• violinist
  • student shooting a film
  • communication studies performance ensemble
  • tv monitors
  • art building
  • theatre production
  • VPAC stage

Faculty & Research

MCCAMC RSCA Awards for Spring '16

Dear MCCAMC Faculty,
I am pleased to announce that the Spring 2016 applications for the MCCAMC Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity Awards are now available! The applications over the first two semesters of this initiative have been excellent and I'm looking forward to continuing to support the high-profile work carried out by our faculty. This initiative is similar to the previous two semesters except that this time an application can be made for release time or additional travel support. 
Attached please find the description for the MCCAMC RSCA Awards and the application forms for Spring 2016. There are separate applications for release time and travel support—only one application in total may be submitted by a faculty member. Please see the description document and application form(s) for the details.
The deadline for these applications is 5pm on Monday, December 7.
All the best,

Curb Endowment funds for fall ’15

(From Jay Kvapil)

Dear Colleagues,

I am happy to announce the recipients of the second semester of MCCAMC Research, Scholarly, and Creative Activity Assigned Time Awards for the Fall 2015.  The quality of the applications was quite high, and the number increased significantly from last semester.   I am happy to announce that using Curb Endowment funds we can again fund twelve faculty for fall ’15 and plan to do the same for spring ’16. For faculty who submitted proposals, but were not selected, I hope you will submit again for spring 16, as some very good proposals were not funded due to limitations of funding. 

Congratulations to the following faculty:

  • Ron Borczon, Music, "Music Therapy: A Fieldwork Primer”
  • Eric Edson, CTVA, “More Story Solutions: 16 Plot Forms for Creating Great Heroes”
  • Gina Giotta, Comm Studies, “Author(iz)ing the Gase: Fashion Blogging, Media Authorship, and the Boyfriend Photographer”
  • Ah-jeong Kim, Theatre,  “A New World Theatre Textbook by Rutledge”
  • Jeanine Minge, Comm Studies, “The Cultural Archive Project: The Ngabe Tribe and the Floating Doctors”
  • J’aime Morrison, Theatre,  “Written in Dust: Translating the Words of John Fante’s Ask the Dust into Dance”
  • Mario Ontiveros, Art,  “Beyond Reflection: Unflinching Criticality and the Transformation of Self-Portraiture”
  • Aimee Carrillo Rowe, Comm Studies, Queer Xicana: Performance, Affect, and the Sacred”
  • Larry Stoffel, Music, “CSUN Wind Ensemble CD’s Projects”
  • Scott Sturgeon, CTVA, “Bushed, a Half-Hour Comedy Pilot for Premium Cable”
  • Steve Thachuck, Music, "Annotated Works Catalogue of Reginald Smith Brindle (section of Book)”
  • Melissa Wall, Journalism, “Citizen and Mobile Journalisms: Reimagining the Field”

2014-15 Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity Awardees Announced

The Research and Grants Committee has completed its review of proposals submitted in response to the 2014-2015 CSUN Competition for Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity Awards. Out of 86 proposals received from highly qualified faculty members, all deserving of support, the top 54 proposals were funded.

Proposals were evaluated and ranked on the basis of promise for external funding, PI’s track record, and positive impact on student learning and/or mentoring. Equally important and a key factor in this competition was the applicant’s ability to explain the significance of the project to a committee of colleagues outside of his/her discipline, with some preference given to probationary faculty members. The MCCAMC 2014-15 RSCA Awardees are:

  • Patsy Cox
    Project Title -- Printing and its potential applications for artists

  • Scott Sturgeon
    Project Title -- 
    Exiled In The Land of the Free: A History of Oren Lyons and the Iroquois

  • Melissa Wall
    Project Title -- 
    The Syrian Refugee Crisis: Mapping Communication Needs