Chemistry and Biochemistry

  • Student working with analytical equipment


We are grateful to the following people who have generously provided funds to support scholarships for our students. For more information on applying for these scholarships, please visit the Awards and Scholarships page.

Dr Sandra L. Jewett
is a former faculty member in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Patricia Maloney is a senior executive in the aerospace industry, currently serving as Principal Director for Joint Operational Programs, NASA Programs Division for The Aerospace Corporation. Her various positions there have included Director of the Economics and Marketing Analysis Center, Principal Engineer for the Ground Division at the National Reconnaissance Office, and Associate Principal Director for the National Polar-Orbiting and Operational Environmental Satellite System (NPOESS). She earned a M.B.A. at the Amos Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College and for the following 15 years she worked for Mobil Oil Corporation in a variety of capacities, including Worldwide Trading Coordinator and Crude Oil Operations Manager during the first Gulf War, Strategic Planning, Wholesale Marketing and Project Finance. The latter was in Singapore and Jakarta, Indonesia. In addition, Pat serves on numerous nonprofit boards and councils. In 2015, Ms. Maloney established the Patricia A. Maloney Student Travel Fund Award to encourage chemistry and biochemistry scholars to hone their presentation and spoken communication skills by traveling to professional meetings to deliver oral and/or poster presentations.

Linda Nyquist established a scholarship in memory of her husband, the late LeRoy Nyquist, Ph.D., who was a Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Science and Mathematics, California State University, Northridge. He joined the faculty of San Fernando Valley State College (later changed to CSUN) in 1962 where he taught, lectured and conducted research until his retirement in 1992 when he became professor Emeritus. Dr. Nyquist’s expertise was in organic chemistry. His classroom and laboratory performance was rewarded with a CSUN Distinguished Professor Award and the Sigma Xi Award for Distinguished Research in Chemistry. He was honored by the Associated Students with a Volunteer Service Award for tutoring students for twenty years.  Dr. Nyquist passed away in 2014, after which Mrs. Nyquist established the Professor LeRoy Nyquist Memorial Scholarship in Organic Chemistry to honor his legacy.

Dr Lan K. Wong, a native of Hong Kong, won a full scholarship to attend San Fernando Valley State College (now CSUN) where he graduated summa cum laude with a B.S. in Chemistry in 1973.  As an undergraduate, Dr. Wong was encouraged by chemistry professor, Dr. Henry Abrash, to accept a National Science Foundation (NSF) research fellowship at UCLA.  Dr. Wong went on to earn his Ph.D. at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) where he was part of a team that pioneered the application of Gas Chromatography–Mass Spectrometry (GC-MS) in pharmaceutical research.  As Assistant Professor of Pharmacology in the Ohio State University College of Medicine, he received numerous honors including the Outstanding Award in Teaching and a Recognition Award in Research from the Ohio Heart Association.  After moving to the University of Pittsburgh, he was made a tenured Professor in Pharmaceutical Sciences in 1983.  In addition to teaching, Dr. Wong was one of the first to promote pharmaceutical collaboration between the U.S. and China in both academia and industry.  Now retired, Dr. Wong volunteers for the Niagara Arts and Culture Center in Niagara Falls, New York to develop science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) curricula.  Dr. Wong appreciates the quality of his CSUN education, which rivaled his later experiences attending Ivy League schools, and is grateful and proud to be a Matador.