Philosophy

Faculty

Tim Black
  • Tim Black, Chair
    Professor

  • Ph.D. University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Office Sierra Tower 516
  • Email: tim.black@csun.edu
  • Phone: 818.677.7205
  • Interests: Epistemology, History of Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind
  • Website: https://csun.academia.edu/TimBlack
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
Sindhuja Bhakthavatsalam
  • Sindhuja Bhakthavatsalam
    Associate Professor (Dept. of Liberal Studies and Dept. of Philosophy)

  • Ph.D. University California, San Diego
  • Office: Education Administration 100
  • Email: sindhuja.bhakthavatsalam@csun.edu
  • Phone: 818.677.7022
  • Interests: Philosophy of Science, Science Education
  • Pronouns: she/her/hers
Abel Franco
  • Abel Franco
    Associate Professor

  • Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh
    Ph.D. University of Salamanca
  • Office: Sierra Tower 504
  • Email: abel.franco@csun.edu
  • Phone: 818.677.7501
  • Interests: History of Philosophy, History of Science, Philosophy of Mind
Robert Gressis
  • Robert Gressis
    Associate Professor

  • Ph.D. University of Michigan
  • Office: Sierra Tower 527
  • Email: robert.gressis@csun.edu
  • Phone: 818.677.4854
  • Interests: Kant, Philosophy of Religion,
  • Moral Psychology, Free Will
  •  
Jacob Hale
  • C. Jacob Hale
    Professor

  • Ph.D. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Office: Sierra Tower 526
  • Email: jacob.hale@csun.edu
  • Phone: 818. 677. 7202
  • Interests: Interdisciplinary Transgender, Queer and Feminist Studies, Philosophy of Mathematics
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
Sarah K. Hansen
  • Sid Hansen
    Associate Professor (on sabbatical Fall 2021)

  • Ph.D. Vanderbilt University
  • Email: sid.hansen@csun.edu 
  • Phone: 818.677.4853
  • Interests: Feminist Theory, Bioethics, Continental Philosophy
  • Website: https://philpeople.org/profiles/sid-hansen
  • Pronouns: they/them/theirs
Kristina Melshelski
Robin M Muller
  • Robin M. Muller
    Associate Professor

  • Ph.D. The New School for Social Research
  • Office: Sierra Tower 506
  • Email: robin.muller@csun.edu
  • Phone: 818.677.3579
  • Interests: History of Philosophy, Continental Philosophy, Phenomenology,; Philosophy of Mind
  • Website: https://csun.academia.edu/RobinMuller
  • Pronouns: she/her/hers
Bonnie Paller
  • Bonnie Paller
    Professor

  • Ph.D. University of Southern California
  • Office: Sierra Tower 533
  • Email: bonnie.paller@csun.edu
  • Phone: 818.677.2746
  • Interests: Philosophy of Science
Adam Swenson
  • Adam Swenson
    Professor

  • Ph.D. Rutgers University
  • Office: Sierra Tower 504
  • Email: adam.swenson@csun.edu
  • Phone: 818.677.2750
  • Interests: Ethics, Philosophical issues concerning pain and pain medicine, Philosophy of Mind
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
Weimin Sun
  • Weimin Sun
    Professor

  • Ph.D. University of Connecticut
    Office: Sierra Tower 505
  • Email: weimin.sun@csun.edu
    Phone: 818.677.6461
  • Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Biology, Chinese Philosophy
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
Gregory Velazco y Trianosky
  • Gregory Velazco y Trianosky
    Professor

  • Ph.D. University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Office: Sierra Tower 520
  • Email: gregory.trianosky@csun.edu
  • Phone: 818.677.6463
  • Interests: History and Philosophy of Race, Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
Takashi Yagisawa
Julie Yoo, Ph.D.
  • Julie Yoo
    Associate Professor

  • Ph.D. Rutgers University
  • Office: Sierra Tower 514
  • Email: julie.yoo@csun.edu
  • Phone: 818.677.5808
  • Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language
  • Pronouns: she/her/hers