Office of the Provost

  • Picture of Oviatt Library

    Office of the Provost & Vice President

Provost Biography

Dr. Yi Li has been appointed Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs effective July 20, 2015 by President Dianne F. Harrison. Dr. Li brings more than three decades of higher education leadership, including award-winning research, scholarship and an aptness for increasing gender and ethnic diversity of STEM programs. 

Provost Li served as Dean in the College of Science and Mathematics at Wright State University since 2011; professor and chair of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Iowa; associate professor at the University of Rochester; and L.E. Dickson instructor at the University of Chicago.

Li has a strong commitment to student success and diversity. He is a leader in innovative practices to increase diversity in the STEM student pipeline, and his work has been recognized with multiple awards. His background also includes a proven track record of high-impact research. He has published more than 80 peer-reviewed papers with more than 1,200 Science Citation Index citations by more than 500 authors.

As Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Li will be responsible for directing nearly 3,000 faculty and staff members in the Division of Academic Affairs, the largest unit within the university with an annual budget of approximately of $280 million. Dr. Li will oversee eight academic colleges; the college of extended learning; university library; academic support units; and six central academic affairs administrative offices.

Provost Li will serve as a member of the CSU Academic Council, the President's Cabinet at CSUN, the CSUN Foundation's Board of Directors, and the Valley Performing Arts Center Internal Management Committee. He also chairs the Provost's Council, the Admissions Planning Group, the Teacher Education Council, and the University Planning & Budget Group (UPBG). 

Li holds a Ph.D in mathematics from the University of Minnesota and a bachelor's degree from Xi'an Jiantong University.