Journalism

  • Journalism Logo

Faculty and Lecturers

José Luis Benavides, Spanish-Language Journalism program

José Luis Benavides

Professor, Journalism

Email: jose.benavides@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-7242
Office location: MZ 331
Fall 2022 office hours: by appointment only

Aron Bender

Aron Bender

Lecturer

Email: aron.bender@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Fall 2022 office hours: M & W 1-2 p.m. (@ KCSN) 

Julie Bien, Interim Internship coordinator, Fall 2022

Julie Bien

Lecturer

Email: julie.bien@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Fall 2022 office hours: M 3:15-6:15 p.m. (via zoom) 

Elizabeth Blakey

Elizabeth Blakey

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email:
Phone: 818-677-3144
Office location: MZ 334

Fall 2022 office hours: T & Th 2-4p.m.
Biography and syllabi

Stephanie Bluestein, Department chair effective Fall 2022

Stephanie Bluestein 

Professor, Journalism

Email: stephanie.bluestein@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-3407
Office location: MZ 210
 
Fall 2022 office hours: T 10-11:30a.m. W 1-2:30p.m. 

David Blumenkrantz

David Blumenkrantz

Professor, Journalism

Email: david.blumenkrantz@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3144
Office location: MZ 326

Fall 2022 office hours: M 10-12 p.m., T 12-2 p.m. (via zoom & by appointment) 

Biography and syllabi

 

Linda Bowen

 

Linda Bowen

Professor, Journalism 

Email: linda.s.bowen@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3135
Office location: MZ 365B
Biography and syllabi

Christopher Cathcart

Christopher Cathcart 

Lecturer

Email: christopher.cathcart@csun.edu

Phone: 818-677-3135/2864
Office location: MZ 337
Fall 2022 office hours: M 12:30-1:30 p.m. W 2-3p.m.  

Benjamin Davis

Benjamin Davis

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email: benjamin.davis@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2016
Office location: MZ 328

Fall 2022 office hours: W 1:30-3 p.m., TH 11a.m.-12:30 p.m. 
Biography and syllabi

 

Marcella De Veaux, Fac Dev Associate Director

Marcella De Veaux

Professor, Journalism 

Email: marcella.deveaux@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7240
Office location: MZ 365B 

Fall 2022 office hours: TH 10-11a.m.

Biography and syllabi

 

Bobbie Eisenstock

Bobbie Eisenstock 

Full-time Lecturer

Email: bobbie.eisenstock@csun.edu 
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Fall 2022 office hours: T 11a.m.-1 p.m., Th 1-2 p.m. (via zoom) 

Ryan Fonseca

Ryan Fonseca

Lecturer

Email: ryan.fonseca@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Fall 2022 office hours: T 4-5 p.m. (via zoom)   

Daniela Gerson, Sabbatical 2022-23

Daniela Gerson

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email: daniela.gerson@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2823
Office location: MZ 332

Fall 2022 & Spring 2023: on sabbatical 
Biography and syllabi

David Grewe

David Grewe

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email: david.grewe@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7244
Office location: MZ 330

Fall 2022 office hours: M 1-2 p.m., W 2-4 p.m., TH 9-10 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

 

Taehyun Kim

Taehyun Kim 

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email: taehyun.kim@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3238
Office location: MZ 334

Fall 2022 office hours: M & W 10-12 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

 

Stacy Long, Agency 398 Director

Stacy Long

Lecturer

Email: stacy.long@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 201

Fall 2022 office hours: M 10:45a.m.-12:45p.m. TH 10-11a.m. 

Gretchen Macchiarella

Gretchen Macchiarella

Assistant Professor, Journalism

Email: gmacchiarella@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7239
Office location: MZ 365-A

Fall 2022 office hours: M 9:45-10:45 a.m., TH. 12:30-2:30 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

Joshua Molina

Joshua Molina 

Lecturer

Email: joshua.molina@csun.edu 
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Fall 2022 office hours: F 8-10a.m. (via zoom)  

Linda Nuñez

Linda Nuñez

Lecturer

Email: ">linda.nuñ   
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Fall 2022 office hours: M 2:30-3:30p.m. (zoom or by appointment)

 

Kyle Stokes

Kyle Stokes 

Lecturer

Email: kyle.stokes@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Fall 2022 office hours: T 5:30-6:30 p.m. (via zoom) 

Tammy Trujillo, KCSN Broadcast Media Coordinator

Tammy Trujillo

Email: tammy.trujillo@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-5406
Office location: VPAC 381

Spring 2022 office hours: TH 1-2 p.m. (via zoom)  

Melissa Wall, Mass Communication Graduate Adviser

Melissa Wall

Professor, Journalism 

Email: melissa.a.wall@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-5677
Office location: MZ 365C

Fall 2022 office hours: TH. 3:30-4:30 p.m. (via zoom or by appointment) 
Biography and syllabi

 

Arvli Ward, The Sundial publisher/adviser

Arvli Ward

Email: arvli.ward@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2243/3135
Office location: MZ 140

Fall 2022 office hours: M 1-3p.m.

Tim Whyte

Tim Whyte 

Lecturer

Email: tim@whytehousemedia.com
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Fall 2022 office hours: F 12-1 p.m. (zoom) 

Yue Zheng

Yue Zheng, Ph.D. 

Associate Professor, Journalism

Email: yue.zheng@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7241
Office location: MZ 329

Fall 2022 office hours: T 12:30-2 p.m. TH 2-4p.m. (zoom)  
Biography and syllabi

Emeritus Faculty

 

Scott Brown, 2020

Susan Henry, 2010

James Hill, 2018

Kent Kirkton, 2015

Rick Marks, 2019

Cynthia Rawitch, 2017

Jessica Retis, 2020

Maureen Rubin, 2017

Ezra Shapiro, 2019

Sally Turner, 2021