Social work

Advisory Board

CSUN MSW Advisory Board Mission, Membership, and Goals

The mission of the CSUN MSW Advisory Board is to provide leadership and support to the CSUN Department of Social Work in its continuing efforts to educate students in ways that meet the needs of students and the surrounding communities.
The CSUN MSW Advisory Board ensures that its membership consists of current students, alumni, faculty, and community social workers who bring diverse knowledge and skills to CSUN's MSW Program to promote guidance and growth.

The CSUN Advisory Board's goals are to:

  • mentor and empower current students;
  • assist in fundraising;
  • leverage resources for students; and
  • participate in civic engagement activities that are inclusive of our students, alumni, and the local communities


Michele Bartlett, LCSW

Lecturer for CSUN Departments of Social Work & Sociology and CSUN MSW Alumna, Advisory Board President 

Leo Clark, LCSW

Residential Placement Consultant for Ventura County Office of Education and CSUN MSW Alumnus 

S. Jolene Hui, LCSW

Director of Membership, National Association of Social Workers - California Chapter

Michelle Lewis

CSUN MSW Field Instructor and Placement Coordinator 

Lyn Munro, LCSW

Retired Hathaway Children and Family Services CEO

Active member of NASW-CA, Former Vice President of Membership for NASW-CA 

Patrick Muro

Department of Public Social Services, CSUN MSW Alumnus

Peggy Polinsky, MSW, Ph.D.

Lecturer (retired), CSUN Department of Sociology, Social Welfare Option 

Martha Waite, LCSW

VA GLAHS Sepulveda Ambulatory Care and Community Living Center

Joni Diamond, MSW, LCSW

Active member of NASW-CA, Former Vice President of Membership for NASW-CA

Julie Gould, LCSW

CSUN MSW Mental Health Program Coordinator/CalSWEC Title IV-E Project Coordinator 

Yan Searcy

Dean of CSUN College of Social and Behavioral Sciences 

Alejandra Castro

Current CSUN MSW Student & CSUN Social Work Society President 

David Contreras

Current CSUN MSW student 

Melissa Johnson

Current CSUN MSW student 

Matthew Page

Current CSUN MSW Student