START - STEM Transfer and Research Training

Badge Project

Announcement: All Badge workshops will be continuing after spring break remotely via Zoom. RSVP is required to attend. You will be provided with instructions on how to access the zoom workshop after you have RSVP-ed for a workshop.

Zoom Link for Virtual Workshops

Overview

The Badge Project is a two-year series of helpful workshops on various topics, such as intro to research careers, attending national conferences, and applying for summer research opportunities. The project incorporates transfer receptive culture into the workshops to better prepare STEM transfer students for graduate school, research careers, or professional careers.

Ready to join Badge Project? Complete our application so we can add you to our Canvas site.

Workshops

Spring 2022 workshop schedule has been updated! 

Research Careers 101

Description

Research Careers 101 invites you to explore different career options in your field of study. These careers range from starter to end goal careers. We hope you learn which career is best for you!

Date/Time

- Tuesday, February 8, 2022, 5-6:15PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/svZsD4od9smz4ef27 

Academic Organization

Description

Academic Organization assists you in organizing a realistic study plan. A realistic plan incorporates your academic requires and personal responsibilities to identify the best study times for your schedule. We hope you learn academic organization and study tips!

Date/Time

- Tuesday, February 22, 2022, 5-6:15PM

RSVP Link:

https://forms.gle/r2YeEPMGma2APCv98

Email Etiquette

Description

Email Etiquette invites you to break away from the fear of "scary" professors and learn how to write professional emails to professor whether it's asking for a letter of recommendation or joining their research lab.

Date/Time

- Tuesday, March 8, 2022, 5-6:15PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/PhyN8Qj1Ut1YNu4EA

Summer Research Opportunities

Description

Summer Research Opportunities workshop invites you to learn how to navigate different domains to find the summer program that's right for you. You will also learn common requirements for Summer Research Opportunity Programs (SROPs).

Date/Time

- Tuesday, March 29, 2022, 5-6:15PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/f5ax7nVCW7Sb8sHb9

Letters of Recommendation

Description

Letter of Recommendation workshop invites you to identify the ideal person to ask for a letter of recommendation. We will also cover techniques that can help your recommender to make the writing process smoother.

Date/Time

- Tuesday, April 12, 2022, 5-6:15PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/vG6nZjeXYfZauiDB9

CV vs Resume

Description

CV vs. Resume workshop invites you to learn the difference between curriculum vitae (CV) and resume. You will begin working on one or both during this session.

Date/Time

- Tuesday, April 26, 2022, 5-6:15PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/FT7E7WH5gHG4RZkeA

Scholarships

Description

Scholarships workshop invites you to learn how to search for scholarships and the common requirements when applying for a scholarship.

Date/Time

- Monday, February 7 & 14, 2022, 11AM-12:15PM

- Tuesday, February 15, 2022, 5-6:15PM

- Wednesday, February 9 & 16, 2022, 9:30-10:45AM & 5-6:15PM

- Thursday, February 10 & 17, 2022, 12:30-1:45PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/nkyo1vQ5cY77xwBYA

Attending National Conferences

Description

Attending National Conferences workshop invites you to learn about different national conferences, the benefits of attending them, and how to search/apply to travel scholarships.

Date/Time

- Monday, February 21 & 28, 2022, 11AM-12:15PM

- Tuesday, March 1, 2022, 5-6:15PM

- Wednesday, February 23 & March 2, 2022, 9:30-10:45AM & 5-6:15PM

- Thursday, February 24 & March 3, 2022, 12:30-1:45PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/AgLvmxHkvr9RHi1V9

Literature Review

Description

Literature Review workshop invites you to learn how to search for scholarly articles and how to annotate them for any research project.

Date/Times

- Monday, March 7 & 14, 2022, 11AM-12:15PM

- Tuesday, March 15, 2022, 5-6:15PM

- Wednesday, March 9 & 16, 2022, 9:30-10:45AM & 5-6:15PM

- Thursday, March 10 & 17, 2022, 12:30-1:45PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/xQKQHNGMCQh77t2b9

Looking for Graduate Programs

Description

Looking for Potential Graduate Programs workshop invites you to learn how to identify graduate programs for you are interested in or qualify to apply.

Date/Times

- Monday, March 28 & April 4, 2022, 11AM-12:15PM

- Tuesday, April 5, 2022, 5-6:15PM

- Wednesday, March 30 & April 6, 2022, 9:30-10:45AM & 5-6:15PM

- Thursday, April 7, 2022, 12:30-1:45PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/m6tP6wqtK8iLKuQd8

GRE Prep

Description

GRE Prep invites you to learn study techniques to better prepare you for the GRE.

Date/Times

- Monday, April 11 & 18, 2022, 11AM-12:15PM

- Tuesday, April 19, 2022, 5-6:15PM

- Wednesday, April 13 & 20, 2022, 9:30-10:45AM & 5-6:15PM

- Thursday, April 14 & 21, 2022, 12:30-1:45PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/DE1f8f9WYbpgS46f9

Year 2 Plan

Description

Planning for Senior Year workshop invites you to create a plan and set goals you wish to accomplish for your final year at CSUN. A plan template will be provided.

Dates/Times

- Monday, April 25 & May 2, 2022, 11AM-12:15PM

- Tuesday, May 3, 2022, 5-6:15PM

- Wednesday, April 27 & May 4, 2022, 9:30-10:45AM & 5-6:15PM

- Thursday, April 28 & May 5, 2022, 12:30-1:45PM

RSVP Link

https://forms.gle/9mCwGHScMoQiq1cR7

If you are unable to attend any of the workshops or have missed a workshop you wish to attend, please fill out the following link to indicate your availability. If we receive enough interest, we will host an additional session.

Link: https://forms.gle/nxA8hcoc2tbvCvs29