Main menu (IT)

Advisory Committee on Academic Technology


The Advisory Committee for Academic Technology (ACAT) advises the Executive Technology Steering Committee (ETSC) and consults on the management of University-wide IT support of instructional and scholarly activities, from the perspective of a college or division, not individual users. The committee meets monthly during the academic year.


  • The ACAT advises the ETSC on strategy, policy, tactics, and implementation of instructional and scholarly technologies that impact the Academic Affairs division, including ADA compliance for instructional materials.
  • The ACAT conducts an annual review of the ATI instructional materials report.
  • The committee maintains contact with the Provost's Council, Faculty Senate Executive Committee, Council of Chairs, Educational Resources Committee, Managers of Academic Resources (MARs), and the Administrative Councils of the Divisions and Colleges. 

ACAT Members: AY 2020-2021 (appointed by ETSC annually)

Mary Beth WalkerProvost and Vice President for Academic Affairs (co-chair)
Ranjit PhilipInterim, Vice President for Information Technology/CIO (co-chair)
Dan Hosken Dean
Tim KarelsDepartment Chair
Helen HeinrichInterim AVP, Academic Technology
Diane StephensAVP, Academic Resources
Chris SalesChair of the Faculty Senate Academic Technology Committee, or designee
Tina KieslerFaculty member, appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, in consultation with the Provost
Christina HennesseyLibrary representative
Kannan AMRRepresentative from Tseng College
Kavya Dhyasani  Student representative appointed by Associated Students
Patrice Wheeler Representative appointed by the Vice President for Student Affairs
Kimon RethisRepresentative appointed by the Vice President for University Advancement
J.B. Wall College Director of Finance & Operations or College Technical Lead 
Kathryn Tipton
Representative from Universal Design Center
Heather CairnsRepresentative from TUC

Note: The Library and the Tseng College of Extended Learning shall each have no more than one representative.