USU

  • University Student Union

Staff

Management Staff

Debra L. HammondDebra L. Hammond
Executive Director

(818) 677-2390
debra.hammond@csun.edu

Debra Hammond has served as the Executive Director of the USU for over 20 years, beginning her tenure in November, 1993. She is responsible for the overall strategic direction and vision for the USU including serving as the executive secretary of the Board of Directors of our non-profit corporation. She also provides guidance and direction to the following major areas of the organization:  Finance and Business Services, Marketing and Programs, Operations and Services, Student Recreation Center, Human Resources, and Administration and Governance. Debra also serves as a part-time faculty member in the Michael D. Eisner College of Education in the Department of Educational Psychology and Counseling  (student services/college counseling program). Debra is passionate about the development of students and staff and is committed to creating spaces, facilities, programs, services and opportunities that enrich and enhance the lives of students. She is an advocate for deepening the connection between students and the CSUN campus in order to promote student success and persistence to graduation. Debra received her bachelor’s degree in sociology from Rutgers University and her master’s degree in educational administration from California State University, Los Angeles. Debra served as a past president of the Association of College Unions International (ACUI), which is the association that helps to develop college unions and community on college campuses throughout the United States and abroad.  In 2006, she received the Butts-Whiting Award which is bestowed upon those who have made significant and lasting impacts on the association and the profession.

Jimmy FrancisJimmy Francis
Associate Executive Director

(818) 677-2629
jimmy.francis@csun.edu

Jimmy Francis started with the University Student Union in February 2011, and has served as the Director, Student Recreation Center since October 2012. He provides leadership and direction for SRC Membership Services, Fitness and Wellness, Facility Operations, Intramurals and Aquatics. His passion is to help students achieve their educational goals while providing valuable employment experience, and healthy alternatives outside the classroom to help develop lifelong wellness habits. Jimmy earned his master of arts degree in Sports and Exercise Management from The Ohio State University and his bachelor of arts degree in Physical Education from Ohio Wesleyan University. 

Joe IlluminateJoseph C. Illuminate
Associate Director, USU Accounting & Finance

(818) 677-6492
joe.illuminate@csun.edu

Joseph Illuminate has served as the Associate Director, Finance & Business Services since February 2004. He provides leadership and direction for the USU Finance & Business Services department. Joseph is focused on being a steward of student fees to ensure there are sufficient resources to fund programs and services for students at the highest level. He earned his master’s degree in Public Administration and graduate certificate in Business Administration from California State University, Northridge. Joseph also holds a bachelor of science degree in Business Administration with a specialization in accounting from California State University, Los Angeles.  

Kristen Pichler

Kristen Pichler
Associate Director, Human Resources & Professional Development

(818) 677-3849
kristen.pichler@csun.edu

 

 

 

Freddie SanchezFreddie Sanchez
Associate Director, Marketing & Programs
(818) 677-7618
freddie.sanchez@csun.edu

 


Administration

Sharon Kinard
Manager, Administration and Assessment
(818) 677-6025
sharon.kinard@csun.edu

Jennifer Kim
Executive Administrative Analyst
(818) 677-2716
jennifer.kim.1@csun.edu

Kingson Leung
Coordinator, Assessment and Special Initiatives
(818) 677-5652
kingson.leung@csun.edu

Carol Nardini
Staff Assistant
(818) 677-6024
carol.nardini@csun.edu

Carrie Ward
Special Services Assignment, Board of Directors
(818) 677-6578
carrie.ward@csun.edu

USU Accounting & Finance

Jonathan Navarro
Accounting Manager
(818) 677-6029
jonathan.navarro@csun.edu

Tamika Braud
Accountant I, Accounts Receivables
(818) 677-6575
tamika.braud@csun.edu

Ali Sadri
Accountant I, Accounts Payable
(818) 677-6033
ali.sadri@csun.edu 

Anita Kapil
Accountant I
(818) 677-6565
anita.kapil@csun.edu

Renise Weiss
Accountant I, Payroll
(818) 677-6030
renise.weiss@csun.edu

Lusine Dayan
Accountant II
(818) 677-4175
lusine.dayan@csun.edu

Jennifer Orellana
Accounting Technician
(818) 677-3626
jennifer.orellana@csun.edu

 

Commercial Services

Jeremy Hamlett
Commercial Services Manager
(818) 677-2194
jeremy.hamlett@csun.edu

USU Events

Audrey Martinez
Manager, USU Events
(818) 677-5058
audrey.martinez@csun.edu

Pero Akinbohun
Events Supervisor
(818) 677-4171
pero.akinbohun@csun.edu

Xiomara Carranza
Events Logistics Supervisor
(818) 677-6576
xiomara.carranza@csun.edu

Facilities Maintenance

Dave Ross
Assistant Director, Facilities and Maintenance
(818) 677-6574
dave.ross@csun.edu

Vincent Mele
Facilities Maintenance Supervisor
(818) 677-3627
vincent.mele@csun.edu

Sherry Butler
Administrative Assistant, Facilities Maintenance
(818) 677-3627
sherry.butler@csun.edu

Jose Espino
Facilities Maintenance Worker, SRC
(818) 677-7223
jose.espino@csun.edu

Miguel Galindo
Facilities Maintenance Worker, SRC
(818) 677-7230
miguel.galindo@csun.edu

Tom Jenkins
Facilities Maintenance Worker
(818) 677-3627
tom.jenkins@csun.edu

Michael Johnson
Facilities Maintenance Worker, HVAC
(818) 677-3627
michael.s.johnson@csun.edu

Rick Kaiser
Facilities Maintenance Plumber
(818) 677-3627
rick.kaiser@csun.edu

Marvin Morales
Facilities Maintenance Engineer, Electrical
(818) 677-3627
marvin.morales@csun.edu

Chris Slark
Facilities Maintenance Carpenter
(818) 677-3627
chris.slark@csun.edu

Ryan Ballek
Facilities Maintenance Worker, Painter
(818) 677-3627
ryan.ballek@csun.edu

Alan Price
Groundsworker
(818) 677-3627
alan.price@csun.edu

Nelson Romero
Groundsworker
(818) 677-3627
nelson.romero@csun.edu

Human Resources

Jenny Aw
Coordinator, Human Resources
(818) 677-5976
jenny.cai@csun.edu

Lily Madrigal
Human Resources Coordinator
(818) 677-6027
lily.madrigal@csun.edu

Randy Sorensen
Training and Development Specialist
(818) 677-2284
randy.sorensen@csun.edu

Joanne Cowles
Human Resources Assistant
(818) 677-7615
joanne.cowles@csun.edu

Salvador Arroyo
Human Resources Support Assistant
(818) 677-5975
salvador.arroyo@csun.edu

Marketing

Michael Niles
Marketing Manager
(818) 677-6023
michael.niles@csun.edu

Kyle Hufnagel
Copywriter
(818) 677-6581
kyle.hufnagel@csun.edu

James Matzen
Graphic Designer
(818) 677-5743
james.matzen@csun.edu

Jenny Soto
Coordinator, Marketing
(818) 677-5658
jenny.soto@csun.edu

Steven Wein
Web Designer
(818) 677-5957
steven.wein@csun.edu

Troy Thornton
Marketing Supervisor
(818) 677-7612
troy.thornton@csun.edu

Ariel Mazariegos
Art Curator
(818) 677-2875
ariel.mazariegos@csun.edu

Administrative Operations

Samantha Liu
Manager, Administrative Operations and Projects
(818) 677-2899
samantha.liu@csun.edu

Charity Lavey
Coordinator, Administrative Operations
(818) 677-4324
charity.lavey@csun.edu

Reservations and Event Services

Christopher Jensen
Technical Coordinator
(818) 677-6592
christopher.jensen@csun.edu

Tim Rasmussen
Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-4940
timothy.rasmussen@csun.edu

Grace Haddad
Event Planner
(818) 677-5653
grace.haddad@csun.edu

Raquel de Ruiz Molinar
Event Planner
(818) 677-7046
raquel.deruizmolinar@csun.edu

Janet Ohnishi
Event Planner
(818) 677-5167
janet.ohnishi@csun.edu

Resource Centers

Patrina Croisdale
Coordinator, Veterans Resource Center
(818) 677-4348
patrina.croisdale@csun.edu

Sarina Loeb
Coordinator, Pride Center and LGBTQ Initiatives
(818) 677-5977
sarina.loeb@csun.edu

Amber Bartmus
Veterans Resource Center Supervisor
(818) 677-6129
amber.bartmus@csun.edu

Jesseanne Pope
Pride Center Supervisor
(818) 677-2861
jesseanne.pope@csun.edu

Student Recreation Center

Sandra Salute
Assistant Director, Fitness and Wellness
(818) 677-5381
sandra.salute@csun.edu

Kaila Lavin
Assistant Director, Facility Operations
(818) 677-5649
kaila.lavin@csun.edu

Angela Faissal
Manager, Wellness Center
(818) 677-7374
angela.faissal@csun.edu

Devin Barnett
Coordinator, Intramurals
(818) 677-5305
devin.barnett@csun.edu

Amanda Christianson
Coordinator, Fitness
(818) 677-5832
amanda.frick@csun.edu

Ryan Hairapetian
Coordinator, Aquatics
(818) 677-5804
ryan.hairapetian@csun.edu

Kyle Ginley
Coordinator, Membership
(818) 677-6270
kyle.ginley@csun.edu 

Alfredo Padilla
Coordinator, Fitness Training
(818) 677-5525
alfredo.padilla@csun.edu

Gabriel Rosales
Coordinator, Facility Operations
(818) 677-6211
gabriel.rosales@csun.edu

Isabel Ayala
Supervisor, Fitness
(818) 677-2650
isabel.ayala@csun.edu

Briell Huerta
Aquatics Supervisor
(818) 677-5487
briell.huerta@csun.edu

Technology Support Services

Alexander Gonzales
Manager, Technology Support Services
(818) 677-6022
agonzale@csun.edu

Nicholas Echeverri
(818) 677-6005
Coordinator, Computer Labs
nicholas.echeverri@csun.edu

Michael Jardinico
Technology Support Services Help Desk Coordinator
(818) 677-7134
michael.jardinico@csun.edu

Brent Nelson
Technology Support Services Coordinator
(818) 677-7017
brent.nelson@csun.edu