Community Engagement

Contact Your College SOLAR Coordinator to Identify Your Course as Community-based (Service) Learning

Are you teaching a course with a Service Learning component this academic year?

Please follow the steps below before contacting your College SOLAR Coordinator to request your course be appropriately tagged as Community-based (Service) Learning.

1. As part of a spring pilot, we are asking our Spring 2021 community-based (service) learning faculty to complete the online CSU Community-Engaged Learning Tool form (you must first be logged into S4 to access this form). In addition, there is a 5-minute video which explains the process in detail. Please complete the form between now and January 29, 2021.

While this is a pilot, we expect to implement this fully next academic year.

2. In order for your students to have access to your course in the (S4) Service Learning Database and submit the required risk management forms, your course must first be identified and tagged as Community-based (Service) Learning in SOLAR.  

Please provide your College SOLAR Coordinator the following course information:

  • Term:
  • Instructors Name:
  • Subject/Number & Section (ex. KIN 478 Sec 2):
  • 5 Digit Class Number (ex. 13527) :

 

             College SOLAR Coordinators

AMC (Arts, Media, and Communication) Rachel Valiensi rachel.valiensi@csun.edu

CJS Larry Oconnor larry.oconnor@ csun.edu

CSBS Justine Cramsey justine.cramsey@csun.edu

DNCBE Carissa Rhoads  carissa.rhoads@csun.edu 

ECS (Engineering and Computer Science) Ani Stepanyan ani.stepanyan@csun.edu

EDU (Education) Maria King maria.king@ csun.edu

FC-Univ 100 Kelly Kroeker kelly.kroeker@csun.edu

HHD (Health and Human Development) Arpine Khacheryan arpine.khacheryan@csun.edu

HUM (Humanities) Evelyn S. Garcia evelyn.s.garcia@csun.edu

PSYCH Leta Chow leta.chow@ csun.edu

SBS (Social and Behavioral Sciences) Justine Cramsey justine.cramsey@csun.edu

SCM (Science and Mathematics) Sonia Martinez migdonia.martinez@csun.edu

Tseng College Amy Santiago amy.santiago@csun.edu & Michelle Barnett michelle.barnett@csun.edu