USU

  • University Student Union

Staff

Management Staff

Debra L. HammondDebra L. Hammond
Executive Director

(818) 677-2390
debra.hammond@csun.edu

Debra Hammond has served as the Executive Director of the USU for over 20 years, beginning her tenure in November, 1993. She is responsible for the overall strategic direction and vision for the USU including serving as the executive secretary of the Board of Directors of our non-profit corporation. She also provides guidance and direction to the following major areas of the organization:  Finance and Business Services, Marketing and Programs, Operations and Services, Student Recreation Center, Human Resources, and Administration and Governance. Debra also serves as a part-time faculty member in the Michael D. Eisner College of Education in the Department of Educational Psychology and Counseling  (student services/college counseling program). Debra is passionate about the development of students and staff and is committed to creating spaces, facilities, programs, services and opportunities that enrich and enhance the lives of students. She is an advocate for deepening the connection between students and the CSUN campus in order to promote student success and persistence to graduation. Debra received her bachelor’s degree in sociology from Rutgers University and her master’s degree in educational administration from California State University, Los Angeles. Debra served as a past president of the Association of College Unions International (ACUI), which is the association that helps to develop college unions and community on college campuses throughout the United States and abroad.  In 2006, she received the Butts-Whiting Award which is bestowed upon those who have made significant and lasting impacts on the association and the profession.

Jimmy FrancisJimmy Francis
Associate Executive Director

(818) 677-2629
jimmy.francis@csun.edu

Jimmy Francis started with the University Student Union in February 2011, and has served as the Director, Student Recreation Center since October 2012. He provides leadership and direction for SRC Membership Services, Fitness and Wellness, Facility Operations, Intramurals and Aquatics. His passion is to help students achieve their educational goals while providing valuable employment experience, and healthy alternatives outside the classroom to help develop lifelong wellness habits. Jimmy earned his master of arts degree in Sports and Exercise Management from The Ohio State University and his bachelor of arts degree in Physical Education from Ohio Wesleyan University. 

Joe IlluminateJoseph C. Illuminate
Associate Director, Accounting & Finance

(818) 677-6492
joe.illuminate@csun.edu

Joseph Illuminate has served as the Associate Director, Finance & Business Services since February 2004. He provides leadership and direction for the USU Finance & Business Services department. Joseph is focused on being a steward of student fees to ensure there are sufficient resources to fund programs and services for students at the highest level. He earned his master’s degree in Public Administration and graduate certificate in Business Administration from California State University, Northridge. Joseph also holds a bachelor of science degree in Business Administration with a specialization in accounting from California State University, Los Angeles.  

Kristen Pichler

Kristen Pichler
Associate Director, Human Resources & Professional Development

(818) 677-3849
kristen.pichler@csun.edu

 

 

 

Freddie SanchezFreddie Sanchez
Associate Director, Marketing & Programs

(818) 677-7618
freddie.sanchez@csun.edu

 

 

 

Raymond JuárezRaymond A. Juárez
Associate Director, Operations & Services

(818) 677-6579
raymond.juarez@csun.edu


Accounting & Finance

Jonathan Navarro
Accounting Manager
(818) 677-6029
jonathan.navarro@csun.edu

Lusine Dayan
Accounting Supervisor
(818) 677-4175
lusine.dayan@csun.edu

Tamika Braud
Accountant I, Accounts Receivables
(818) 677-6575
tamika.braud@csun.edu

Ali Sadri
Accountant I, Accounts Payable
(818) 677-6033
ali.sadri@csun.edu 

Anita Kapil
Accountant II
(818) 677-6565
anita.kapil@csun.edu

Renise Weiss
Accountant I, Payroll
(818) 677-6030
renise.weiss@csun.edu

Jenn Orellana
Accounts Payable Technician
(818) 677-3626
jennifer.orellana@csun.edu

Administration

Sharon Kinard
Manager, Administration & Assessment
(818) 677-6025
sharon.kinard@csun.edu

Kingson Leung
Coordinator, Assessment & Special Initiatives
(818) 677-5652
kingson.leung@csun.edu

Jennifer Kim
Executive Administrative Analyst
(818) 677-2716
jennifer.kim.1@csun.edu

Carol Nardini
Staff Assistant
(818) 677-6024
carol.nardini@csun.edu

Computer Lab

Nicholas Echeverri
Coordinator, Computer Labs
(818) 677-6005
nicholas.echeverri@csun.edu

Diversity Initiatives

Agustín “Augie” Garibay
Assistant Director, Diversity Initiatives
(818) 677-6494
agustin.garibay@csun.edu 

Events

Audrey Martinez
Manager, USU Events
(818) 677-5058
audrey.martinez@csun.edu

Pero Akinbohun
Events Supervisor
(818) 677-4171
pero.akinbohun@csun.edu

Xiomara Carranza
Events Supervisor
(818) 677-6576
xiomara.carranza@csun.edu

Facilities Maintenance

Dave Ross
Assistant Director, Facilities & Maintenance
(818) 677-6574
dave.ross@csun.edu

Ana Dattoo
Administrative Assistant, Facilities & Maintenance
(818) 677-3627
ana.dattoo@csun.edu

Vincent Mele
Facilities Maintenance Supervisor
(818) 677-3627
vincent.mele@csun.edu

Jose Espino
SRC Facilities Worker
(818) 677-7223
jose.espino@csun.edu

Miguel Galindo
SRC Facilities Worker
(818) 677-7230
miguel.galindo@csun.edu

Tom Jenkins
Facilities Maintenance Worker
(818) 677-3627
thomas.jenkins@csun.edu

Michael Johnson
Facilities Maintenance Engineer — HVAC
(818) 677-3627
michael.s.johnson@csun.edu

Rick Kaiser
Mechanic–Plumber
(818) 677-3627
rick.kaiser@csun.edu

Marvin Morales
Facilities Maintenance Engineer — Electrical
(818) 677-3627
marvin.morales@csun.edu

Chris Slark
Facilities Maintenance Carpenter
(818) 677-3627
chris.slark@csun.edu

Ryan Ballek
Facilities Maintenance Worker — Painter
(818) 677-3627
ryan.ballek@csun.edu

Alan Price
Lead Groundsworker
(818) 677-3627
alan.price@csun.edu

Nelson Romero
Groundsworker
(818) 677-3627
nelson.romero@csun.edu

Human Resources

Jenny Aw
Human Resources Specialist
(818) 677-5976
jenny.cai@csun.edu

Joanne Cowles
Human Resources Specialist
(818) 677-7615
joanne.cowles@csun.edu

Randy Sorensen
Training and Development Specialist
(818) 677-2284
randy.sorensen@csun.edu

Sherry Butler
Human Resources Support Assistant
(818) 677-5975
sherry.butler@csun.edu

Lily Madrigal
Administrative Support Assistant
(818) 677-6027
lily.madrigal@csun.edu

Marketing

Michael Niles
Marketing Manager
(818) 677-6023
michael.niles@csun.edu

Kyle Hufnagel
Copywriter
(818) 677-6581
kyle.hufnagel@csun.edu

James Matzen
Graphic Designer
(818) 677-5743
james.matzen@csun.edu

Steven Wein
Multimedia Coordinator
(818) 677-5957
steven.wein@csun.edu

Troy Thornton
Marketing Coordinator
(818) 677-7612
troy.thornton@csun.edu

Ariel Mazariegos
Art Curator
(818) 677-2875
ariel.mazariegos@csun.edu

Operations

Jeremy Hamlett
Manager, Operations & Facilities Planning
(818) 677-2194
jeremy.hamlett@csun.edu

Kristen Lorico
Coordinator, Operations & Services
(818) 677-4324
kristen.lorico@csun.edu

Pride Center

Sarina Loeb
Manager, Pride Center
(818) 677-5977
sarina.loeb@csun.edu

Hedyeh Rezaei
Pride Center Supervisor
(818) 677-2861
hedyeh.rezaei@csun.edu

Reservations and Event Services

Samantha Liu
Manager, Reservations & Operations
(818) 677-2899
samantha.liu@csun.edu

Christopher Jensen
Technical Coordinator
(818) 677-6592
christopher.jensen@csun.edu

Tim Rasmussen
Coordinator, Building Operations
(818) 677-4940
timothy.rasmussen@csun.edu

Raquel de Ruiz Molinar
Coordinator, Reservation & Event Services
(818) 677-7046
raquel.deruizmolinar@csun.edu

Janet Ohnishi
Event Planner
(818) 677-5167
janet.ohnishi@csun.edu

Grace Haddad
Event Planner
(818) 677-5653
grace.haddad@csun.edu

Student Recreation Center

Sandra Salute
Assistant Director, Fitness & Wellness
(818) 677-5381
sandra.salute@csun.edu

Kaila Lavin
Assistant Director, Facility Operations
(818) 677-5649
kaila.lavin@csun.edu

Isabel Ayala
Coordinator, Fitness Operations
(818) 677-2650
isabel.ayala@csun.edu

Devin Barnett
Coordinator, Intramurals
(818) 677-5305
devin.barnett@csun.edu

Amanda Christianson
Coordinator, Fitness Programs
(818) 677-5832
amanda.frick@csun.edu

Angela Gattoni
Coordinator, Membership Services
(818) 677-6270
angela.gattoni@csun.edu

Ryan Hairapetian
Coordinator, Aquatics
(818) 677-5804
ryan.hairapetian@csun.edu

Alfredo Padilla
Coordinator, Fitness Training
(818) 677-5525
alfredo.padilla@csun.edu

Gabriel Rosales
Coordinator, Facility Operations
(818) 677-6211
gabriel.rosales@csun.edu

Briell Huerta
Aquatics Supervisor
(818) 677-5487
briell.huerta@csun.edu

Technology Support Services

Alexander Gonzales
Manager, TSS
(818) 677-6022
agonzale@csun.edu

Michael Jardinico
Coordinator, TSS Help Desk
(818) 677-7134
michael.jardinico@csun.edu

Brent Nelson
Coordinator, TSS
(818) 677-7017
brent.nelson@csun.edu

Veterans Resource Center

Amber Bartmus
Veterans Resource Center Supervisor
(818) 677-6129
amber.bartmus@csun.edu