USU

  • USU Banner Image (Staff Group Photo)

Staff

Management Staff

Debra L. HammondDebra L. Hammond
Executive Director

(818) 677-2390
debra.hammond@csun.edu

Debra Hammond has served as the Executive Director of the USU for over 20 years, beginning her tenure in November, 1993. She is responsible for the overall strategic direction and vision for the USU including serving as the executive secretary of the Board of Directors of our non-profit corporation. She also provides guidance and direction to the following major areas of the organization:  Finance and Business Services, Marketing and Programs, Operations and Services, Student Recreation Center, Human Resources, and Administration and Governance. Debra also serves as a part-time faculty member in the Michael D. Eisner College of Education in the Department of Educational Psychology and Counseling  (student services/college counseling program). Debra is passionate about the development of students and staff and is committed to creating spaces, facilities, programs, services and opportunities that enrich and enhance the lives of students. She is an advocate for deepening the connection between students and the CSUN campus in order to promote student success and persistence to graduation. Debra received her bachelor’s degree in sociology from Rutgers University and her master’s degree in educational administration from California State University, Los Angeles. Debra served as a past president of the Association of College Unions International (ACUI), which is the association that helps to develop college unions and community on college campuses throughout the United States and abroad.  In 2006, she received the Butts-Whiting Award which is bestowed upon those who have made significant and lasting impacts on the association and the profession.

Joe IlluminateJoseph C. Illuminate
Associate Director, Finance & Business Services

(818) 677-6492
joe.illuminate@csun.edu

Joseph Illuminate has served as the Associate Director, Finance & Business Services since February 2004. He provides leadership and direction for the USU Finance & Business Services department. Joseph is focused on being a steward of student fees to ensure there are sufficient resources to fund programs and services for students at the highest level. He earned his master’s degree in Public Administration and graduate certificate in Business Administration from California State University, Northridge. Joseph also holds a bachelor of science degree in Business Administration with a specialization in accounting from California State University, Los Angeles. 

Shannon Krajewski

Shannon M. Krajewski
Associate Director, Marketing & Programs

(818) 677-6494
shannon.krajewski@csun.edu

Shannon Krajewski has served as the Associate Director of Marketing and Programs since December 2007. She provides leadership and direction for USU Events, Marketing, Pride Center, Veterans Resource Center, Commercial Services, Games Room, Sunny Days Camp and the training and development of the Board of Directors. Throughout her career in student affairs, Shannon has focused on her passion for developing student leaders and helping them to discover and leverage their natural strengths. Shannon earned her master’s degree in Education from Ohio University where she studied College Student Personnel while working as a graduate associate in the Baker Student Center.  

Jack Raab

Jack Raab
Associate Director, Operations & Services

(818) 677-6579
jack.raab@csun.edu

Jack Raab has served Associate Director of Operations and Services for the USU since January 2013, providing oversight and leadership of  daily operations for Facilities and Maintenance, Reservations and Event Services, Computer Labs, Technology Support Services and Guest Services. He is also responsible for all USU construction and renovation projects. Prior to joining the USU, Jack’s career was in the technical and operational side of campus events and activities at UCLA for more than 25 years.

Jimmy FrancisJimmy Francis
Director, Student Recreation Center

(818) 677-2629
jimmy.francis@csun.edu

Jimmy Francis started with the University Student Union in February 2011, and has served as the Director, Student Recreation Center since October 2012. He provides leadership and direction for SRC Membership Services, Fitness and Wellness, Facility Operations, Intramurals and Aquatics. His passion is to help students achieve their educational goals while providing valuable employment experience, and healthy alternatives outside the classroom to help develop lifelong wellness habits. Jimmy earned his master of arts degree in Sports and Exercise Management from The Ohio State University and his bachelor of arts degree in Physical Education from Ohio Wesleyan University.

Administration

Sharon Kinard
Manager, Administration and Communications
(818) 677-6025
sharon.kinard@csun.edu

Carol Nardini
Administrative Assistant to Executive Director
(818) 677-6024
carol.nardini@csun.edu

Kingson Leung
Coordinator, Special Initiatives
(818) 677-5652
kingson.leung@csun.edu

Linda Kang
Special Assistant, Administration
(818) 677-6025

Seda Harutyunyan
Coordinator, Facilities Projects & Services
(818) 677-4324
seda.harutyunyan@csun.edu

Business Services

Jonathan Navarro
Accounting Manager
(818) 677-6029
jonathan.navarro@csun.edu

Lusine Dayan
Accountant II
(818) 677-4175
lusine.dayan@csun.edu

Anita Kapil
Accountant I
(818) 677-6565
anita.kapil@csun.edu

Lynn Umzam
Technician, Accounts Payable
(818) 677-6033

Tamika Braud
Technician, Accounts Receivable
(818) 677-6575
tamika.braud@csun.edu

Britjette Mayfield
Cashier
(818) 677-3626
britjette.mayfield@csun.edu

Renise Weiss
Accountant I, Payroll
(818) 677-6030
renise.weiss@csun.edu

Commercial Services

Jeremy Hamlett
Manager, Commercial Services
(818) 677-2194
jeremy.hamlett@csun.edu

Facilities Maintenance

Emilio Fernandez
Assistant Director, Facilities and Maintenance

Vincent Mele
Supervisor, Facilities Maintenance
(818) 677-3627
vincent.mele@csun.edu

Allison Smith
Administrative Assistant, Facilities Maintenance
(818) 677-3627
allison.r.smith@csun.edu

Adam Kreuter
Facilities Maintenance Grounds Worker
(818) 677-3627
adam.kreuter@csun.edu

Rick Kaiser
Facilities Maintenance Plumber
(818) 677-3627
rick.kaiser@csun.edu

Ruben Cota
Facilities Maintenance Worker
(818) 677-3627
ruben.cota@csun.edu

Chris Slark
Facilities Maintenance Carpenter
(818) 677-3627
chris.slark@csun.edu

Marvin Morales
Facilities Maintenance Engineer, Electrical
(818) 677-3627
marvin.morales@csun.edu

Ryan Ballek
Facilities Maintenance Worker, Painter
(818) 677-3627
ryan.ballek@csun.edu

Michael Johnson
Facilities Maintenance Worker, HVAC
(818) 677-3627
michael.s.johnson@csun.edu

Jose Espino
Facilities Maintenance Worker, SRC
(818) 677-3627
jose.espino@csun.edu

Miguel Galindo
Facilities Maintenance Worker, SRC
(818) 677-3627
miguel.galindo@csun.edu

Human Resources

Kristen Pichler
Human Resources Officer
(818) 677-3849
kristen.pichler@csun.edu

Bernetta Johnson
Coordinator, Human Resources
(818) 677-5975
bernetta.johnson@csun.edu

Jenny Cai
Coordinator, Human Resources
(818) 677-5976
jenny.cai@csun.edu

Matt Eickhoff
Program Coordinator, Training and Development
(818) 677-2284
matthew.eickhoff@csun.edu

Marketing

Michael Niles
Marketing Manager
(818) 677-6023
michael.niles@csun.edu

James Matzen
Graphic Designer
(818) 677-5743
james.matzen@csun.edu

Jenny Soto
Marketing Supervisor
(818) 677-5658
jenny.soto@csun.edu

Steven Wein
Web Designer
(818) 677-5957
steven.wein@csun.edu

USU Events

Shanell Tyus
Manager, USU Events
(818) 677-4171
shanell.tyus@csun.edu

Audrey Martinez
Supervisor, USU Events
(818) 677-5058
audrey.martinez@csun.edu

Randy Sorensen
Events Supervisor, USU Events
(818) 677-6576
randy.sorensen@csun.edu

Operations

Samantha Liu
Coordinator, Operations Administration
(818) 677-2899
samantha.liu@csun.edu

Reservations and Event Services

Kristie Godfrey
Assistant Director, Operations
(818) 677-4173
kristie.godfrey@csun.edu

Janet Ohnishi
Event Planner
(818) 677-5167
janet.ohnishi@csun.edu

Leslie Andrews
Event Planner
(818) 677-5653
leslie.andrews@csun.edu

Raquel de Ruiz Molinar
USU Reservations Event Planner
(818) 677-3644
raquel.deruizmolinar@csun.edu

Ashley Simmons
Marketing and Business Analyst
(818) 677-5166
ashley.simmons@csun.edu

Thomas Sekayan
Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-6577
thomas.sekayan@csun.edu

Christopher Jensen
Technical Coordinator
(818) 677-5692
christopher.jensen@csun.edu

Resource Centers

Sarina Loeb
Coordinator, Pride Center and LGBTQ Initiatives
(818) 677-5977
sarina.loeb@csun.edu

Patrina Croisdale
Coordinator, Veterans Resource Center
(818) 677-4348
patrina.croisdale@csun.edu

Student Recreation Center

Michal Jankowski
Manager, Facility Operations
(818) 677-6270
michal.jankowski@csun.edu

Sandra Salute
Manager, Fitness and Wellness
(818) 677-5381
sandra.salute@csun.edu

Kaila Lavin
Manager, Membership and Aquatics
(818) 677-5649
kaila.lavin@csun.edu

Ryan Hairapetian
Coordinator, Aquatics
(818) 677-5804
ryan.hairapetian@csun.edu

Amanda Christianson
Coordinator, Fitness
(818) 677-5832
amanda.frick@csun.edu

Kristofer Newsome
Coordinator, Intramurals
(818) 677-5305
kristofer.newsome@csun.edu

Thomas Cunningham
Supervisor, Aquatics
(818) 677-5487
thomas.cunningham@csun.edu

Pero Akinbohun
Administrative Assistant
(818) 677-5478
pero.akinbohun.301@my.csun.edu

Technology Support Services

Alexander Gonzalez
Technology Support Services Manager
(818) 677-6022
agonzale@csun.edu

Brent Nelson
Technology Support Services Coordinator
(818) 677-7134
brent.nelson@csun.edu