Child and Adolescent Development

  • Students - CADV

FAQ

Here are some of the most commonly asked questions by students.

 

How does advising work in CADV?

CADV has adopted an empowerment based approach to advising which means that our goal is to teach you the campus tools to enable you to answer any advising-related question. We want you to feel empowered to research advising answers independently and confidently. Fortunately, CSUN has some amazing technological tools that make this EASY. 

CADV does NOT place holds on student registration accounts. We also do NOT require CADV students to meet face-to-face with an advisor before registering for classes or adding our major/minor; we trust that you can follow the catalog instructions (or guides on our website) and/or seek help/clarification when confused. 

 Our department offers various modes of advising opportunities each semester. Some of these include:

  1. Workshops/receptions. We offer workshops on various advising topics (e.g., how to apply for graduation, career exploration, how to pick classes) in a computer lab. This is the best way to get your individual advising needs met in a slow paced relaxed environment. Students typically use this time to learn how to use the MAP (my academic plan) to plan future courses, receive validation that they are "on track," and answer general or specific questions. 
  2. Advising videos. CADV Peer Mentors created short 1-5 minute videos explaining critical advising topics you need to know. Start with the MAP video becauase you cannot see a faculty advisor until you have learned how to plan classes using this fun interactive "videogame-like" tool. 
  3. Advising appointments. Email or set up an appointment with a trained Peer Advisor at a time that works with your busy schedule. If you cannot attend the scheduled weekly advising times, the peer advisors will try their best to meet with you one-on-one at a time that works for you.
  4. Walk-in advising hours. Just drop in to meet with trained Peer Advisors (and/or Faculty Advisors for those who know how to use the MAP).
  5. Faculty Advisors. Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a Faculty Advisor to receive help solving problems; we do not meet to do course planning (attend the workshop or meet with a peer advisor to learn how to use the MAP so you can independently determine if you are taking the right courses).
  6. If you have an advising question that (a) cannot be answered on our webpage AND (b) can be easily communicated, email Dr. Taylor ( ). 

When is our CADV graduation (i.e., commencement)?

First, what is the difference between commencement & graduation? Commencement = the Spring campus ceremony where students walk across the stage in their cap & gown. Graduation= the completion of your degree. 

Our CADV commencement date and time varies from year to year. As the commencement date approaches information will be available online at the commencement website.

I have a hold on my registration. How can I get it removed?

If you have a hold on your registration, you have to find the campus office that put the hold on your registration. THE CADV DEPARTMENT DOES NOT PUT AUTOMATIC HOLDS ON STUDENTS' REGISTRATION. Common reasons for holds include:

What are my professors' office hours?

PROFESSOR

DAY

TIME

  

LOCATION

EMAIL ADDRESS

Dr. Amber Ankowski

Wednesday

1:00pm - 2:00pm

  

SQ 293

amber.ankowski@csun.edu

Prof. Joyce Marie Brusasco

Tuesday,Thursday

9:20am -  10:15am

Friday

11:00 to noon

SQ 293

joyce.brusasco.61@csun.edu

Dr. Leslie Echols

Saturday

3:00pm - 4:00pm

or by appointment

SQ 293

leslie.echols@csun.edu

Dr. Rosemary Gonzalez

On sabbatical

  

SQ 289-B

drg@csun.edu

Dr. Virginia Huynh

Monday

1:00pm - 3:00pm

  

SQ 280-F

virginia.huynh@csun.edu

Dr. Hojin Kim

Tuesday, Thursday

11:00am - 12:00pm

or by appointment

SQ 293

hojin.kim@csun.edu

Dr. Piljoo Kang

Thursdays

11:30am - 12:30pm

or by appointment

Laurel Hall

piljoo.kang@csun.edu

Dr. Isabella Lanza

Thursdays

3:30pm - 6:30pm

or by appointment

Laurel Hall

haydee.lanza@csun.edu

Dr. Nancy Miodrag

Wednesdays

3:00pm - 4:00pm

or by appointment

SQ 280-D

nancy.miodrag@csun.edu

Dr. Roxanne Moschetti

Wednesday

12:00pm - 2:00pm

  

SQ 280-G

roxanne.moschetti@csun.edu

Dr. Jessica Morales-Chicas

Tuesday

2:30pm -  3:30pm

or by appointment

SQ 293

morales.chicas@csun.edu

Prof. Renee Ortiz

Saturday

11:00am - 12:00pm

  

SQ 293

renee.ortiz@csun.edu

Dr. Jo Anne Pandey

Weds

2:00pm - 3:00 pm

  

SQ 293

joanne.pandey@csun.edu

Dr. Emily Russell

Tuesday

1:30pm -3:30pm

  

SQ 280-E

emily.thom@csun.edu

Dr. Andrea Rashtian

Wednesday

9:45am - 10:45am

Tuesday

10:45-11:45

SH 362-B

andrea.rashtian@csun.edu

Dr. Whitney Scott

Wednesdays

11:30am - 1:00pm

  

SQ 289-D

whitney.scott@csun.edu

Dr. April Taylor

Wednesday

4:00pm-5:00pm

or by appointment
 

SQ 289-C

ataylor@csun.edu

Prof. Kristin Taylor

Saturday

10:30am - 11:30am

  

SQ 293

kristin.taylor@csun.edu

Dr. David Wakefield

Wednesdays

11:00am - 1:00pm

or by appointment

SQ 285

david.wakefield@csun.edu

Which option should I choose?

Unless you have already taken the CAP 8 classes at a community college we recommend the Applied Developmental Science option. To help in your decision, here is more information on both options: Comparing CADV Options