Beth Wightman has taken medical leave for the remainder of the semester, and Tim Black (Philosophy) will step in as the acting department chair. He was the chair of Philosophy for 12 years (2011-2023). In a message to the English Department, he wrote: “Please let me know what I might be able to do for you; please let me know when I’ve done something that doesn’t work for you; please let me know if you think you might be able to help me in any way. I want to be an advocate for the Department and to do all I can to ensure that it continues to thrive in every way during Beth’s leave.”

Applications and nominations are now being accepted for the 2024 Jerome Richfield Memorial Fellow. The selection committee seeks CSUN scholars who are accomplished members of their discipline and are conducting research that is of broad interest to the public.  The Fellow presents a lecture at the Provost’s Colloquium Series, which is designed to highlight and celebrate the scholarly achievements of CSUN’s faculty, and to provide an opportunity for socialization among faculty, administrators, students, and staff.  The instructions for nominations can be found at this link. The deadline is 5 p.m. Nov. 8, 2023. FYI: Charles Hatfield received this honor in 2006.


Nominations for various student writing awards will be accepted until Nov. 17, 2023.  A description of the various awards and qualifications can be found on the department website.


Audrey Thacker presented her paper, “Oh, Brother! Now You’re a Jewish Mother? Transitioning the Trope in Transparent,” at the 120th annual PAMLA conference in Portland, Oregon, in October. Audrey was also the presiding officer and chair for two special sessions concerning “The Holocaust in Literature, Media, and Film.”