PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS

  • About Us

About Us

Leadership Team

Juana Maria Valdivia, Interim Director
Student Outreach and Recruitment 
juana.valdivia@csun.edu

Juana Maria Valdivia provides leadership and guidance for the Student Outreach and Recruitment team. Working in the field of higher education for more than 15 years, she has supervised the University Ambassadors program – which includes more than 65 CSUN students who serve as the university's official tour guides – and managed various university outreach events to promote college awareness. She obtained a bachelor's degree in theatre arts and a master's degree in educational leadership and policy studies from CSUN.

Marieanne Quiroz, Interim Associate Director
Student Outreach and Recruitment 
marieanne.quiroz@csun.edu

Marieanne Quiroz provides leadership and directs outreach and recruitment efforts aimed at prospective students and related partnerships through marketing, communication, guest relations and outreach efforts. She oversees the department's Student Marketing & Communications unit, Guest Relations and Campus Tours unit and pre-admissions advising functions. Marieanne has more than 18 years of communication, marketing and event planning experience in both the corporate world (The Walt Disney Company) and the nonprofit sector (Chamber of Commerce). A CSUN alumna, Marieanne has been working professionally at CSUN since 2003 and has a bachelor's degree in recreation and master's degree in educational leadership and policy studies.

Charity Chia, Coordinator
Testing Center
charity.chia@csun.edu

Charity Chia directs development and operations for the university's testing services, which facilitate degree completion and promote access and enrollment. She has worked at CSUN for more than 10 years — first in Admissions and Records and now as coordinator for the Testing Center. Charity earned her bachelor's degree in accounting from Truman State University in Missouri.

 

Gigi McGuire, Assistant Director
Community and Academic Partnerships
gigi.mcguire@csun.edu

Gigi McGuire provides leadership for the Community and Academic Partnerships unit within Student Outreach and Recruitment. She has worked with SOAR for more than 20 years as a recruiter, tour coordinator, outreach counselor and assistant director. She works on numerous statewide initiatives in collaboration with local school districts, community-based organizations and federal grant programs. As an expert in the California State University system, Gigi provides training to new high school counselors. Gigi earned her bachelor's degree in sociology and master's degree in public administration from CSUN.

Evelyn Torres Garcia, Director
TRIO Programs
evelyn.torres@csun.edu

Evelyn Torres Garcia is the director of TRIO, federal outreach and student services programs designed to identify and provide services for individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds. Over the last 10 years, she has worked to provide opportunities and access to higher education for K-12 students. Evelyn earned her master's degree from CSUN in counseling with an emphasis in college counseling and student services. She is also an adjunct professor in the Department of Child and Adolescent Development, where she teaches race, culture, gender and ethnicity development.

 

Outreach Counselors

Stacey Chen, International Outreach Counselor
stacey.chen@csun.edu

Darnell Edwards, Outreach Coordinator
darnell.t.edwards@csun.edu

Jesus I. Flores, Domestic and International Outreach Counselor
jesus.flores@csun.edu

Ratha Koam, Transfer Outreach Counselor
ratha.koam@csun.edu

Cynthia Martinez, Outreach Counselor
cynthia.r.martinez@csun.edu

Jake Prendez, Outreach Counselor
jake.prendez@csun.edu

Paulette Robbins, Transfer Recruitment Coordinator
paulette.robbins@csun.edu