Department of Mathematics

Graduate Reception

Class of 2022



Friday, May 20 2:00 – 4:30pm

Light lunch and refreshments will be served

College of Science and Mathematics



PROGRAM

LUNCH

2:00 - 3:30pm

The Orchard Conference Center

AWARD CEREMONY

3:30 - 4:30pm

The Orchard Conference Center

Mary Rosen

Associate Chair, Department of Mathematics Serving as Master of Ceremonies

Opening Remarks by Rabia Djellouli

Chair, Department of Mathematics

David Gray

Associate Dean, College of Science and Mathematics

Presentation of Awards *

Concluding Remarks by Rabia Djellouli

*

Department Student Award Committee:

Alberto Candel, Francois Domagni, Natalie Howe, Daniel Katz, Mary Rosen, and Csaba Toth (Chair)

College Award Committee:

Cristian Ruiz Rueda, *Biology*Mads P.S. Andersen, *Chemistry & Biochemistry*Scott Hauswirth, *Geological Sciences*Csaba Toth, *Mathematics*Kah Chun Lau, *Physics & Astronomy*

AWARDS

COLLEGE AWARDS

Presented by Dr. David Gray, Associate Dean

GILBERT AND JACKI CISNEROS FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP IN SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS

Ana Cachu

DONALD E. BIANCHI OUTSTANDING UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT AWARD

Noah Trist

Mack I. Johnson Research Award for Outstanding GRADUATE STUDENT IN THE COLLEGE OF SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS Allison Wong

DEPARTMENT AWARDS

UNDERGRADUATE

OUTSTANDING BEGINNING STUDENT AWARDS

Izzy Capistrant

Presented by Dr. Carol Shubin, Professor

Karine Grigorian

Presented by Gregory Imhoff, Lecturer

OUTSTANDING MATHEMATICS MAJOR AWARDS

Grant Fisher

Presented by Dr. Bernardo Abrego, Professor

Khoa Phan

Presented by Dr. Jerry Rosen, Professor

THE ABEL SCHOLARSHIP

Christian Villalobos

Presented by Dr. Terry Fuller, Associate Professor

F. LYNWOOD WREN SCHOLARSHIP

Brace Helton

Presented by Dr. Jing Li, Associate Professor

RAMANUJAN RESEARCH SCHOLARSHIP

Adeebur Rahman

Presented by Dr. Rabia Djellouli, Professor

GRADUATING TUTORS

Evan Cheung Ana Saavedra

Monica Diaz Stephanie Topete

Camila Garcia Noah Trist

Sona Pogosyan Rutvik Vachhani Diego Rico Brandon Zarrabal

Presented by Andrea Nemeth, MTC Associate Director

OUTSTANDING **G**RADUATING **S**ENIOR **A**WARDS

Beck Saunders

Presented by Dr. Alexander Alekseenko, Professor

Noah Trist

Presented by Dr. Vladislav Panferov, Associate Professor

GRADUATE

OUTSTANDING TEACHING ASSOCIATE AWARDS

Isnayni Hadi

Presented by Dr. Alberto Candel, Professor

Edward Morales

Presented by Dr. Mary Rosen, Professor

OUTSTANDING GRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS

Isnavni Hadi

Presented by Dr. Terry Fuller, Associate Professor

Rimma Haemaelaeinen

Presented by Dr. Silvia Fernandez, Professor

Yeonjoo Lee

Presented by Dr. Alberto Candel, Professor

Giuliano Piga

Presented by Dr. Ali Al-Sharadgah, Associate Professor

Daniel Sarian

Presented by Dr. Jerry Rosen, Professor

Allison Wong

Presented by Dr. Daniel Katz, Associate Professor

UNDERGRADUATE AND GRADUATE

EFREM OSTROW MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIPS

Wael Nasser Michael Ward

Ibrahim Wardan

Presented by Dr. Rabia Djellouli, Professor

EXCELLENCE IN SCIENCE SCHOLARSHIPS

William Custard

Presented by Dr. Alexander Alekseenko, Professor

Yeonjoo Lee

Presented by Dr. Ali Al-Sharadgah, Associate Professor

Edward Morales

Presented by Dr. Jason Lo, Assistant Professor

Michael Ward

Presented by Dr. Daniel Katz, Associate Professor

Allison Wong

Presented by Dr. Jason Lo, Assistant Professor

CLASS OF 2022

MASTER OF MATHEMATICS (MS)

Karine Bagdasaryan Armenuhi Barakezyan Julian Corpeno Amy Grandilli Isnayni Hadi Rimma Haemaelaeinen Justin Horowitz Reza Janjani Kiarash Jannati Joshua Kim Yeonjoo Lee **Edward Morales** Poonam Ramchandra Nair Thomas Nguyen Giuliano Piga Shafaq Qazi **Daniel Sarian** Krysten Schmidt Andre Shakhbandaryan Cristian Villatoro Allison Wong Liyuan Zhu

BACHELOR OF MATHEMATICS (BA)

Richard Alcala **Shant Aramian** Jesus Banuelos Helani Barakat Liz Belknap **Sydney Brass** Joshua Cabal Stephanie Carrillo Michael Castillo Oscar Cruz **Dulce Diaz** Jamaro English Quetzali Garcia-Cuamea Nicholas Gardner Luis Gomez Cassandra Gonzalez Alejandro Gutierrez Nichole Landaverde Leon Landrum Mark Miller Zhanna Mirzoyan **Erick Morales Scott Mundy** Kennah Ott Suman Paul Zadrac Rueda

Maria Salazar

Pranucheog Savathasuk
Gary Solano Espinoza
Tyler Teramae
David Veronica
Brandon Zarrabal-Mendoza
Regina Zuniga

BACHELOR OF MATHEMATICS (BS)

Farah Ahmed Christopher Albright Jocelyn Angel Joshua Arechiga Nicolas Arenas Rivera Nathanel Avshalom Ovsanna Baghdishyan James Baierski Mariajose Corral **Gerry Cruz** Elizabeth Duran Taelyr Emi Ariunbayar Erdenee Abdullah Faridah **Robert Fuentes** Jonathon Hernandez Stephanie Hernandez Amber Kightlinger Brian Lai

Cristian Leon Jose Llamas Leo Jacinto Magtibay Parham Malekahmadi Marguerite Mourad Monica Navarro Harry Nazaryan Tien Nguyen Bhavini Parbhu Arin Parsanian **Steve Reyes** George Reznikov **Beck Saunders** Joshua Scharf Mortadha Shah Seung Hwan Shin Salvador Tamayo Noah Trist Chance Vandergeugten

Spencer Zepeda

GLOSSARY

CISNEROS FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP

awarded to a full-time freshman in good standing enrolled in a degree program in the College of Science and Mathematics; this scholarship is named after Gilbert and Jacki Cisneros in recognition of their long-standing commitment to supporting undergraduate education in Hispanic Serving Institutions

BIANCHI OUTSTANDING UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT AWARD

to support an undergraduate student who demonstrates academic excellence and dedication to science; it honors Donald E. Bianchi, the founding Dean of the College and former Professor of Biology

Mack I. Johnson Research Award for Outstanding

GRADUATE STUDENT IN THE COLLEGE OF SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS

to support an outstanding graduate student who has demonstrated extraordinary research abilities and has been accepted into a doctoral program; it honors Mack I. Johnson, former Associate Vice President as well as Professor of Biology

OUTSTANDING BEGINNING STUDENT AWARD

for outstanding performance in lower division courses in mathematics

OUTSTANDING MATHEMATICS MAJOR AWARD

recognizes continuing students for outstanding achievements in mathematics

THE ABEL SCHOLARSHIP

awarded to a sophomore or junior mathematics major based on academic merit, honoring Niels Henrik Abel, a Norwegian mathematician of the early 19th century

F. LYNWOOD WREN SCHOLARSHIP

awarded to an outstanding mathematics major who has a passion for teaching, following the example set by Professor F. Lynwood Wren, who joined the Math Department after retiring, and continued teaching for another 17 years

RAMANUJAN RESEARCH SCHOLARSHIP

to support undergraduate research projects for students who show significant mathematical promise; these scholarships honor Srinivasa Ramanujan, a self-taught mathematician from India, whose discoveries continue to influence number theory, complex analysis, and combinatorics

OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR AWARD

recognizes graduating seniors for outstanding achievements in mathematics

OUTSTANDING TEACHING ASSOCIATE AWARD

for graduate student teaching associates who demonstrate exceptional dedication and effectiveness

OUTSTANDING GRADUATE STUDENT AWARD

for graduating master's students for outstanding achievements in mathematics

EFREM OSTROW MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

to support distinguished scholars who are involved in research projects and show promise in mathematics; it honors Efrem Ostrow who was a Professor of Mathematics at CSUN for 25 years

EXCELLENCE IN SCIENCE SCHOLARSHIP

recognizes outstanding academic achievements in mathematics



Organizing Committee:

Rabia Djellouli, Yen Duong, Natalie Howe, Katja Livingston, Andrea Nemeth, Mary Rosen, Rebecca Say