Credential Office

Academic Programs

There are three major categories of credentials available at California State University, Northridge: teaching, services, and specialist. All CSUN credential programs are accredited by the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CCTC) and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).

For admission requirements and application click here.

Basic Teaching Credentials

Services Credentials

Individuals providing school services such as administration and pupil personnel must hold a credential authorizing that service. Services credentials offered are Administrative Services, School Nurse (currently inactive at CSUN), Pupil Personnel Services in School Counseling and School Psychology, and Speech-Language Pathology in Language, Speech and Hearing.

Specialist Credentials

Many public school specialists must earn a credential or certificate authorizing service in their area of specialization; some of which are dependent upon the applicant holding a Multiple Subject or Single Subject Teaching Credential. The Reading and Literacy Leadership Specialist Credential program is anticipated to begin Fall 2015.

Additional Authorizations

Additional authorizations can be added to an existing credential. These authorizations are dependent upon holding a prerequisite credential.