Office of the Provost

  • CSUN's Road Ahead

Road Map to the Future: Presidential Charge

The Road Map to the Future Steering Committee has been established by President Erika D. Beck and is led by Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Mary Beth Walker, and is aimed at taking the collective work of the CSUN community to the next level of impact. The Steering Committee will be instrumental to build consensus around a vision for the future, and its membership includes people from all corners of the CSUN community; the intersection and exchange of their unique viewpoints will be vital to the development of a successful plan, representative of CSUN’s values. The Steering Committee will ultimately drive the process and identify areas of focus for the university’s planning initiative, and the President’s Listening Tour Report will serve as the foundational starting point. The Steering Committee is charged with ensuring that every identified priority begins with and emanates from our unwavering commitment to inclusive excellence.

The Listening Tour Themes are:
• Standing in Our Values of Equity, Inclusion, and Justice
• A Clear Commitment to the Overall Success of Our Students
• A Solid Foundation of Academic Excellence
• Shaping Our Culture and Fostering Community
• Disruptive Thinking
• Strengthening Community Connections
• Making Sense of Our Dollars and Cents

The Steering Committee in partnership with Cabinet leaders will have responsibilities outside of meetings and will engage with members of the CSUN community on a variety of topics relevant to the development of the Road Map. The Committee’s end goal is about coming together in a common cause and advancing the mission of CSUN.