Political Science

  • Banner is made up of three images representing our three branches of government. They include the Capitol building, the White House, and the Supreme Court building

    Department of Political Science

  • President Harrison and CSUN DC Interns, 2013
  • A Conversation with Gov. Michael Dukakis and Gov. Linda Lingle

Undergraduate Program

The Bachelor of Arts in Political Science degree requires the completion of 120 units of coursework. Of these, 48 units must be selected from courses within the Department, 52 units from the university's General Education requirements, and 20 units may be electives.

Additionally, the degree candidate must satisfy the Title V Part 1 American History, Institutions and Ideals requirement. Parts 2 and 3 can be satisfied by taking POLS 155 or 355 as required by the major.

All courses in the major must be taken for a letter grade: they may not be taken CR/NC (Credit/No Credit basis).

The Department offers a major with three options: