Journalism

  • Journalism Logo

Faculty and Lecturers

José Luis Benavides, Spanish-Language Journalism program

José Luis Benavides

Professor, Journalism

Email: jose.benavides@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-7242
Office location: MZ 331
Spring 2021 office hours: W 3-5 p.m. (via zoom) 

Aron Bender

Aron Bender

Email: aron.bender@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2021 office hours: TH 9-11 a.m. (via zoom) 

Julie Bien

Julie Bien

Email: julie.bien@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2021 office hours: TH 3:30-5:30 p.m. (via zoom) 

Elizabeth Blakey

Elizabeth Blakey

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email:
Phone: 818-677-3144
Office location: MZ 334

Spring 2021 office hours: M, T, W 11-12 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

Stephanie Bluestein, Internship Coordinator

Stephanie Bluestein 

Associate Professor, Journalism

Email: stephanie.bluestein@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-3407
Office location: MZ 333
Spring 2021 office hours: M 3-4:30 p.m., W 1-2:30 p.m. (via zoom) 

David Blumenkrantz

David Blumenkrantz

Professor, Journalism

Email: david.blumenkrantz@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3144
Office location: MZ 326

Spring 2021 office hours: M 12-2 p.m., T 12-1 p.m. (via zoom) 

Biography and syllabi

 

Linda Bowen, Department chair

 

Linda Bowen

Professor, Journalism 

Email: linda.s.bowen@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3135
Office location: MZ 210
Biography and syllabi

Christopher Cathcart

Christopher Cathcart 

Email: 

Phone: 818-677-3135/2864
Office location: MZ 337
Spring 2021 office hours: M 12:45-1:45 p.m. (via zoom) 

Richard Chambers

Richard Chambers

Email: 
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2021 office hours: M 6-7 p.m. (via zoom)

Benjamin Davis

Benjamin Davis

Assistant Professor, Journalism 

Email: benjamin.davis@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2016
Office location: MZ 328

Spring 2021 office hours: T & W 2-3:30 p.m. (via zoom)
Biography and syllabi

 

Marcella De Veaux

Marcella De Veaux

Professor, Journalism 

Email: marcella.deveaux@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7240
Office location: MZ 365B

Spring 2021 office hours: M 11-1 p.m., TH 11-12 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

 

Bobbie Eisenstock

Bobbie Eisenstock 

Email:   
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2021 office hours: M 4-5 p.m., T 11-12 p.m., W 9-10 a.m. (via zoom) 

Ryan Fonseca

Ryan Fonseca

Email: ryan.fonseca@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2021 office hours: T 1-2 p.m. (via zoom)   

Daniela Gerson

Daniela Gerson

Assistant Professor, Journalism 

Email: daniela.gerson@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2823
Office location: MZ 332

Spring 2021 office hours: T 12:30-2:30 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

Benjamin Gottlieb

Benjamin Gottlieb 

Email: 

Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2021 office hours: W 12-1 p.m. (via zoom) 

David Grewe

David Grewe

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email: david.grewe@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7244
Office location: MZ 330

Spring 2021 office hours: M 1-2 p.m., W 12:30-1:30 p.m., TH 9-11 a.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

 

Taehyun Kim

Taehyun Kim 

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email: taehyun.kim@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3238
Office location: MZ 334

Spring 2021 office hours: M & W 10-12 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

 

Stacy Long, Agency 398 Director

Stacy Long

Email: stacy.long@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 201

Spring 2021 office hours: T & W 1-2 p.m. (via zoom) 

Gretchen Macchiarella

Gretchen Macchiarella

Assistant Professor, Journalism

Email: gmacchiarella@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7239
Office location: MZ 365-A

Spring 2021 office hours: M 8:30-11 a.m., T 2-3:30 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

Julio Cesar Ortiz

Julio Cesar Ortiz 

Email: 
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Office hours: W 8 p.m. (via zoom)  

Darleen Principe

Darleen Principe

Email: darleen.principe@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2021 office hours: M 4-5 p.m., T 11-12 p.m. (via zoom) 

Kyle Stokes

Kyle Stokes 

Email: 
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2021 office hours: T 5-6 p.m. (via zoom) 

Terri Thuente

Terri Thuente

Email: 
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2021 office hours: T 5:45-6:45 p.m. (via zoom)  

Tammy Trujillo, KCSN Broadcast Media Coordinator

Tammy Trujillo

Email: tammy.trujillo@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-5406
Office location: VPAC 381

Spring 2021 office hours: W 4-5 p.m. (via zoom)  

Melissa Wall, Mass Communication Graduate Adviser

Melissa Wall

Professor, Journalism 

Email: melissa.a.wall@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-5677
Office location: MZ 365C

Spring 2021 office hours: W 12:30-1:30 p.m, TH 3-4 p.m. (via zoom) 
Biography and syllabi

 

Arvli Ward, The Sundial publisher/adviser

Arvli Ward

Email: arvli.ward@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2243/3135
Office location: MZ 140

Spring 2021 office hours: T & TH 1-2 p.m. (via zoom) 

Tim Whyte

Tim Whyte 

Email: tim@whytehousemedia.com
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337

Spring 2021 office hours: T 2:45-3:45 p.m. (via zoom) 

Yue Zheng

Yue Zheng, Ph.D. 

Assistant Professor  

Email: yue.zheng@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7241
Office location: MZ 329

Spring 2021 office hours: M & TH 12:30-2 p.m. (via zoom)  
Biography and syllabi

Emeritus Faculty

 

Scott Brown, 2020

Susan Henry, 2010

James Hill, 2018

Kent Kirkton, 2015

Rick Marks, 2019

Cynthia Rawitch, 2017

Jessica Retis, 2020

Maureen Rubin, 2017

Ezra Shapiro, 2019