• Still from theatre production SERSE
  • Art Galleries
  • TV set
  • Performance Ensemble
  • guests and interviewer on Journalism set
  • violin section of orchestra

2019 Media Literacy Award winner

August 20, 2019

Bobbie EisenstockAt each national conference, NAMLE (National Association for Media Literacy Education) honors people and organizations who have had a great impact on the media literacy community and beyond.

Congratulations to all of our 2019 Media Literacy Award winners!

Dr. Bobbie Eisenstock
Journalism Faculty
California State University, Northridge 
Advisory Board, Office of Community Engagement

In 2003, the NAMLE (then AMLA) Board created the Meritorious Service Award “to be given to individuals or projects that have significantly contributed to the growth and quality of the field of media literacy.” This award is intended to honor those who have given many years of service helping to build infrastructure or otherwise remaining mostly behind-the-scenes, and often unacknowledged.   In 2017, NAMLE changed the name of the award in honor of Elizabeth Thoman, a founding board member of NAMLE. Liz also founded the Center for Media Literacy and was a leading voice in the American media literacy movement during her life. Liz passed away in December 2016. Read more about Liz’s legacy in this issue of “Connect!ons.”

Read entire article.