Faculty Development

  • Institute for Transformative Learning and Teaching - Banner

Institute for Transformative Teaching and Learning

Program Overview

The Institute for Transformative Teaching and Learning (ITTL) provides an opportunity for faculty to collaborate in a multidisciplinary group to learn about and apply evidence-based practices aimed at closing race equity gaps in the teaching and learning experience.

Our dream for this program is to build community and empower faculty to transform their teaching so that it is even more fulfilling and leads to more equitable outcomes for all of our students.


By the end of the program, we hope to send participants off with new skills including the ability to:

  • Explain the ways systemic racism perpetuates inequity in the teaching and learning experience.
  • Explain unconscious bias around race and the ways it appears in the teaching and learning experience.
  • Reflect on the sources of your own unconscious bias around race and the ways bias shows up in your thinking and behavior.
  • Synthesize the relationship between culturally responsive teaching, trauma-informed teaching, and the brain.
  • Describe strategies aimed at interrupting race bias in the teaching and learning experience.
  • Integrate insights from data disaggregated by race into your practice.
  • Collaborate in creating a sense of community and support among faculty peers in this program.

Summer 2023 Institute

6 virtual meetings, each from 10:00 am to 2:00 pm:

  • Monday, June 12th

  • Wednesday, June 14th

  • Friday, June 16th

  • Wednesday, June 21st

  • Thursday, June 22nd

  • Friday, June 23rd


Applications are now closed for the Summer 2023 cohort. Complete the Interest Form for future offerings.


How are CSUN Faculty Impacted?



What was your initial reaction to reviewing your equity gap data?

What changes have you made in your teaching?

What was the effect after you changed your teaching?


Recent CSUN Participants (Fall 2020-Fall 2022)


Arts, Media, and Communication

Art: Aglaia Mortcheva, Julia Schlosser
Cinema and TV Arts: Michael Johnson Jr.
Communication Studies: Jenna Delgado, Jaime Guzman, Jade Huell, Michele Mega, Christopher Ruh, Karen Swett, Melissa Tindage
Journalism: Tamara Trujillo, Yue Zheng
Theatre: Matthew Jackson


Business and Economics

Accounting and Information Systems: Tao (Eric) Hu
Business Management: Violet Christopher
Business Law: Suyan Zheng
Marketing: Ning Fu, Dong Liu, Na Wen
Systems and Operations Management: Leily Farrokhvar, Amir Gharehgozli, Kunpeng Li

Engineering and Computer Science

Computer Science: Mohammed Abdelrahim, Oscar Marin
Electrical and Computer Engineering: Sequare Daniel-Berhe, Matthew Radmanesh
Mechanical Engineering: Maya Pishvar, Natalie Schaal


Educational Psychology and Counseling: Joannie Aguayo, Bruce Burnam, Shyrea Minton
Elementary Education: Anarosa Estevez, Minsung Kwon
Secondary Education: Michael Alvarez
Special Education: Elia Mahoney, Connie Wong
University: Abraham Baeza

Health and Human Development

Child and Adolescent Development: Tissyana Camacho, Virginia Huynh, Jo Anne Pandey, Catherine Placencia, Marlen Quintero Perez, April Taylor, Allea Cauilan
Environmental and Occupational Health: Veronica Becerra, Rebecca Lustig
Family Consumer Sciences: Joyce Marie Brusasco, Hessam Ghamari, Jongeun Kim, Tsun-Yin (Tracie) Tung
Health Sciences: Grishma Bhavsar, Janet Marquard-Tormey, Jennifer Newman, Christopher Rogers, Lauren Walter
Kinesiology: Vincent Martinez, Rebecca Pena
Recreation and Tourism Management: HeeKyung Sung 


Chicana/o Studies: Xochitl Flores-Marcial, Carlos Hernandez
English: Corin Alvarado, Eric Barnhart, Stacey Bieber, Janet Cross, Malinda Hackett, Noreen Lace, Terrie Mathis, Maseri Kisa Schultz, Audrey Thacker, Kimberly Wells-Vaca, Kimberly Young
Liberal Studies: Mauro Carassai
Linguistics: Shadi Ganjavi, Anna Dina Joaquin, Vasilliki Karras-Lazaris 
Modern and Classical Languages and Literature: Sumaya Bezrati, Svetlana Tyutina
Philosophy: Weimin Sun

Science and Math

Biology: Eduardo Amorim Guerra
Geological Sciences: Priya Ganguli
Mathematics: Michael Crosswhite, Khanik Mark Kerobyan, Jing Li, Christopher Lonner, Tigran Mkrtchyan, Ola Nusierat
Physics and Astronomy: Debi Prasad Choudhary

Social and Behavioral Sciences

Africana Studies: Lisbeth Gant-Britton, Sharon Johnson, Victoria Richards, Janice Monica Robinson, Maya Singleton
Anthropology: Suzanne Scheld
Criminology and Justice Studies: Jordan Grasso
Political Science: Ahmad Motameni
Psychology: Elise Fenn, Holli Tonyan, Essence Wilson
Social Work: Judith Anne DeBonis 
Sociology: Daniel Olmos
Urban Studies and Planning: Miriam Paloma Giottonini Badilla

Student Success

Learning Resource Center: Anne Crawford, Gretchelle Quiambao
University 100: Conchita Battle, Autumn Fabricant, Debra Mercado

University Library

Research, Instruction and Outreach Services: Ahmed Alwan, Eric Garcia

*Not all participants listed.




Where is FacDev located?

Valera Hall 215 (formerly University Hall)
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330-8473


How can I contact FacDev?



Who are the people in FacDev?

FacDev Base Team
Faculty Affiliates
Faculty Peer Reviewers
New Faculty Foundations Committee
Pathways to Tenure Grant Review Committee
Active Learning Ambassadors
eLearning Ambassadors