David Nazarian College of Business and Economics

  • Bookstein Hall Su21 Hours

    Fall '21 In-Person Office Hours

  • South Africa MR

    Inspiring Entrepreneurship in South Africa

  • Low Income Taxpayer Clinic Volunteer Wins Case Against IRS

    LITC Volunteer Wins Case Against IRS

  • Martin Hughes Accounting Scholarship

    Martin Hughes Creates Accounting Scholarship

  • VITA Clinic Volunteer Assisting Taxpayer

    Wells Fargo Continues to Support VITA Clinic

  • Business Analytics Major & Minor

    Introducing New Major & Minor in Business Analytics

  • MBA students working together

    Free Business Consulting Services

David Nazarian College of Business and Economics History

"By the time its first catalog appeared in 1958, diminutive Valley State had already mounted a program in Business, and it flourished.  Eventually major accounting firms would be heavily staffed by its alumni, and the campus would have one of the largest departments of Business law in the country."

Source: The San Fernando Valley: then and now: an illustrated history / by Charles A. Bearchell and Larry D. Fried; Partners in progress by Robert J. Kelly. Page 38

Deans/Associates Deans of the College


Chandra SubramaniamPhoto of Paul LazaronyPaul Lazarony2018 - 

Deborah Cours


Paul Lazarony2017 - 2018
Photo of Kenneth LordKenneth LordPaul J. LazaronyPaul Lazarony2016 - 2017
Kenneth LordChristopher Jones2013-2016
Judith Hennessey (Acting)Christopher Jones (Acting)2012-2013
William Jennings, Jr.Judith Hennessey2007-2012
William Jennings, Jr.Earl Weiss2006-2007
Fred EvansEarl Weiss2004-2006
Fred EvansWilliam W. Roberts2003-2004
Michael P. FronmuellerWilliam W. Roberts2002-2003
William R. HosekWilliam W. Roberts1994-2002
William R. HosekSahab Dayal1990-1994
William R. HosekWilliam Jennings, Jr.1987-1990
James Manos (Acting)Shirley Teeter1985-1987
James W. RobertsonJames Manos1984-1985
Donald Lyden (Acting)James Manos1983-1984
James W. RobertsonJames Manos1978-1983
James W. RobertsonBaechtold (Acting)1977-1978
James W. RobertsonCharles A. Bearchell1975-1977
Paul B. BlomgrenCharles A. Bearchell1972-1975
Paul B. BlomgrenJames C. Bennett1970-1972
Paul B. BlomgrenJames C. Bennett
Clayton Summers
Paul B. Blomgren 1965-1968

Chairmen / Associate Chairmen of the Division


Donald L. RaunMaurice E. Dance1958-1965
Floyd R. Simpson 1956-1958

50th Anniversary Celebration

Fifty years ago, in academic year 1965-1966, business and economics education found its home at San Fernando Valley State College, as the department of business became the School of Business Administration and Economics. Programmatic and administrative changes have led us to what is now the David Nazarian College of Business and Economics, with alumnus David Nazarian's ('82) gift. Through the years, more than 50,000 David Nazarian College of Business and Economics alumni have made their mark on the local, national and global economies. The college has grown to become one of the 10 largest accredited business schools in the nation and consistently ranks among the most prestigious in the world. Nazarian College current and former faculty and staff celebrated this milestone. Watch the video of the 50th anniversary celebration here. 


COBAE History

Faculty Members from the 1958 Year Book - Professors:  Al Leininger, Maurice Dance, Rodney Luther, Dorthea Extence, Donald Raun, Reuben Krolick, Seymour S. Phillips

COBAE History

Faculty Member from the 1984 Year Book - (Front row L-R) Gordon johnson, Benedict Pedrotti, Dean Donald Lyden, Associate Dean James Manos, Ron Clouse.  (Back row L-R) Don Kirchner, Richard Strayer, Michael Dunn, Robert Hanna, Thomas Shannon, William Roberts, George Watto.

COBAE History

Faculty Member from the 1964 Year Book

COBAE History

Faculty and Student Members from the 1968 Year Book

COBAE History

School of Business Administration and Economics Building from the 1969 Year Book

COBAE History

Faculty Members from the 1957 Year Book