Faculty Development

eLearning Institute

eLearning Institute

The eLearning Institute has helped hundreds of CSUN faculty redesign courses for online, hybrid and technology-enhanced delivery. Our latest iteration is geared toward faculty who are relatively comfortable with the technology and want to focus on pedagogy and is designed to help faculty build one of their online courses in Canvas using the Quality Learning and Teaching (QLT) framework.

Program Details

When is it?

Applications for the Winter 2021 eLearning Institute have closed. Those accepted into the program will need to protect roughly 15-25 hours of time in December and January to complete most of the program requirements as they build their Spring course.This program involves an orientation session (December and January options will be available), self-paced work and an one-on-one meeting with a peer mentor. 

Who should enroll?

This is for faculty who want to work on actually building a course and receive feedback. 

This program focuses on quality online course design and pedagogy and assumes participants already have working knowledge of instructional technology tools. Previous or concurrent enrollment in our Get Up to Speed with Online Teaching program is a pre-requisite. We recommend taking Faculty Technology Center workshops to supplement this program if you need to develop your technology tools skills. This program is largely self-paced so you will need to learn through reading/videos and completing activities using Canvas and GoogleDocs. In addition, participants will attend a live synchronous orientation on Zoom and meet with a faculty mentor to complete the program.

Is there funding?

Funding of $500 is available for faculty who complete the program activities, which includes an orientation, checkpoints, self review and meeting with a faculty mentor.

What are the program goals and objectives?

Designed for CSUN faculty who want to go beyond just the basics of teaching remotely and move forward using quality standards to design effective, engaging and efficient online courses. Using a combination of self-paced learning and synchronous meetings faculty will be able to pace their learning in a flexible program that focuses on how to apply the CSU Quality Learning and Teaching framework in designing online courses.

  • Describe the Quality Learning and Teaching (QLT) framework
  • Explain how you can use QLT during the different stages in course design
  • Identify elements from QLT that you are already using in your teaching
  • Identify elements from QLT that you are NOT using in your teaching
  • Discuss areas where you need to update your course materials for teaching in online environments
  • Apply strategies from QLT in the design of your course
  • Evaluate your course using the QLT Self-Review process
  • Reflect on what you learned from the process so you can make future enhancements to your course

What are faculty saying about the program?

  • This was an excellent opportunity to prepare my course to teach online with the guidance and mentorship setup in the program.
  • I think this training would have transformed my previous trials and errors in composing my courses. I wasn't too far away from the components of QLT Workbook, but I did pick up some ways to really streamline my course materials and the peer feedback was evidence of why it's important to have a second set of eyes to review your work. I think it was great!
  • This program was incredibly valuable. I really appreciated being able to go step-by-step through the QLT and address how well I met those milestones (or didn't!). Then reviewing them to see where I could make them stronger with the peer review helped me take my page to the next level. The in-depth examples helped me see areas I could strengthen those core items and be more specific and also make my content more accessible.

How do I sign up?

Applications are currently closed.