• student painters working outdoors


Recipients of Spring 2016 Department Awards 

Academy of American Poets Award-Sophia Apodaca Poem: "Coming Out to My Mother"
Honorable Mention- Alexa Spann Poem: "Rhapsody in Black"

Henry Van Slooten Award-Jake R. Rarick Essay Title: "Of Maus and Man"

The William L. Wilson Award-Josh Mandell

Robert apRoberts English Honors Essay Prize-Rebecca Rahimi Essay Title: "Commercializing Tragedy"

Professor Mitchell Marcus Prize in English-Nazanin Keynejad, Essay Title: "Villainy and the Will in Renaissance Drama"

Mahlon Gaumer Award-Eric Kufs Essay Title: "Cottages not Cottagers: The Abandoned Plans for the Unseen in Milddlemarch"

Harry Finestone Award in English-Tania Dominguez “Hegemonic Masculinity in Larry Kramer’s Faggots”

Linda Nicols Joseph Merit Scholarship Award-Catherine Cheresh, Samantha Goli, Zuleima Ugalde 


Recipients of Fall 2015 Department Awards

Rachel Sherwood Award- Shetachai Chatchoomsai

Honorable Mention-April Shih

Oliver Evans Award- Lusine Makarosyan

Oliver Evans-Annabelle Bonebrake

Linda Nichols Joseph English Merit Scholarship-Sharaya Olmeda

Peterson Morley Award- Christian Cardenas

Philip E. Love English 205 Scholarship-Allison Bunyun

The Eva Latif Award-Daniel Freeman

The Eva Latif Award-Kaitlyn Hider

The Northridge Review Fiction Award-Antoine Bowman

Honorable Mention-Kirk Sever


Recipients of Spring 2015 Department Awards

Academy of American Poets-Cody Dietz
Honorable Mention-Daniel Mouron
"The Explorers Journal"

Henry Van Slooten Scholarship in English- Caroline Cerrelli
 "The Anti-Hero's Journey"

Robert apRoberts English Honors Essay Prize- Gabriela Almendarez
 "The Topography of Borders: Hybridity, Queerness, and Mexican-American Identity"

The Mahlon Gaumer Award- Stephen Florian
"The Rhetoric of Surf"

The Harry Finestone Award in English-Lily Thiemens
"Le Linnathon: Music and Mythology in Middle Earth

The Professor Mitchell Marcus Prize in English- Eric Barnhart

Information on Freshmen Level Writing Courses

To help students achieve university-level competence in writing, the Department of English offers English 115 “Approaches to University Writing”. The prerequisite to English 115 is a score of 147 or higher on the English Placement Test (EPT). The CSU requires that each entering undergraduate, except those who qualify for an exemption, take the CSU Entry Level Mathematics (ELM) examination and the CSU English Placement Test (EPT) prior to enrollment. The scores on this test provide valuable information about the students' skills in writing and reading.  An EPT score of 139 or lower determines a student must enroll in English 113A followed by English 113B. An EPT score of 140-146 determines a student must enroll in English 114A followed by English 114B. Students may also get tutoring assistance through the Learning Resource Center (LRC). The LRC is open to both new and continuing students on an appointment basis.