David Nazarian College of Business and Economics

  • President Harrison officially renames Juniper Hall as Bookstein Hall after Harriet and Harvey Bookstein

    Introducing Bookstein Hall

  • finance

    Finance Lab Brings Wall Street to CSUN

  • compyter

    Nazarian Family Presents Students with New Laptops

Students, Faculty Claim Top Awards

April 24, 2015

Nazarian students and faculty have made a statement in 2015!  The professional and scholarly achievements of both students and faculty have brought top national and international honors to CSUN. 

A letter from the president of Beta Alpha Psi extended congratulations on our Epsilon Chi Chapter’s having been recognized internationally as a “Superior Chapter.”  The letter further notes that “Under the leadership of both Kiren Dosanjh and Youngwon Her, the Epsilon Chi Chapter has far exceeded the baseline requirements of Beta Alpha Psi and has excelled in the areas of academics, professionalism, and leadership.” 

The national Small Business Institute (SBI) announced at its February conference in Tampa that both graduate and undergraduate teams from CSUN’s SBI walked away with first-place honors in its Project of the Year Competition.  MBA students Corey Ballantoni, Linh Hal, Mike Lloyd, Kevin Sedaghat, and Manpreet Singh, advised by Dr. Ali Behnezhad, professor and chair, Department of Systems and Operations Management, won first place for their Graduate Business Plan/Feasibility Study carried out for client Ladan Behnia of ABC Nationwide, LLC.  Undergraduates Briana Juarez, Jeremy Abraham, Melody Saadian, Mel Layesen, and Shahzeen Bhurgri, advised by Ms. Joy Griffin, lecturer, Department of Marketing and, until recently, director of the Business Honors Program, claimed top honors for their comprehensive business plan for client organization Chella. 

Along with conferring top competition awards on Nazarian College teams, the national organization conferred its prestigious Showcase Award on CSUN’s SBI, citing the program and its director, Dr. Debi Cours, professor, Department of Marketing and Nazarian College director of graduate programs, for their consistent, high-quality, professional work.  Additionally, Dr. Cours was elected to the national SBI Board of Directors and joins Ms. Griffin as a vice president of the Institute (over programs and development, respectively).  Read more (http://csunshinetoday.csun.edu/media-releases/david-nazarian-college-of-business-and-economics-receives-small-business-honors/).

In March, Andres Nieto, Tannaz Nourparvar, Edith Gomez, Nanki Singh, and Wezley Masangkay of the Nazarian College’s student chapter of the American Marketing Association (AMA) were on hand with faculty adviser Dr. Kristen Walker, associate professor, Department of Marketing, at the AMA’s Intercollegiate Conference in New Orleans to receive an award for the Outstanding Chapter Plan.  This recognition from one of the nation’s largest student business associations is the culmination of months of detailed and skilled effort by student leaders on the executive board of the CSUN chapter.

April saw the formal presentation of a top scholarly award to Dr. David Ackerman and Dr. Barbara Gross, both professors in the Marketing Department (Dr. Gross also serves as the Nazarian College’s assurance-of-learning director and was recently appointed director of the Business Honors Program) at the conference of the international Marketing Educators Association in Las Vegas.  Their “Having Many Choice Options Seems Like a Great Idea, But . . . Student Perceptions About the Level of Choice for a Project Topic in a Marketing Course,” published in the December issue, has been selected as the Journal of Marketing Education’s outstanding article for 2014. 

In May, a 2014 French-language book about the management of luxury companies, coauthored by Marketing Professor Frank Vigneron,  Marketing de Luxe: Strategies Innovantes et Nouvelles Pratiques, was named best book of the year by France's prestigious Académie Francaise des Sciences Commerciales at a ceremony at the Paris Chamber of Commerce.