University Travel

University Travel

Travel Update

Repeal of AB 1887 - Travel Ban as of September 14, 2023

 On September 13, 2023, Governor Newsom signed Senate Bill 447, which repeals Assembly Bill 1887, the travel ban. Effective immediately, state funds may be used for travel to all states, for travel beginning September 14, 2023 or later. Non-state funds must be used for travel that began prior to the repeal.


COVID-19 Modification of Travel Restrictions as of June 1, 2021

See Chancellor's Office Memo - Action: Modified Systemwide Travel Restrictions

The Chancellor's Office has established a webpage where all communications, information, and resources can be found in one location. This site is available and updated on a regular basis as needed. The direct link is as follows:

Additional information about novel coronavirus and its prevention is available at this link:


Need Help?

For information on travel policy contact the Travel Desk at (818) 677-2945.

For eTravel technical support, create a SOLAR Financials General Inquiry TOPdesk Request or email

About the University Travel Office

The University Travel Office is responsible for accurate and timely reimbursements of travel expenses incurred by authorized individuals traveling on official University business. All authorized individuals traveling on official University business should incur the lowest reasonable travel expenses. All University travel policies are expected to be followed when traveling on official University business.

Close cooperation between the University departments and the University departments and the University Travel Office is essential to ensure timely reimbursements and the University's compliance with state regulations.