College of Humanities

  • Students studying under trees

Book an appointment. with an advisorThe College of Humanities Student Services Center and EOP Satellite (SSC/EOP) offers a wide variety of student support services to recruit, retain, and promote successful degree completion for students with declared majors in the College of Humanities. Holistic services offered include:

  • New incoming student advising for EOP freshmen and transfer students
  • Academic advisement and graduation planning for continuing students
  • Career/graduate school planning and mentoring
  • Referrals to College and University resources for academic, personal, and professional development
  • Understanding basic financial aid information
  • SSC/EOP staff also provide additional specialized services to Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) students

Where are Academic Advisement Appointments Taking Place?

Academic Advisement appointments continue through Zoom and In-Person. Zoom meetings can be scheduled through EAB. For in-person meetings, please ensure you submit a request through this form.

Is Academic Advisement Mandatory?

Academic advisement is required for students in programs such as EOP.

How can I get in contact with The College of Humanities Student Services Center and Educational Opportunity Program Satellite:

Phone: (818) 677-4767 or (818) 677-4784

Location: Jerome Richfield 240

Office Hours: Monday thru Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Advisement Hours: Monday thru Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

            Advisement is through appointment only

Email: humnssceop@csun.edu

Direct website link: https://www.csun.edu/humanities/student-services-center-educational-opportunity-program

How can I get in contact with the Liberal Studies Department:

Phone: (818) 677-3300

Email: liberal.inds@csun.edu

Location: Education Administration 100.

Direct website link: https://www.csun.edu/humanities/interdisciplinary-studies-liberal-studies

Prospective Students

Students interested in finding out more information about attending CSUN should contact the Office of Outreach & Recruitment to meet with a Pre-Admissions Counselor. Please visit www.assist.org for courses you may complete at a local community college.

Continuing Students

Continuing students interested in academic advisement in the College of Humanities should fill out this interest form. Students may also schedule their advisement appointments through EAB.

Academic Notice Students

Students will have a registration hold during the semester immediately following placement on academic notice and each fall and spring semester thereafter while on academic notice. Prior to registration, students must schedule an appointment with an advisor by completing this form. The registration hold will be removed once the student has been advised.

EOP Students

Academic advisement is mandatory for all first-time freshmen prior to registration. The College of Humanities Student Services Center/ EOP advises and mentors first-year students (FTF) who are admitted to the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP). If you have been admitted to EOP, please contact our office for more information about scheduling an appointment with an EOP advisor. The SSC/EOP office can be reached at (818) 677-4767 or (818) 677-4784. You may also schedule EOP advisement through EAB or/and this interest form.

All other FTF (first-years) should schedule their mandatory advisement sessions with the Matador Advising Hub https://www.csun.edu/thehub

First-Time Transfer Students (SPRING 2023)

To ensure a smooth and successful transition to CSUN, advisement is highly recommended prior to registration for all incoming transfer students.  You may also schedule EOP advisement through EAB or/and this interest form.

Faculty Advisor Directory

American Indian Studies

Student Advisor: Scott Andrews, Director (scott.andrews@csun.edu)

Asian American Studies

Student Advisor: Christina Ayala-Alcantar ( )

Central American and Transborder Studies

Student Advisor: Florence Kyomugisha ( )

Chicana and Chicano Studies

Student Advisors: Rosa Rivera Furumoto (rosa.furumoto@csun.edu),

Graduate Student Advisor: Melisa Galván (mgalvan@csun.edu)

Civic and Community Engagement

Student Advisor: Clement Lai ( )

Gender and Women’s Studies

Student Advisor: Breny Mendoza ( )

English

Student Advisor: Danielle Spratt, Associate Chair (danielle.spratt@csun.edu)

Graduate Student Advisor: Lauren Byler (lauren.byler@csun.edu)

Creative Writing and Literature Advisor: Christopher Higgs ( )

FYI/JYI Program Advisor: Danielle Spratt, Associate Chair (danielle.spratt@csun.edu)

Honors: Lauren Byler (lauren.byler@csun.edu)

English Subject Matter Advisor: Dorothy Clark (dorothy.g.clark@csun.edu)

Liberal Studies

Student Advisor: Jonathan Martinez, Assistant Director (jonathan.b.martinez@csun.edu)

Linguistics/TESL

Student Advisor: Kenneth Luna ( )

Graduate Student Advisor: Tineke Scholten (christina.m.scholten@csun.edu)

Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies

Khanum Shaikh ( )

Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures

Armenian: Vahram Shemmassian (vahram.shemmassian@csun.edu)

Italian: Adrian Perez-Boluda, Chair (adrian.perez-boluda@csun.edu)

French: Adrian Perez-Boluda, Chair (adrian.perez-boluda@csun.edu)

Japanese: Drake Langford (drake.langford@csun.edu)

Single Subject Waiver: Adrian Perez-Boluda, Chair (adrian.perez-boluda@csun.edu)

Spanish (A-M): Axel Montepeque (axel.montepeque@csun.edu)

Spanish (N-Z): Adrian Perez-Boluda, Chair (adrian.perez-boluda@csun.edu)

Philosophy

Student Advisor: Kristina Meshelski, Associate Chair (kristina.meshelski@csun.edu)

Religious Studies

Student Advisor: Mustafa Ruzgar (mustafa.ruzgar@csun.edu)

Jewish Studies

Student Advisor: Jennifer Thompson, Director (jennifer.a.thompson@csun.edu)

Queer Studies

Student Advisor: Sheena Malhotra, Director (sheena.malhotra@csun.edu)