Jose Luis Vargas Scholarship Awards Recipients

April 5, 2018

On Tuesday, March 27, 2018, the Educational Opportunity Programs at California State University, Northridge hosted its first annual José Luis Vargas Scholarship Awards.


The ceremony honored the contributions made by Mr. Vargas and scholarships were awarded to students who embody EOP’s core values, practice RRAM and exemplify academic excellence. The event was also an opportunity for EOP alumni to reconnect and share their fondest memory of Mr. Vargas.


The recipients of the 2018 scholarship awards were:


Alexis Aleman

Carina Alvarado Alcala

Davon Anderson

Osman Bonilla

David Contreras

Carla Martinez Plascencia

Jeremy Simmons

Nikki Vi


As a former EOP student, Mr. Vargas led the program with passion, conviction, and professionalism. He mentored thousands of students and encouraged them to believe in themselves and succeed in higher education. His legacy will continue through the future scholarships given in his memory. 

View full collection of images

José Luis Vargas Scholarship Awards 2018