment, and is a champion of the student employment experience, encouraging students to acquire knowledge, skills, habits and attitudes that will help them succeed at work both now and post-graduation. She is a devoted Matador, holding both a master’s degree in Public Administration and a bachelor’s degree in English, from California State University, Northridge.

Freddie SanchezDr. Freddie Sanchez
Associate Director, Programs & Inclusion

(818) 677-7618
freddie.sanchez@csun.edu

Dr. Freddie Sanchez joined the University Student Union in November 2015 as the Assistant Director for Resource Centers (Veterans Resource Center, Pride Center). In 2017, he was appointed as the Associate Director for Marketing & Programs overseeing various USU departments including Diversity & Inclusion, Events, Marketing, Pride Center, Veterans Resource Center and leadership development for the USU Board of Directors. Freddie is passionate about providing equitable opportunities for students that are transformative and increase student success at CSUN. He received his PhD from the Joint PhD Program in Education at Claremont Graduate University/San Diego State University. He received a Master’s of Education in Postsecondary Administration and Student Affairs from the University of Southern California and two bachelor’s degrees (Spanish and Financial Mathematics & Statistics) from the University of California, Santa Barbara.


Accounting & Finance

Anita Kapil
Accountant II
(818) 677-6565
anita.kapil@csun.edu

Jonathan Navarro
Manager, Accounting
(818) 677-6029
jonathan.navarro@csun.edu

Tamika Braud
Accountant I, Accounts Receivables
(818) 677-6575
tamika.braud@csun.edu

Lusine Dayan
Accounting Supervisor
(818) 677-4175
lusine.dayan@csun.edu

Renise Weiss
Accountant I, Payroll
(818) 677-6030
renise.weiss@csun.edu

Jenn Orellana
Accounts Payable Technician
(818) 677-6033
jennifer.orellana@csun.edu

Ali Sadri
Accountant I
(818) 677-5285
ali.sadri@csun.edu 

Karen Yeung
Accounting Technician
(818) 677-3626
karen.yeung@csun.edu

Administration

Jennifer Kim

Executive Administrative Analyst
(818) 677-2716
jennifer.kim.1@csun.edu

Kingson Leung
Assessment & Special Initiatives Coordinator
(818) 677-5652
kingson.leung@csun.edu

Shelley Sakoda
Administration Specialist
(818) 677-6024
shelley.sakoda@csun.edu

Cindy Lucio
Assessment Assistant
(818) 677-6418

Board of Directors (BOD)

Emery Hernandez
Board of Directors (BOD) Administrative Support Coordinator 
(818) 677-4392
emery.hernandez@csun.edu

Computer Lab

Nicholas Echeverri
Computer Lab Coordinator
(818) 677-6005
nicholas.echeverri@csun.edu

Diversity and Inclusion

Jessica Aceves
HEAL Project Coordinator
(818) 677-4832
jessica.aceves@csun.edu

Ayan Jama
Diversity Initiatives Coordinator
ayan.jama@csun.edu

DREAM Center

Daniela Barcenas
Manager, DREAM Center
(818) 677-7069
daniela.barcenas@csun.edu

Madison Villanueva
DREAM Center Supervisor
(818) 677-7069
madison.villanueva@csun.edu

Programs

Audrey Martinez
Manager, Programs
(818) 677-5058
audrey.martinez@csun.edu

Pero Akinbohun
Coordinator, Programs & Black Student Success Initiatives
(818) 677-4171
pero.akinbohun@csun.edu

Xiomara Carranza
Programs Supervisor
(818) 677-6576
xiomara.carranza@csun.edu

Facilities Maintenance

Dave Ross
Assistant Director, Facilities Maintenance
(818) 677-6574
dave.ross@csun.edu

Ana Dattoo
Administrative Assistant
(818) 677-3627
ana.dattoo@csun.edu

Vincent Mele
Facilities Maintenance Supervisor
(818) 677-3627
vincent.mele@csun.edu

Jose Espino
Facilities Maintenance Worker
(818) 677-7223
jose.espino@csun.edu

Miguel Galindo
Facilities Maintenance Worker
(818) 677-7230
miguel.galindo@csun.edu

Michael Johnson
Engineer, HVAC
(818) 677-3627
michael.s.johnson@csun.edu

Rick Kaiser
Facilities Maintenance Plumber
(818) 677-3627
rick.kaiser@csun.edu

Marvin Morales
Engineer, Electrical
(818) 677-3627
marvin.morales@csun.edu

Chris Slark
Facilities Maintenance Carpenter
(818) 677-3627
chris.slark@csun.edu

Ryan Ballek
Facilities Maintenance Worker — Painter
(818) 677-3627
ryan.ballek@csun.edu

Tom Jenkins
Facilities Maintenance Worker
(818) 677-3627
thomas.jenkins@csun.edu

Alan Price
Lead Groundsworker
(818) 677-3627
alan.price@csun.edu

Nelson Romero
Groundsworker
(818) 677-3627
nelson.romero@csun.edu

Human Resources

Jenny Aw
Human Resources Specialist
(818) 677-5976
jenny.cai@csun.edu

Joanne Cowles
Human Resources Specialist
(818) 677-7615
joanne.cowles@csun.edu

Randy Sorensen
Training & Development Specialist
(818) 677-2284
randy.sorensen@csun.edu

Sherry Butler
Human Resources Assistant
(818) 677-5975
sherry.butler@csun.edu

Wendy Ponce
Human Resources Assistant
(818) 677-5332
wendy.ponce@csun.edu

Christine Aroutounians
Human Resources Administrative Support Assistant
(818) 677-6027
usuhrbusiness@csun.edu

Marketing

Michael Niles
Manager, Marketing
(818) 677-6023
michael.niles@csun.edu

Kyle Hufnagel
Copywriter
(818) 677-6581
kyle.hufnagel@csun.edu

Mia Lubliner
Marketing Supervisor
(818) 677-5658
mia.lubliner@csun.edu

James Matzen
Graphic Designer
(818) 677-5743
james.matzen@csun.edu

Troy Thornton
Marketing Coordinator
(818) 677-7612
troy.thornton@csun.edu

Steven Wein
Multimedia Coordinator
(818) 677-5957
steven.wein@csun.edu

Pride Center

Sarina Loeb
Manager, Pride Center
(818) 677-5977
sarina.loeb@csun.edu

Whitney Workman
Pride Center Supervisor
(818) 677-2861
whitney.workman@csun.edu

Reservations and Event Services

Samantha Liu
Manager, Reservations & Operations
(818) 677-2899
samantha.liu@csun.edu

Christopher Jensen
Technical Coordinator
(818) 677-6592
christopher.jensen@csun.edu

Raquel de Ruiz Molinar
Reservation & Event Services Coordinator
(818) 677-7046
raquel.deruizmolinar@csun.edu

Tim Rasmussen
Building Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-4940
timothy.rasmussen@csun.edu

Elias Gallegos
Operations Supervisor
(818) 677-4324
elias.gallegos@csun.edu

Grace Haddad
Reservations Planner
(818) 677-5653
grace.haddad@csun.edu

Rachel Hood
Reservations Planner
(818) 677-3644
rachel.hood@csun.edu

Student Recreation Center

Amanda Christianson
Manager, Fitness Programs and Wellness
(818) 677-5832
amanda.frick@csun.edu

Angela Gattoni
Manager, Facility Operations and Membership Services
(818) 677-6270
angela.gattoni@csun.edu

Ryan Hairapetian
Aquatics Coordinator
(818) 677-5804
ryan.hairapetian@csun.edu

Jeremy Hamlett
Manager, Intramurals & Day Camp
(818) 677-2194
jeremy.hamlett@csun.edu

Alfredo Padilla
Manager, Fitness Training
(818) 677-5525
alfredo.padilla@csun.edu

Richard Cardona
Manager, Wellness Center
(818) 677-7374
richard.cardona@csun.edu

Briell Huerta
Aquatics Supervisor
(818) 677-5487
briell.huerta@csun.edu

Gabriel Rosales
Facility Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-6211
gabriel.rosales@csun.edu

Scott Teves
Fitness Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-2650
scott.teves@csun.edu

Technology Support Services

Alexander Gonzales
Manager, Technology Support Services
(818) 677-6022
agonzale@csun.edu

Michael Jardinico
TSS Help Desk Coordinator
(818) 677-7134
michael.jardinico@csun.edu

Brent Nelson
Technology Support Services Coordinator
(818) 677-7017
brent.nelson@csun.edu

Veterans Resource Center

Mayra Plascencia
Manager, Veterans Resource Center
(818) 677-4348
mayra.plascencia@csun.edu