Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures II

  • Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures

Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures

The Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures Department has transitioned to working remotely.

We are all doing our best to make the necessary adjustments to accommodate CSUN’s Virtual Learning plans, and you are an important part of that! Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us. We are still open Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, and are available to assist you. 

Please reach out to us by email:

Leslie Yamashita, Dept. ASC – leslie.yamashita@csun.edu

Alison Bach, Dept. ASA – alison.bach@csun.edu

Or leave a voicemail:

818-677-3467 - We are checking messages regularly and will get back to you as soon as possible.

For Language Advisement:

Armenian Section; Vahram Shemmassian: vahram.shemmassian@csun.edu

Italian Section; Adrian Perez-Boluda: adrian.perez-boluda@csun.edu

French Section; Adrian Perez-Boluda: adrian.perez-boluda@csun.edu

Japanese Section; Drake Langford: drake.langford@csun.edu

Russian Section; Adrian Perez-Boluda: adrian.perez-boluda@csun.edu

Spanish Section (Assigned by first letter of Student’s Last Name);

A-H:  Axel Montepeque: axel.montepeque@csun.edu

I-P: Adrian Perez-Boluda: adrian.perez-boluda@csun.edu

Q-Z: Svetlana Tyutina: styutina@csun.edu

Spanish Masters Program:

Svetlana Tyutina: styutina@csun.edu

For General Advisement regarding your Major or Minor:

COH Student Services:

https://www.csun.edu/humanities/advisement-counseling

 

MajorsMinorsGraduate

About MCLL

The Department offers curricula, services and research leading to proficiency in language, literature and culture that will enable individuals to function effectively in the international communities in our geographical area and throughout the world. The Department’s Programs serve and promote all academic divisions of the University in providing students the language and cultural training necessary to support international and intercultural endeavors.

Careers

In today’s global society, knowledge of other languages and cultures will enable you to expand career opportunities. In March 2014, the Latino population surpassed the number of non-Hispanic whites living in the Golden State. By 2050, more than half of California’s population will be of Hispanic, Asian or Pacific Islander descent, and a large percentage will speak a language other than English. Jobs in social services, business, communications and the government all need people with intercultural competence given this state’s rich ethnic and racial diversity.

There are many jobs in the United States and abroad that require proficiency in a second language. These include working in the Foreign Service; serving as a translator and/or interpreter for the government or the private sector; working at international institutions such as the World Bank, United Nations or UNICEF; teaching foreign languages, literature and cultures in schools or universities; and working for transnational business corporations and even for the Olympic games.

A major or a minor in a second language is beneficial for students who are interested in pursuing careers in various fields, including social services, business, finance, communications, science, technology, education, government and travel.