USU

  • University Student Union

Staff

Management Staff

Debra L. Hammond
Debra L. Hammond
Executive Director

(818) 677-2390
debra.hammond@csun.edu

Debra Hammond has served as the Executive Director of the USU for over 20 years, beginning her tenure in November, 1993. She is responsible for the overall strategic direction and vision for the USU including serving as the executive secretary of the Board of Directors of our non-profit corporation. She also provides guidance and direction to the following major areas of the organization:  Finance and Business Services, Marketing and Programs, Operations and Services, Student Recreation Center, Human Resources, and Administration and Governance. Debra also serves as a part-time faculty member in the Michael D. Eisner College of Education in the Department of Educational Psychology and Counseling  (student services/college counseling program). Debra is passionate about the development of students and staff and is committed to creating spaces, facilities, programs, services and opportunities that enrich and enhance the lives of students. She is an advocate for deepening the connection between students and the CSUN campus in order to promote student success and persistence to graduation. Debra received her bachelor’s degree in sociology from Rutgers University and her master’s degree in educational administration from California State University, Los Angeles. Debra served as a past president of the Association of College Unions International (ACUI), which is the association that helps to develop college unions and community on college campuses throughout the United States and abroad.  In 2006, she received the Butts-Whiting Award which is bestowed upon those who have made significant and lasting impacts on the association and the profession.

Joe IlluminateJoseph C. Illuminate
Associate Director, Finance & Business Services

(818) 677-6492
joe.illuminate@csun.edu

Joseph Illuminate has served as the Associate Director, Finance & Business Services since February 2004. He provides leadership and direction for the USU Finance & Business Services department. Joseph is focused on being a steward of student fees to ensure there are sufficient resources to fund programs and services for students at the highest level. He earned his master’s degree in Public Administration and graduate certificate in Business Administration from California State University, Northridge. Joseph also holds a bachelor of science degree in Business Administration with a specialization in accounting from California State University, Los Angeles. 

Shannon Krajewski

Shannon M. Krajewski
Associate Director, Marketing & Programs

(818) 677-6494
shannon.krajewski@csun.edu

Shannon Krajewski has served as the Associate Director of Marketing and Programs since December 2007. She provides leadership and direction for USU Events, Marketing, Pride Center, Veterans Resource Center, Commercial Services, Games Room, Sunny Days Camp and the training and development of the Board of Directors. Throughout her career in student affairs, Shannon has focused on her passion for developing student leaders and helping them to discover and leverage their natural strengths. Shannon earned her master’s degree in Education from Ohio University where she studied College Student Personnel while working as a graduate associate in the Baker Student Center.  

Jimmy FrancisJimmy Francis
Director, Student Recreation Center

(818) 677-2629
jimmy.francis@csun.edu

Jimmy Francis started with the University Student Union in February 2011, and has served as the Director, Student Recreation Center since October 2012. He provides leadership and direction for SRC Membership Services, Fitness and Wellness, Facility Operations, Intramurals and Aquatics. His passion is to help students achieve their educational goals while providing valuable employment experience, and healthy alternatives outside the classroom to help develop lifelong wellness habits. Jimmy earned his master of arts degree in Sports and Exercise Management from The Ohio State University and his bachelor of arts degree in Physical Education from Ohio Wesleyan University. 

Scott SchornScottie Schorn
Associate Director, Operations and Services

(818) 677-6579
scott.schorn@csun.edu


Administration

Sharon Kinard
Manager, Administration and Communications
(818) 677-6025
sharon.kinard@csun.edu

Ani Avetisyan
Special Assistant, Administration
(818) 677-2716

Kingson Leung
Coordinator, Special Initiatives
(818) 677-5652
kingson.leung@csun.edu

Carol Nardini
Administrative Assistant to Executive Director
(818) 677-6024
carol.nardini@csun.edu

Carrie Ward
Special Services Assignment, Board of Directors
(818) 677-6578
carrie.ward@csun.edu

Business Services

Jonathan Navarro
Accounting Manager
(818) 677-6029
jonathan.navarro@csun.edu

Tamika Braud
Technician, Accounts Receivable
(818) 677-6575
tamika.braud@csun.edu

Lusine Dayan
Accountant II
(818) 677-4175
lusine.dayan@csun.edu

Anita Kapil
Accountant I
(818) 677-6565
anita.kapil@csun.edu

Britjette Mayfield
Cashier
(818) 677-3626
britjette.mayfield@csun.edu

Lynn Umzam
Technician, Accounts Payable
(818) 677-6033

Renise Weiss
Accountant I, Payroll
(818) 677-6030
renise.weiss@csun.edu

Commercial Services

Jeremy Hamlett
Manager, Commercial Services
(818) 677-2194
jeremy.hamlett@csun.edu

USU Events

Shanell Tyus
Manager, USU Events
(818) 677-4171
shanell.tyus@csun.edu

Audrey Martinez
Supervisor, USU Events
(818) 677-5058
audrey.martinez@csun.edu

Randy Sorensen
Events Supervisor, USU Events
(818) 677-6576
randy.sorensen@csun.edu

Joaquin Benavente
Event Logistics Supervisor
(818) 677-4306
joaquin.benavente@csun.edu

Sherry Butler
Event Logistics Assistant
(818) 677-4832
sherry.butler@csun.edu

Facilities Maintenance

Emilio Fernandez
Assistant Director, Facilities and Maintenance
(818) 677-6574

Jose Espino
Facilities Maintenance Worker, SRC
(818) 677-3627
jose.espino@csun.edu

Michael Johnson
Facilities Maintenance Worker, HVAC
(818) 677-3627
michael.s.johnson@csun.edu

Rick Kaiser
Facilities Maintenance Plumber
(818) 677-3627
rick.kaiser@csun.edu

Vincent Mele
Supervisor, Facilities Maintenance
(818) 677-3627
vincent.mele@csun.edu

Marvin Morales
Facilities Maintenance Engineer, Electrical
(818) 677-3627
marvin.morales@csun.edu

Chris Slark
Facilities Maintenance Carpenter
(818) 677-3627
chris.slark@csun.edu

Allison Smith
Administrative Assistant, Facilities Maintenance
(818) 677-3627

Ryan Ballek
Facilities Maintenance Worker, Painter
(818) 677-3627
ryan.ballek@csun.edu

Ruben Cota
Facilities Maintenance Worker
(818) 677-3627
ruben.cota@csun.edu

Miguel Galindo
Facilities Maintenance Worker, SRC
(818) 677-3627
miguel.galindo@csun.edu

Alan Price
Facilities Maintenance Grounds Worker
(818) 677-3627
alan.price@csun.edu

Human Resources

Kristen Pichler
Human Resources and Professional Development Officer
(818) 677-3849
kristen.pichler@csun.edu

Jenny Aw
Coordinator, Human Resources
(818) 677-5976
jenny.cai@csun.edu

Matt Eickhoff
Program Coordinator, Training and Development
(818) 677-2284
matthew.eickhoff@csun.edu

Peruza Gevorgyan
Coordinator, Human Resources
(818) 677-6027

Bernetta Johnson
Coordinator, Human Resources
(818) 677-5975
bernetta.johnson@csun.edu

Joanne Cowles
Human Resources Assistant
(818) 677-6027
joanne.cowles@csun.edu

Marketing

Michael Niles
Manager, Marketing
(818) 677-6023
michael.niles@csun.edu

Kyle Hufnagel
Copywriter
(818) 677-6581
kyle.hufnagel@csun.edu

James Matzen
Graphic Designer
(818) 677-5743
james.matzen@csun.edu

Jenny Soto
Coordinator, Marketing
(818) 677-5658
jenny.soto@csun.edu

Steven Wein
Web Designer
(818) 677-5957
steven.wein@csun.edu

Monica Welch
Marketing Supervisor
(818) 677-7612
monica.welch@csun.edu

Troy Thornton
Marketing Assistant
(818) 677-2875
troy.thornton@csun.edu

Operations

Samantha Liu
Manager, Administration Operations
(818) 677-2899
samantha.liu@csun.edu

Charity Lavey
Coordinator, Administration Operations
(818) 677-4324
charity.lavey@csun.edu

Kenneth Villanueva
Special Projects Assistant
(818) 677-4392
john.villanueva@csun.edu

Reservations and Event Services

Kristie Godfrey De Leon
Assistant Director, Operations
(818) 677-4173
kristie.godfrey@csun.edu

Leslie Andrews
Event Planner
(818) 677-5653
leslie.andrews@csun.edu

Christopher Jensen
Technical Coordinator
(818) 677-5692
christopher.jensen@csun.edu

Raquel de Ruiz Molinar
USU Reservations Event Planner
(818) 677-3644
raquel.deruizmolinar@csun.edu

Janet Ohnishi
Event Planner
(818) 677-5167
janet.ohnishi@csun.edu

Akin Fayehun
Audio Visual Technician Assistant
akintayo.fayehun@csun.edu

Tim Rasmussen
Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-4940
timothy.rasmussen@csun.edu

Resource Centers

Freddie Sanchez
Assistant Director, Resource Centers
(818) 677-7618
freddie.sanchez@csun.edu

Patrina Croisdale
Coordinator, Veterans Resource Center
(818) 677-4348
patrina.croisdale@csun.edu

Sarina Loeb
Coordinator, Pride Center and LGBTQ Initiatives
(818) 677-5977
sarina.loeb@csun.edu

Student Recreation Center

Sandra Salute
Assistant Director, Fitness and Wellness
(818) 677-5381
sandra.salute@csun.edu

Kaila Lavin
Assistant Director, Facility Operations
(818) 677-5649
kaila.lavin@csun.edu

Tiffany Shanks
Manager, Wellness Center
(818) 677-7374
tiffany.shanks@csun.edu

Ryan Hairapetian
Coordinator, Aquatics
(818) 677-5804
ryan.hairapetian@csun.edu

Amanda Christianson
Coordinator, Fitness
(818) 677-5832
amanda.frick@csun.edu

Jorge Lopez
Coordinator, Membership
(818) 677-6270
jorge.lopez@csun.edu

Devin Barnett
Coordinator, Intramurals
(818) 677-5305
devin.barnett@csun.edu

Peter Christianson
Boxing Supervisor
(818) 677-5533
peter.christianson@csun.edu

Christopher Van Nest
Aquatics Supervisor
(818) 677-5487
christopher.vannest@csun.edu

Pero Akinbohun
Administrative Assistant
(818) 677-5478
pero.akinbohun@csun.edu

Technology Support Services

Alexander Gonzales
Technology Support Services Manager
(818) 677-6022
agonzale@csun.edu

Nicholas Echeverri
(818) 677-6005
Coordinator, Computer Labs
nicholas.echeverri@csun.edu

Michael Jardinico
Coordinator, Technology Support Services Help Desk
(818) 677-7134
michael.jardinico@csun.edu

Brent Nelson
Technology Support Services Coordinator
(818) 677-7017
brent.nelson@csun.edu