Queer Studies

Scholarships and Awards

Wong Sayaman Equality Award - $1000 award

The Wong–Sayaman Equality Award  is offered through the Queer Studies Program at California State University, Northridge.

Ronora Sayaman, a CSUN alumnus working in the private sector, began the Wong-Sayaman Equality Award for CSUN students. Her vision is to provide support to students from any academic major who are committed to a leadership role in Queer, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender communities.  The award is given out at the Queer Studies Spring Lecture Series which usually occurs in March or April. 

Please watch this page for the announcement and application for the 2014 awards.

2010 Recipients

  • Erik Mata - $1000 scholarship
    for his work on AIDS Awareness Day and LGBT activism in the Chicano/a community
  • Kevin Zemlicka - $1000 scholarship
    for his work on the Positive Space - Ally project

2011 Recipients

  • John Anderson - $1000 scholarship
  • Missy Dominguez - $1000 scholarship
  • Karlee Johnson - $1000 scholarship
    for efforts on campus in organizing a candlelight vigil in response to teen suicides, for leadership in advocating for a LGBT Center at CSUN, and for work that displayed the leadership and visionary qualities that the award supports

2013 Recipients

  • Karlee Johnson - $1000 scholarship

2014 Recipients

  • Megan Willoughby - $1000 scholarship

Wong Sayaman Equality Award Recipients