Journalism

  • Journalism Logo

Faculty and Lecturers

José Luis Benavides, Spanish-Language Journalism program

José Luis Benavides

Professor, Journalism

Email: jose.benavides@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-7242
Office location: MZ 331

Aron Bender

Aron Bender

Email: aron.bender@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337; Office hours: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Julie Bien

Julie Bien

Email: julie.bien@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337; Office hours: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Elizabeth Blakey

Elizabeth Blakey

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email:
Phone: 818-677-3144
Office location: MZ 334
Biography and syllabi

Stephanie Bluestein, Internship Coordinator

Stephanie Bluestein 

Associate Professor, Journalism

Email: stephanie.bluestein@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-3407
Office location: MZ 333

David Blumenkrantz

David Blumenkrantz

Professor, Journalism

Email: david.blumenkrantz@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3144
Office location: MZ 326

Biography and syllabi

 

Linda Bowen, Department chair

 

Linda Bowen

Professor, Journalism 

Email: linda.s.bowen@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3135
Office location: MZ 210
Biography and syllabi

Richard Chambers

Richard Chambers

Email: 
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337; Office hours: M 6-7 p.m. 

Benjamin Davis

Benjamin Davis

Assistant Professor, Journalism 

Email: benjamin.davis@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2016
Office location: MZ 328
Biography and syllabi

 

Marcella De Veaux

Marcella De Veaux

Professor, Journalism 

Email: marcella.deveaux@csun.edu
Phone:
Office location:
Biography and syllabi

 

Eder Diaz

Eder Diaz

Email: eder.diaz@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337; Office hours: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Bobbie Eisenstock

Bobbie Eisenstock 

Email: b_eisenstock@yahoo.com
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337; Office hours: T 11:30-1 p.m.; W 2-3:30 p.m.   

Ryan Fonseca

Ryan Fonseca

Email: ryan.fonseca@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337; Office hours: T 5-6 p.m.  

Daniela Gerson

Daniela Gerson

Assistant Professor, Journalism 

Email: daniela.gerson@csun.edu
Phone:
Office location: MZ 332
Biography and syllabi

David Grewe

David Grewe

Assistant Professor, Journalism 

Email: david.grewe@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-7241
Office location: MZ 330
Biography and syllabi

 

Taehyun Kim

Taehyun Kim 

Associate Professor, Journalism 

Email: taehyun.kim@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-3238
Office location: MZ 334
Biography and syllabi

 

Stacy Long, Agency 398 director

Stacy Long

Email: stacy.long@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 201; Office hours: W 12:45-1:45 p.m. 

Gretchen Macchiarella

Gretchen Macchiarella

Assistant Professor, Journalism

Email: gmacchiarella@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-XXXX
Office location: TBD
Biography and syllabi

Darleen Principe

Darleen Principe

Email: darleen.principe@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337; Office hours: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Terri Thuente

Terri Thuente

Email: terri.thuente@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337; Office hours: T 2-3 p.m., W 1:45-2:45 p.m. 

Sarah (Sally) Turner

Sarah (Sally) Turner 

Email: sturner552@aol.com
Phone: 818-677-4819
Office location: MZ 150E; Office hours: (MZ150E) W 1-3:30 p.m., R 12-12:30 p.m.  

Biography, syllabi

Melissa Wall, Mass Communication Graduate Adviser

Melissa Wall

Professor, Journalism 

Email: melissa.a.wall@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-5677
Office location: MZ 365C
Biography and syllabi

 

Arvli Ward, The Sundial publisher/adviser

Arvli Ward

Email: arvli.ward@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-2243/3135
Office location: MZ 140; Office hours: T & R 1-3 p.m. 

Tim Whyte

Tim Whyte 

Email: tim@whytehousemedia.com
Phone: 818-677-2864/3135
Office location: MZ 337; Office hours: T 11:30-12 p.m., & 2:45-3:15 p.m. 

Yue Zheng

Yue Zheng, Ph.D. 

Assistant Professor  

Email: yue.zheng@csun.edu
Phone:
Office location: MZ 329

Office Hours in Fall 2017: Tuesdays & Fridays, 1-2 p.m. or by appointment 
Biography and syllabi

Emeritus Faculty

Susan Henry, 2010

James Hill, 2018

Kent Kirkton, 2015

Rick Marks, 2019

Maureen Rubin, 2017

Cynthia Rawitch, 2017

Ezra Shapiro, 2019