USU

  • University Student Union

Staff

Management Staff

Debra L. Hammond

Debra L. Hammond
Executive Director

(818) 677-2390
debra.hammond@csun.edu

Debra L. Hammond has more than 39 years of experience in higher education. She received a bachelor’s degree in sociology from Rutgers University and a master’s degree in educational administration from California State University, Los Angeles. She currently serves as the Executive Director of the University Student Union (USU) at California State University, Northridge (CSUN). The USU is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization governed primarily by students. She opened a $60 million Student Recreation Center as well as a Pride (LGBTQ) Center, a Veterans Resource Center, and a state-of-the-art Oasis Wellness Center in 2013 and is currently in the process of planning a $130 million renovation/new construction project for the USU. She also serves as a faculty member in the Michael D. Eisner College of Education. She teaches in the college counseling student services program where she received the Outstanding Professor of the Year Award in 2012. For her body of work, the California State University (CSU) selected Debra from among the CSU’s 23 campuses as its outstanding staff member of 2016. The Wang Family Excellence Award is the highest award presented to an administrator by the CSU. Debra also received the San Fernando Valley Business Journal’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2017 for her accomplishments as a woman in business.  

Tari Hunter

Tari Hunter
Associate Executive Director, Equity, Programs and Leadership

(818) 677-5652
tari.hunter@csun.edu

Joseph C. Illuminate

Joseph C. Illuminate
Associate Director, Accounting & Finance

(818) 677-6492
joe.illuminate@csun.edu

Joseph Illuminate has served as the Associate Director, Finance & Business Services since February 2004. He provides leadership and direction for the USU Finance & Business Services department. Joseph is focused on being a steward of student fees to ensure there are sufficient resources to fund programs and services for students at the highest level. He earned his master’s degree in Public Administration and graduate certificate in Business Administration from California State University, Northridge. Joseph also holds a bachelor of science degree in Business Administration with a specialization in accounting from California State University, Los Angeles.

Sharon S. Kinard

Sharon S. Kinard
Associate Director, Administration & Communications

(818) 677-6025
sharon.kinard@csun.edu

Sharon S. Kinard started her employment with the University Student Union in 1999, serving in several progressively responsible positions prior to stepping into her current role as associate director in October 2020. A former news reporter with the Los Angeles Daily News who covered city and county governments and education, Sharon provides solid news, writing and editing experience. She has oversight of the Department of Administration, Marketing Department, Department of Technology Support Services and Assessment. 

A former part-time co-instructor of assessment for CSUN’s Michael D. Eisner College of Education in its college counseling/student services graduate program, Sharon earned a master’s degree in Business Administration from the University of Phoenix and a bachelor’s degree in journalism (English minor) from San Diego State University. She also is a facilitator in Strengths-Based Education with Gallup Inc.

Sharon is passionate about measuring student success efforts, programs and services. She enjoys writing, hiking and mentoring, as well as thought-provoking books, films, family and good friends. 

Samantha Liu

Samantha Liu
Associate Director, Operations & Services

(818) 677-2899
samantha.liu@csun.edu

Samantha Liu started her employment as a student assistant with the University Student Union in January 2007 — her second semester at CSUN. She since has served in a variety of roles and currently serves as the Associate Director, Operations & Services. She oversees the Operations & Facilities Planning, Facilities Maintenance and Reservations & Event Services departments. She is a double home-grown CSUN graduate with a master’s degree in Public Administration with an emphasis in Public Sector Management & Leadership and her undergraduate degree in Public Health Education.

 

Kristen Pichler

Kristen Pichler
Associate Director, Human Resources & Professional Development

(818) 677-3849
kristen.pichler@csun.edu

Kristen Pichler, or KP as she’s more commonly known, started her employment with the University Student Union in 1985. Since then, she’s served in a variety of progressively responsible positions prior to stepping into her current role as the Associate Director, Human Resources & Professional Development in 2000, leading HR functions for the USU’s 450 employees and 40 volunteers. KP fosters a legal, safe, and fair employment environment, and is a champion of the student employment experience, encouraging students to acquire knowledge, skills, habits and attitudes that will help them succeed at work both now and post-graduation. She is a devoted Matador, holding both a master’s degree in Public Administration and a bachelor’s degree in English, from California State University, Northridge.


Accounting & Finance

Tamika Braud
Accountant I, Accounts Receivables
(818) 677-6575
tamika.braud@csun.edu

Jesse Corona
Accountant I — Concur Specialist
(818) 677-3626
jesse.corona  

Lusine Dayan
Manager, Accounting
(818) 677-4175
lusine.dayan@csun.edu

Marine Hakobyan
Accountant II
(818) 677-5285
marine.hakobyan@csun.edu

Anita Kapil
Accountant II
(818) 677-6565
anita.kapil@csun.edu 

Ali Sadri
Accountant II
ali.sadri@csun.edu

Evelyn Salazar-Dailo
Accountant I — Accounts Payable Specialist
(818) 677-6033
evelyn.salazar-dailo@csun.edu

Theresa Samora
Accountant I — Payroll
(818) 677-6030
theresa.samora@csun.edu

 

Administration and Assessment

Shelley Sakoda
Manager, Administration and Assessment
(818) 677-6024
shelley.sakoda@csun.edu

Alejandra Aparicio
Assessment Coordinator
(818) 677-7014
alejandra.aparicio@csun.edu

Jennifer Kim
Executive Administrative Analyst
(818) 677-2716
jennifer.kim.1@csun.edu

Ruth Vasquez
Assessment Assistant
(818) 677-6019
ruth.vasquez@csun.edu

Board of Directors (BOD)

Emery Hernandez
Board of Directors (BOD) Administrative Support Coordinator 
(818) 677-4392
emery.hernandez@csun.edu

Equity & Diversity Initiatives

Natalie Johnson
Manager, Equity & Diversity Initiatives
(818) 677-6703
natalie.johnson@csun.edu

Janessa Reyes
Equity & Diversity Initiatives Coordinator
(818) 677-6494
janessa.reyes@csun.edu

DREAM Center

Irvin Rendon
DREAM Center Supervisor
(818) 677-5382
irvin.rendon@csun.edu

Karen Castillo Castillo
DREAM Center Operations Supervisor
(818) 677-7069
karen.castillo-castillo@csun.edu

Facilities Maintenance

Vincent Mele
Assistant Director, Facilities & Maintenance
(818) 677-3627
vincent.mele@csun.edu

Ana Dattoo
Administrative Assistant
(818) 677-3627
ana.dattoo@csun.edu

Jose Espino
Facilities Maintenance Worker
(818) 677-7223
jose.espino@csun.edu

Miguel Galindo
Facilities Maintenance Worker
(818) 677-7230
miguel.galindo@csun.edu

Michael Johnson
Engineer, HVAC
(818) 677-3627
michael.s.johnson@csun.edu

Rick Kaiser
Facilities Maintenance Plumber
(818) 677-3627
rick.kaiser@csun.edu

Marvin Morales
Engineer, Electrical
(818) 677-3627
marvin.morales@csun.edu

Chris Slark
Facilities Maintenance Carpenter
(818) 677-3627
chris.slark@csun.edu

Ryan Ballek
Facilities Maintenance Worker — Painter
(818) 677-3627
ryan.ballek@csun.edu

Alan Price
Lead Groundsworker
(818) 677-3627
alan.price@csun.edu

Nelson Romero
Groundsworker
(818) 677-3627
nelson.romero@csun.edu

HEAL Project

Angelouise Legaspi
HEAL Project Coordinator
(818) 677-4171
angelouise.legaspi@csun.edu

Human Resources

Jenny Aw
Manager, Human Resources
(818) 677-5976
jenny.cai@csun.edu

Christine Aroutounians
Training & Development Coordinator
(818) 677-6027
christine.aroutounians@csun.edu

Christina Leon
Human Resources Specialist, Student Employment
(818) 677-7615
christina.leon@csun.edu

Wendy Ponce
Human Resources Recruiter
(818) 677-5332
wendy.ponce@csun.edu

Shaina Olmedo
Human Resources Assistant
(818) 677-6027
shaina.olmedo@csun.edu

Marketing

Steven Wein
Manager, Marketing
(818) 677-5957
steven.wein@csun.edu

James Matzen
Graphic Designer
(818) 677-5743
james.matzen@csun.edu

Malahat Zhobin
Interim Marketing Coordinator
(818) 677-5658
malahat.zhobin@csun.edu

Gabbie Puzon
Marketing Supervisor
(818) 677-7612
aliciagabrielle.puzon@csun.edu

Jennifer Sanchez
Marketing Support Assistant
(818) 677-2875
jennifer.j.sanchez@csun.edu

Briana Walden
Multimedia Support Coordinator
(818) 677-2875
briana.walden@csun.edu

 

Pride Center

Martel Okonji
Manager, Pride Center
(818) 677-2861
martel.okonji@csun.edu 

Ren Stone
Pride Center Supervisor
(818) 677-6332
ren.stone@csun.edu

Programs

Audrey Martinez
Assistant Director, Programs & Leadership
(818) 677-5058
audrey.martinez@csun.edu

Gabriel Hernandez
Manager, Programs
(818) 677-6129
gabriel.hernandez@csun.edu

Sherry Butler
Programs Supervisor
sherry.butler@csun.edu

Luis Hernandez
Programs Logistics Supervisor
luis.d.hernandez@csun.edu

S. Caroline Ponce
USU Co-Sponsorships & Leadership Support Coordinator
caroline.ponce@csun.edu

Reservations and Event Services

Christopher Jensen
Technical Coordinator
(818) 677-6592
christopher.jensen@csun.edu

Raquel de Ruiz Molinar
Reservation & Event Services Coordinator
(818) 677-7046
raquel.deruizmolinar@csun.edu

Tim Rasmussen
Building Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-4940
timothy.rasmussen@csun.edu

Grace Haddad
Reservations Planner
(818) 677-5653
grace.haddad@csun.edu

Rachel Hood
Reservations Planner
(818) 677-5167
rachel.hood@csun.edu

Erick Rebolledo
Operations Supervisor
(818) 677-4324
 

Bradley Zumbro
Production Supervisor
(818) 677-0504
bradley.zumbro@csun.edu

Resource Centers

Sarina Loeb
Assistant Director, Resource Centers
(818) 677-5977
sarina.loeb@csun.edu

Raine Hernandez
Resource Center Supervisor
alyssa.hernandez@csun.edu

Student Recreation Center

Amanda Christianson
Acting Co-Director, Fitness and Wellness
(818) 677-5832
amanda.christianson@csun.edu

Jeremy Hamlett
Acting Co-Director, Recreation Programs
(818) 677-2194
jeremy.hamlett@csun.edu

Alfredo Padilla
Acting Assistant Director, Fitness
(818) 677-5525
alfredo.padilla@csun.edu

Condor
Manager, Wellness Center
(818) 677-7374
condor@csun.edu

Angela Gattoni
Manager, Facility Operations and Membership Services
(818) 677-6270
angela.gattoni@csun.edu

Ryan Hairapetian
Manager, Aquatics
(818) 677-5804
ryan.hairapetian@csun.edu

Jasslean Bracamontes
Fitness Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-2650
jasslean.bracamontes@csun.edu

Rolando Cabral
Facility Operations Coordinator
(818) 677-5478
rolando.cabral@csun.edu

Demetrius Scott
Intramural Sports & Day Camp Coordinator
(818) 677-5480
demetrius.scott@csun.edu

Mary Chavez
Aquatics Supervisor
(818) 677-8800
mary.chavez@csun.edu

Tarlo Romero
Membership Services & SRC Administration Supervisor
(818) 677-4178
tarlo.romero@csun.edu

Technology Support Services

Alexander Gonzales
Manager, Technology Support Services
(818) 677-6022
agonzale@csun.edu

Michael Jardinico
TSS Help Desk Coordinator
(818) 677-7134
michael.jardinico@csun.edu

Brent Nelson
Technology Support Services Coordinator
(818) 677-7017
brent.nelson@csun.edu

Veterans Resource Center

Tevin Villalba
Veterans Resource Center Operations Supervisor
vrcbiz@csun.edu