USU

  • University Student Union

Staff

Management Staff

Debra L. HammondDebra L. Hammond
Executive Director

(818) 677-2390
debra.hammond@csun.edu

Debra Hammond has served as the Executive Director of the USU for over 20 years, beginning her tenure in November, 1993. She is responsible for the overall strategic direction and vision for the USU including serving as the executive secretary of the Board of Directors of our non-profit corporation. She also provides guidance and direction to the following major areas of the organization:  Finance and Business Services, Marketing and Programs, Operations and Services, Student Recreation Center, Human Resources, and Administration and Governance. Debra also serves as a part-time faculty member in the Michael D. Eisner College of Education in the Department of Educational Psychology and Counseling  (student services/college counseling program). Debra is passionate about the development of students and staff and is committed to creating spaces, facilities, programs, services and opportunities that enrich and enhance the lives of students. She is an advocate for deepening the connection between students and the CSUN campus in order to promote student success and persistence to graduation. Debra received her bachelor’s degree in sociology from Rutgers University and her master’s degree in educational administration from California State University, Los Angeles. Debra served as a past president of the Association of College Unions International (ACUI), which is the association that helps to develop college unions and community on college campuses throughout the United States and abroad.  In 2006, she received the Butts-Whiting Award which is bestowed upon those who have made significant and lasting impacts on the association and the profession.

Jimmy FrancisJimmy Francis
Associate Executive Director, Operations & Services

(818) 677-2629
jimmy.francis@csun.edu

Jimmy Francis started with the University Student Union in February 2011, and served as the Director for the Student Recreation Center before being appointed to the Associate Executive Director role. He provides leadership and direction for the operations and services areas of the USU, and also leads its renovation and construction projects. His passion is to help students achieve their educational goals by providing valuable employment experience and quality programs, services and facilities. Jimmy earned his master’s degree in Sports and Exercise Management from The Ohio State University and his bachelor’s degree in Physical Education from Ohio Wesleyan University.

Joe IlluminateJoseph C. Illuminate
Associate Director, Accounting & Finance

(818) 677-6492
joe.illuminate@csun.edu

Joseph Illuminate has served as the Associate Director, Finance & Business Services since February 2004. He provides leadership and direction for the USU Finance & Business Services department. Joseph is focused on being a steward of student fees to ensure there are sufficient resources to fund programs and services for students at the highest level. He earned his master’s degree in Public Administration and graduate certificate in Business Administration from California State University, Northridge. Joseph also holds a bachelor of science degree in Business Administration with a specialization in accounting from California State University, Los Angeles.  

Kristen Pichler

Kristen Pichler
Associate Director, Human Resources & Professional Development

(818) 677-3849
kristen.pichler@csun.edu

Kristen Pichler, or KP as she’s more commonly known, started her employment with the University Student Union in 1985. Since then, she’s served in a variety of progressively responsible positions prior to stepping into her current role as the Associate Director, Human Resources & Professional Development in 2000, leading HR functions for the USU’s 450 employees and 40 volunteers. KP fosters a legal, safe, and fair employment environment, and is a champion of the student employment experience, encouraging students to acquire knowledge, skills, habits and attitudes that will help them succeed at work both now and post-graduation. She is a devoted Matador, holding both a master’s degree in Public Administration and a bachelor’s degree in English, from California State University, Northridge.

Freddie SanchezFreddie Sanchez
Associate Director, Marketing & Programs

(818) 677-7618
freddie.sanchez@csun.edu

Freddie Sanchez joined the University Student Union in November 2015 as the Assistant Director for Resource Centers (Veterans Resource Center, Pride Center). In 2017, he was appointed as the Associate Director for Marketing & Programs overseeing various USU departments including Diversity & Inclusion, Events, Marketing, Pride Center, Veterans Resource Center and leadership development for the USU Board of Directors. Freddie is passionate about providing equitable opportunities for students that are transformative and increase student success at CSUN. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate in the Joint Ph.D. Program in Education at Claremont Graduate University/San Diego State University. He received a Master’s of Education in Postsecondary Administration and Student Affairs from the University of Southern California and two bachelor’s degrees (Spanish and Financial Mathematics & Statistics) from the University of California, Santa Barbara.


Accounting & Finance

Jonathan Navarro
Manager, Accounting
(818) 677-6029
jonathan.navarro@csun.edu

Tamika Braud
Accountant I — Accounts Receivables
(818) 677-6575
tamika.braud@csun.edu

Lusine Dayan
Accounting Supervisor
(818) 677-4175
lusine.dayan@csun.edu

Anita Kapil
Accountant II
(818) 677-6565
anita.kapil@csun.edu

Renise Weiss
Accountant I, Payroll
(818) 677-6030
renise.weiss@csun.edu

Jenn Orellana
Accounts Payable Technician
(818) 677-6033
jennifer.orellana@csun.edu

Ali Sadri
Accountant I
(818) 677-5285
ali.sadri@csun.edu 

Karen Yeung
Accounting Technician
(818) 677-3626
karen.yeung@csun.edu

Administration

Sharon Kinard
Interim Assistant Director, Administration & Technology
(818) 677-6025
sharon.kinard@csun.edu

Jennifer Kim
Executive Administrative Analyst
(818) 677-2716
jennifer.kim.1@csun.edu

Kingson Leung
Assessment & Special Initiatives Coordinator
(818) 677-5652
kingson.leung@csun.edu

Shelley Sakoda
Administrative Support Supervisor
(818) 677-6024
shelley.sakoda@csun.edu

Board of Directors (BOD)

Emery Hernandez
Board of Directors (BOD) Administrative Support Coordinator 
(818) 677-4392
emery.hernandez@csun.edu

Computer Labs

Nicholas Echeverri
Computer Labs Coordinator
(818) 677-6005
nicholas.echeverri@csun.edu

Events

Audrey Martinez
Manager, USU Events
(818) 677-5058
audrey.martinez@csun.edu

Pero Akinbohun
Events Supervisor
(818) 677-4171
pero.akinbohun@csun.edu

Xiomara Carranza
Events Supervisor
(818) 677-6576
xiomara.carranza@csun.edu

Facilities Maintenance

Dave Ross
Assistant Director, Facilities Maintenance
(818) 677-6574
dave.ross@csun.edu

Ana Dattoo
Administrative Assistant, Facilities Maintenance
(818) 677-3627
ana.dattoo@csun.edu

Vincent Mele
Facilities Maintenance Supervisor
(818) 677-3627
vincent.mele@csun.edu

Jose Espino
Facilities Maintenance Worker — SRC
(818) 677-7223
jose.espino@csun.edu

Miguel Galindo
Facilities Maintenance Worker — SRC
(818) 677-7230
miguel.galindo@csun.edu

Michael Johnson
Facilities Maintenance Engineer — HVAC
(818) 677-3627
michael.s.johnson@csun.edu

Rick Kaiser
Facilities Maintenance Plumber
(818) 677-3627
rick.kaiser@csun.edu

Marvin Morales
Facilities Maintenance Engineer — Electrical
(818) 677-3627
marvin.morales@csun.edu

Chris Slark
Facilities Maintenance Carpenter
(818) 677-3627
chris.slark@csun.edu

Ryan Ballek
Facilities Maintenance Worker — Painter
(818) 677-3627
ryan.ballek@csun.edu

Tom Jenkins
Facilities Maintenance Worker
(818) 677-3627
thomas.jenkins@csun.edu

Alan Price
Lead Groundsworker
(818) 677-3627
alan.price@csun.edu

Nelson Romero
Groundsworker
(818) 677-3627
nelson.romero@csun.edu

Human Resources

Jenny Aw
Human Resources Specialist
(818) 677-5976
jenny.cai@csun.edu

Joanne Cowles
Human Resources Specialist
(818) 677-7615
joanne.cowles@csun.edu

Randy Sorensen
Training & Development Specialist
(818) 677-2284
randy.sorensen@csun.edu

Sherry Butler
Human Resources Assistant
(818) 677-5975
sherry.butler@csun.edu

Wendy Ponce
Human Resources Assistant
(818) 677-5332
wendy.ponce@csun.edu

Marketing

Michael Niles
Manager, Marketing
(818) 677-6023
michael.niles@csun.edu

Kyle Hufnagel
Copywriter
(818) 677-6581
kyle.hufnagel@csun.edu

Mia Lubliner
Marketing Supervisor
(818) 677-5658
mia.lubliner@csun.edu

James Matzen
Graphic Designer
(818) 677-5743
james.matzen@csun.edu

Troy Thornton
Marketing Coordinator
(818) 677-7612
troy.thornton@csun.edu

Steven Wein
Multimedia Coordinator
(818) 677-5957
steven.wein@csun.edu

Pride Center

Sarina Loeb
Manager, Pride Center
(818) 677-5977
sarina.loeb@csun.edu

Whitney Workman
Pride Center Supervisor
(818) 677-2861
whitney.workman@csun.edu

Reservations and Event Services

Samantha Liu
Manager, Reservations & Operations
(818) 677-2899
samantha.liu@csun.edu

Christopher Jensen
Technical Coordinator
(818) 677-6592
christopher.jensen@csun.edu

Raquel de Ruiz Molinar
Reservation & Event Services Coordinator
(818) 677-7046
raquel.deruizmolinar@csun.edu

Tim Rasmussen
Building Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-4940
timothy.rasmussen@csun.edu

Elias Gallegos
Operations Supervisor
(818) 677-4324
elias.gallegos@csun.edu

Grace Haddad
Reservations Planner
(818) 677-5653
grace.haddad@csun.edu

Rachel Hood
Reservations Planner
(818) 677-3644
rachel.hood@csun.edu

Melissa Lopez
Reservations Planner
(818) 677-3644
melissa.lopez@csun.edu

Student Recreation Center

Kaila Lavin
Interim Director, Student Recreation Center
(818) 677-5649
kaila.lavin@csun.edu

Richard Cardona
Manager, Wellness Center
(818) 677-7374
richard.cardona@csun.edu

Jeremy Hamlett
Manager, Intramurals & Day Camp
(818) 677-2194
jeremy.hamlett@csun.edu

Angela Gattoni
Manager, Facility Operations and Membership Services
(818) 677-6270
angela.gattoni@csun.edu

Amanda Christianson
Fitness Programs Coordinator
(818) 677-5832
amanda.frick@csun.edu

Ryan Hairapetian
Aquatics Coordinator
(818) 677-5804
ryan.hairapetian@csun.edu

Alfredo Padilla
Fitness Training Coordinator
(818) 677-5525
alfredo.padilla@csun.edu

Gabriel Rosales
Facility Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-6211
gabriel.rosales@csun.edu

Scott Teves
Fitness Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-2650
scott.teves@csun.edu

Briell Huerta
Aquatics Supervisor
(818) 677-5487
briell.huerta@csun.edu

Technology Support Services

Alexander Gonzales
Manager, Technology Support Services
(818) 677-6022
agonzale@csun.edu

Michael Jardinico
TSS Help Desk Coordinator
(818) 677-7134
michael.jardinico@csun.edu

Brent Nelson
Technology Support Services Coordinator
(818) 677-7017
brent.nelson@csun.edu

Veterans Resource Center

Mayra Plascencia
Manager, Veterans Resource Center
(818) 677-4348
mayra.plascencia@csun.edu

Paulo Iparraguirre
Veterans Resource Center Supervisor
(818) 677-6129
paulo.iparraguirre@csun.edu