Research and Graduate Studies - Graduate Studies

  • Graduate Studies Committee Banner

Graduate Studies Committee

Charge/Mission

"This committee shall consist of thirteen members: ten members elected by the Senate, two members appointed by the President of the University, and one graduate student member appointed by the Associated Students Senate. This committee shall study policy areas and make recommendations affecting graduate curricula and graduate academic standards.  It shall maintain liaison with the Educational Policies Committee on curricular matters of mutual interest."

Faculty Senate Bylaws (.pdf)

Members

2018-2019 Academic Year

Grishma Bhavsar

Health Sciences
College of Health and Human Development
Elected by the Senate
grishma.bhavsar@csun.edu

Term Expires 2021

Julia Heinen

Music
Mike Curb College of Arts, Media, and Communication
Elected by the Senate
julia.heinen@csun.edu

Term Expires 2019

Jonathan Kelber

Biology
College of Science and Mathematics
Appointed by the President
jonathan.kelber@csun.edu

Term Expires 2019

J.C. Lee

English
College of Humanities
Elected by the Senate
jennifer.c.lee@csun.edu

Term Expires 2019

Allen Lipscomb

Social Work
College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Appointed by the President
allen.lipscomb@csun.edu

Term Expires 2019

Sami Maalouf

Civil Engineering and Construction Management
College of Engineering and Computer Science
Elected by the Senate
sami.maalouf@csun.edu

Term Expires 2021

Lauren McDonald

Sociology
College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Elected by the Senate
lauren.mcdonald@csun.edu

Term Expires 2020

Richard Moore

Management
David Nazarian College of Business and Economics
Elected by the Senate
richard.moore@csun.edu

Term Expires 2019

Thaddeus Nagey

Appointed by Associated Students

Term Expires 2019

Mira Pak

Secondary Education
Michael D. Eisner College of Education
Elected by the Senate
mira.pak@csun.edu

Term Expires 2020

Danielle Spratt

English
College of Humanities
Elected by the Senate
danielle.spratt@csun.edu

Term Expires 2021

Scott Sturgeon

Cinema and Television Arts
Mike Curb College of Arts, Media, and Communication
Elected by the Senate
scott.sturgeon@csun.edu

Term Expires 2020

Casey terHorst • GSC Chair

Biology
College of Science and Mathematics
Elected by the Senate
casey.terhorst@csun.edu

Term Expires 2021

Amy Levin • Executive Secretary (non-voting)

Assistant Vice President of Graduate Studies
amy.levin@csun.edu

Hedy Carpenter (non-voting)

Director of Graduate Programs, Graduate Studies
hedy.carpenter@csun.edu

Lani Kiapos (non-voting)

DPR Senior Analyst, Graduate Studies
lani.kiapos@csun.edu

Gloria Rocklin • Recording Secretary (non-voting)

Administrative Analyst, Graduate Studies
gloria.rocklin@csun.edu