TUC Sponsored Programs

REMINDERS: Current list of banned states, TUC travel guidelines, and helpful travel guides

October 3, 2022

Good afternoon, Principal Investigators and Research Administrators:

As of September 2022, the California Attorney General’s Office has updated the list of states where state funded and state-sponsored travel may not be used for travel per California Assembly Bill (AB) No. 1887. Though this applies only to travel funded by the State of California, travelers (CSU employees, officers, or members, as well as non-employee travelers, including students) who are going to any banned state will still need to complete Request for Approval of Travel to Prohibited States Under Assembly Bill 1887 and Travel Approval Form to get an exemption. The form approved by the Provost Office must be attached to your travel expense report to be allowed for reimbursement.

We have prepared a guide that will hopefully help you navigate through the travel approval procedure for your sponsored project.

We recommend all travelers to read the TUC travel guidelines prior to the business trip. It is the responsibility of the traveler to ensure that the travel guidelines are followed. However, a quick reference guide of the TUC travel guidelines is also available if you need a quick review on the current travel guidelines

Below is an updated list of states with travel ban in effect:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • West Virginia

Please let us know if you have any questions.


Thank you,

Grace Slavik, Director, Sponsored Programs Administration