Faculty Committee on Extended Learning April 15, 2015 3:15 pm - 5:00 pm

Minutes

Committee members present: Luiz Mendes, Alexander Alekseenko, Nanci Carr, Joo Kim, Virginia Kennedy, Patricia Miller, Shane Stecyk, and Scott Sturgeon, Theresa White

Required quorum present

Committee members absent: Joyce Feucht-Haviar (excused), Rick Covington (excused), Felicia Vertrees(excused), Denise Sandoval

Guests: John Binkley, Jennifer Kalfsbeek-Goetz, Nicole Wilson

Call to Order

Committee Chair, Luiz Mendes, called the meeting to order at 3:25 p.m. The meeting was held in the Executive Conference Room in the Bookstore Complex.

Old Business

Approval of March 15, 2015 Minutes by Committee Members

The draft minutes from the March meeting were reviewed by the committee. Luiz Mendes asked if there were any questions or comments concerning the draft minutes.

Board Action: Chair moved to approve the minutes; Patricia Miller and Scott Sturgeon seconded. Chair asked for a vote to approve the minutes and the minutes were unanimously approved.

New Business

Chair's Updates and Announcements

Chair announced that at the Faculty Senate Meeting Patricia Miller and Theresa White were elected as the Senate Appointees.

Chair, Luiz Mendes was unable to attend the last Faculty Senate Meeting and Chair appointed Patricia Miller to appear on his behalf. Patricia Miller will send the link with the details from the Faculty Senate Meeting presentations to Chair. Chair will forward it to all members.

Nominations for Committee Chair

Chair gave a brief overview on the responsibilities of the Faculty Committee on Extended Learning Chair position. Chair requested nominations for the Committee Chair. Virginia Kennedy and Rick Covington were nominated. Chair mentioned that a motion of the new Chair would be done via email.

Charge Revision

Chair discussed the process of revising the Faculty Committee on Extended Learning charge. He mentioned that changes to the charge have to be submitted to the Faculty Senate Committee. Chair requested from Joyce Feucht-Haviar, previous drafts of the charge. Chair explained that once the drafts of the charge were received, an email will be sent to all Faculty Committee on Extended Learning members.

Design/Design Thinking Program

Jennifer Kalfsbeek-Goetz discussed upcoming programs. A program mentioned was the MA in Industrial Design. Jennifer explained that there is a request for input from Faculty across all disciplines. Jennifer mentioned that the Industrial Design degree is really a "degree in innovation" that needs to be a "universal effort". CSUN Alumni Ravi Shawney of rksdesign and Dean S.K. Ramesh have been involved in the conversations. Jennifer informed all members that the meeting to discuss the new MA in Industrial Design was going to take place on Wednesday May 20, 2015. It would be an all-day event and all interested Faculty members are invited.

Patricia Miller inquired about the type of responses received from the departments. Jennifer Kalfsbeek-Goetz explained that there were about ten faculty members interested in attending the meeting. Alexander Alekseenko inquired if members have permission to distribute the documents and invite faculty members for the MA in Industrial Design meeting. Jennifer Kalfsbeek-Goetz mentioned that the meeting is open to all interested parties. Theresa White inquired about the level of commitment required. Jennifer Kalfsbeek-Goetz mentioned that further details would be given at the MA in Industrial Design Meeting. Several Faculty Committee on Extended Learning members expressed interest in attending the meeting.

Committee chair asked if anyone had any questions. No questions were posed.

<u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting was adjourned by Luiz Mendes at 4:17pm.

Prepared by Nicole Wilson