Music

  • Production still from SERSE
  • french horns
  • choir and orchestra
  • pianist, clarinetist, and violinist
  • violin section of orchestra
  • wind orchestra
  • Jazz Band on stage

Faculty / Full-Time

Ric Alviso | Breadth Studies Coordinator, Professor of World Music and General Education

Ric Alviso

Breadth Studies Coordinator, Professor of World Music and General Education
Email: ric.alviso@csun.edu
Phone: (818)-677-2155
Office location: CY234

Read Biography

Katherine Ramos Baker | Choral Director

Katherine Ramos Baker

Choral Director
Email: katherine.r.baker@csun.edu
Phone: (818)-677-3445
Office location: CY213

Read Biography

Lorenz Gamma | Associate Professor of Violin, Head of String Studies, Director of Chamber Music

Lorenz Gamma

Associate Professor of Violin, Head of String Studies, Director of Chamber Music
Email: lorenz.gamma@csun.edu 
Phone: (818)-677-3184
Office location: CY223
 

Matt Harris | Associate Professor of Jazz Studies

Matt Harris

Associate Professor of Jazz Studies
Email: matt.harris@csun.edu
Phone: 
Office location: 

Julia Heinen | Professor of Clarinet

Julia Heinen

Professor of Clarinet
Email: julia.heinen@csun.edu 
Phone: (818)-677-3168
Office location: CY221

Read Biography

Jeffrey Izzo | Chair of Music Industry Studies

Jeffrey Izzo

Associate Professor, Chair of Music Industry Studies
Email: jeffrey.izzo@csun.edu 
Phone: (818)-677-3041
Office location: CY226

Read Biography

Liviu Marinescu | Chair of Music Composition and Theory

Liviu Marinescu

Chair of Music Composition and Theory
Email: liviu.marinescu@csun.edu
Phone: (818)-677-6478
Office location: CY228

Read Biography

Arthur McCaffrey | Associate Professor, Coordinator of Musicianship

A.J. McCaffrey

Associate Professor, Coordinator of Musicianship
Email: arthur.mccaffrey@csun.edu 
Phone: (818)-677-3177
Office location: CY232

Read Biography

Alexandra Monchick | Professor of Musicology

Alexandra Monchick

Professor of Musicology
Email: alexandra.monchick@csun.edu 
Phone: (818)-677-3161
Office location: CY235

Read Biography

Dmitry Rachmanov | Professor of Piano, Head of Keyboard Studies

Dmitry Rachmanov

Professor of Piano, Coordinator of Keyboard Studies
Email: dmitry.rachmanov@csun.edu 
Phone: (818)-677-2791
Office location: CY280

Read Biography

Tina Raymond | Director of Jazz Studies

Tina Raymond

Director of Jazz Studies
Email: kristina.raymond@csun.edu
Phone:
Office location: CY225

Read Biography

Diane Roscetti | Professor of Cello, Chamber Music, and Music Entrepreneurship

Diane Roscetti

Professor of Cello, Chamber Music, and Music Entrepreneurship
Email: droscetti@csun.edu 
Phone: (818)-677-6587
Office location: CY202

Read Biography

John Roscigno | Department Chair, Professor of Instrumental Conducting, Director of the CSUN Symphony Orchestra, Head of Percussion Studies

John Roscigno

Department Chair
Professor of Instrumental Conducting, Director of the CSUN Symphony Orchestra, Head of Percussion Studies
Email: john.roscigno@csun.edu 
Phone: (818)-677-6834
Office location: CY100

Read Biography

Elizabeth Sellers | Professor of Media Composition

Elizabeth Sellers

Professor of Media Composition
Email: elizabeth.a.sellers@csun.edu
Phone: 
Office location: CY224

Kyle Simpson | Chair of Media Composition

Kyle Simpson

Chair of Media Composition
Email: 
Phone: 
Office location: CY233

Lawrence Stoffel | Director of Bands, Head of Wind Performance Studies

Lawrence Stoffel 

Director of Bands, Head of Wind Performance Studies
Email: 
Phone: (818)-677-3160
Office location: CY210

Read Biography

Andrew Surmani | Associate Professor of Music Industry Studies

Andrew Surmani

Associate Professor of Music Industry Studies
Email: andrew.surmani@csun.edu 
Phone: (818)-677-3176
Office location: CY231

Read Biography

Steve Thachuk | Professor of Guitar, Head of Guitar Studies, Graduate Advisor

Steve Thachuk


Professor of Guitar, Head of Guitar Studies, Graduate Advisor
Email: steve.thachuk@csun.edu 
Phone: (818)-677-2846
Office location: CY207

Read Biography

Hugo Vera | Director of Vocal Arts and Opera

Hugo Vera

Director of Vocal Arts and Opera
Email: hugo.vera@csun.edu
Phone: 
Office location: CY268
 

John Whitener | Coordinator of Music Education

John Whitener

Coordinator of Music Education
Email: john.whitener@csun.edu
Phone: (818)-677-6834
Office location: CY212
 

Hilary Yip | Chair of Music Therapy

Hilary Yip

Chair of Music Therapy
Email: 
Phone: 
Office location: CY209