

## Memorandum

Office of Faculty Affairs

Date: December 19, 2023

To: Department Chairs

Diane Guido From:

Associate Vice President, Faculty Affairs

iane Linds

Candidates for Emeritus Status **Subject:** 

Section 650.3.2 of the <u>Administrative Manual</u> describes the method by which faculty members who have retired (or are about) to retire can be granted Emeritus Status. Faculty eligible for nomination are encouraged to self-nominate (or be nominated) using the new Emeritus Nomination form available on the Faculty Affairs website at the following link: <a href="http://www.csun.edu/faculty-affairs/forms">http://www.csun.edu/faculty-affairs/forms</a>.

The form applies to both Tenure-line and Lecturer faculty who meet the criteria. Faculty Early Retirement Program (FERP) faculty are eligible in the semester in which FERP is completed.

NOTE: This year, all nominations (this form and two attachments) must be submitted to the Office of Faculty Affairs by the deadline of January 26, 2024, or earlier. Any nominations received by the department directly should be forwarded to Faculty Affairs for an initial eligibility check.

Following are the pertinent deadlines:

January 26 (Fri.) or earlier – Emeritus status faculty nominations are due to the Office of Faculty Affairs (faculty.affairs@csun.edu) for an initial eligibility check.

Week of January 29 – Applications forwarded to department for review.

February 27 (Tues.) or earlier – Departments will forward all faculty Emeritus status nominations accompanied by written recommendations to the College Dean.

March 19 (Tues.) or earlier - College Deans will forward all faculty Emeritus status nominations, Department Committee recommendations, and the Dean's recommendations to the Office of Faculty Affairs for review by the Personnel Planning and Review Committee.

Please note that the short biography of 200 words or less that is part of the nomination may be used in an event program to honor the faculty member. Please contact Faculty Affairs at ext. 2962 or by email (faculty.affairs@csun.edu) with any questions.

President Erika D. Beck cc:

Provost Meera Komarraju

Vice President William Watkins

College Deans Faculty President

Chair, Personnel Planning and Review Committee

Campus Extension: 2962 E-mail: Diane.guido@csun.edu