Journalism

  • Journalism Logo

Faculty and Lecturers

José Luis Benavides, Spanish-Language Journalism program

José Luis Benavides

Professor, Journalism

Email: jose.benavides@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-7242
Office location: MZ 331
Spring 2022 office hours: W 3-5 p.m. (via zoom) 

Aron Bender

Aron Bender

Email: aron.bender@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2022 office hours: TH 1:30-3:30 p.m. (@ KCSN) 

Julie Bien

Julie Bien

Email: julie.bien@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2022 office hours: T 1-4 p.m. (via zoom) 

Elizabeth Blakey

Elizabeth Blakey

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email:
Phone: 818-677-3144
Office location: MZ 334

Spring 2022 office hours: M & T 11-12 p.m., W 11-12 p.m. & by appt. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

Stephanie Bluestein, Internship Coordinator (on sabbatical)

Stephanie Bluestein 

Associate Professor, Journalism

Email: stephanie.bluestein@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-3407
Office location: MZ 333 

David Blumenkrantz

David Blumenkrantz

Professor, Journalism

Email: david.blumenkrantz@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3144
Office location: MZ 326

Spring 2022 office hours: M 11-1 p.m., T 12-2 p.m. (via zoom) 

Biography and syllabi

 

Linda Bowen, Department chair

 

Linda Bowen

Professor, Journalism 

Email: linda.s.bowen@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3135
Office location: MZ 210
Biography and syllabi

Christopher Cathcart

Christopher Cathcart 

Email: christopher.cathcart@csun.edu

Phone: 818-677-3135/2864
Office location: MZ 337
Spring 2022 office hours: M 2:30-3:30 p.m. (via zoom) 

Benjamin Davis

Benjamin Davis

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email: benjamin.davis@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2016
Office location: MZ 328

Spring 2022 office hours: W 1-2:30 p.m., TH 3:30-4:30 p.m. (via zoom)
Biography and syllabi

 

Marcella De Veaux, Fac Dev Associate Director

Marcella De Veaux

Professor, Journalism 

Email: marcella.deveaux@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7240
Office location: MZ 365B 

Biography and syllabi

 

Bobbie Eisenstock

Bobbie Eisenstock 

Email: bobbie.eisenstock@csun.edu 
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2022 office hours: T 9:30-11 a.m., W 2-3:30 p.m. (via zoom) 

Ryan Fonseca

Ryan Fonseca

Email: ryan.fonseca@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2022 office hours: T 1 p.m. (via zoom)   

Daniela Gerson

Daniela Gerson

Assistant Professor, Journalism 

Email: daniela.gerson@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2823
Office location: MZ 332

Spring 2022 office hours: M 3-5 p.m., TH 12:30-1:30 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

David Grewe

David Grewe

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email: david.grewe@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7244
Office location: MZ 330

Spring 2022 office hours: M 2-4 p.m., W 3-4 p.m., TH 11-12 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

 

Taehyun Kim

Taehyun Kim 

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email: taehyun.kim@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3238
Office location: MZ 334

Spring 2022 office hours: M & W 10-12 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

 

Stacy Long, Agency 398 Director

Stacy Long

Email: stacy.long@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 201

Spring 2022 office hours: W 12-2 p.m. (MZ 201) 

Gretchen Macchiarella

Gretchen Macchiarella

Assistant Professor, Journalism

Email: gmacchiarella@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7239
Office location: MZ 365-A

Spring 2022 office hours: M 9-11 a.m., TH. 12:30-2:30 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

Joshua Molina

Joshua Molina 

Email: joshua.molina@csun.edu 
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2022 office hours: F 8 & 11 a.m., Sat. 9 a.m. (via zoom)  

Kyle Stokes

Kyle Stokes 

Email: kyle.stokes@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2022 office hours: T 5:30-6:30 p.m. (via zoom) 

Tammy Trujillo, KCSN Broadcast Media Coordinator

Tammy Trujillo

Email: tammy.trujillo@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-5406
Office location: VPAC 381

Spring 2022 office hours: W 4-5 p.m. (via zoom)  

Melissa Wall, Mass Communication Graduate Adviser

Melissa Wall

Professor, Journalism 

Email: melissa.a.wall@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-5677
Office location: MZ 365C

Spring 2022 office hours: TH. 4-5 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

 

Arvli Ward, The Sundial publisher/adviser

Arvli Ward

Email: arvli.ward@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2243/3135
Office location: MZ 140

Spring 2022 office hours: T, W, & Th. 11 a.m. (via zoom) 

Tim Whyte

Tim Whyte 

Email: tim@whytehousemedia.com
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2022 office hours: F 12-2 p.m. (via zoom) 

Lova Yazdani

Lova Yazdani 

Email: l  
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2022 office hours: T 11-12 p.m., W 2-3 p.m. (via zoom) 

Yue Zheng

Yue Zheng, Ph.D. 

Assistant Professor  

Email: yue.zheng@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7241
Office location: MZ 329

Spring 2022 office hours: M & TH. 12:30-2 p.m. (via zoom)  
Biography and syllabi

Emeritus Faculty

 

Scott Brown, 2020

Susan Henry, 2010

James Hill, 2018

Kent Kirkton, 2015

Rick Marks, 2019

Cynthia Rawitch, 2017

Jessica Retis, 2020

Maureen Rubin, 2017

Ezra Shapiro, 2019

Sally Turner, 2021