• Production still from SERSE
  • french horns
  • choir and orchestra
  • pianist, clarinetist, and violinist
  • violin section of orchestra
  • wind orchestra

Guest Artist Recital: Light Matter Trio

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 7:30pm

Cypress Recital Hall / Doors open 30 min before performance
Adults $15 / Faculty, Staff, & Seniors $10 / Students $7


Guest Artist Recital: Light Matter Trio

The Light Matter Trio is a young and dynamic ensemble that is dedicated to championing and commissioning works by primarily living composers. Based in New York City, its members are composed of violinist Clara Kim, cellist Joann Whang (both members of the Argus String Quartet) and pianist Karl Larson, all of whom are actively engaged in new music scenes across the U.S. They have performed at some of the world's most significant venues, including Carnegie Hall, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Muziekgebouw aan’t Ij, Bang on a Can Marathon, WQXR’s New Sounds, and Bowling Green State University’s New Music Festival, among others. Additionally, they have had the honor of working with some of today’s most compelling composers such as Kaija Saariaho, David Lang, Magnus Lindberg, Donald Crockett, and the Sleeping Giant Collective, as well as a number of emerging composers.

As part of their mini-residency, made possible by a Distinguished Visiting Speaker grant from the Mike Curb College of Arts, Media, and Communication, the Light Matter Trio will present new works by CSUN student composers Rocco Harris and Sebastian Gallarzo and CSUN faculty composer A.J. McCaffrey, as well as works by Saariaho and Wollschleger.


Performance Date:
Wednesday, Apr 25, 2018 -- Doors open at 7pm

Cypress Recital Hall