BUILD PODER

  • build Poder students standing infront of Oviatt library

Our Team

Carrie Saetermoe

Principal Investigator
Program Director–Research Enrichment Core
HERE Center Co-Director
Professor of Psychology

carrie.saetermoe@csun.edu

Gabriela Chavira

Principal Investigator
Program Director–Student Training Core
Professor of Psychology

gchavira@csun.edu

Crist Khachikian

Principal Investigator
Associate Vice President Research & Graduate Studies

crist.khachikian@csun.edu

David Boyns

HERE Center Co - Director
david.boyns@csun.edu

Angie Guan

Co-Investigator, Research and Enrichment Core
Assistant Professor of Child and Adolescent Development

angie.guan@csun.edu

Patty Kwan

Principal Investigator
patty.kwan@csun.edu

Gilberto Flores

Co-Program Director, Student Training Core
Assistant Professor of Biology
gilberto.flores@csun.edu

Placeholder

Alina Adamian

STEM Educator and Advisement Specialist
alina.adamian@csun.edu

Jose (Josey) Hugo Vargas

Post-doctoral Fellow
jose.h.vargas@csun.edu

Nina Kirmiz

Post-Doctoral Fellow

Mirranda Salas

Director of Operations and Finance
mirranda.salas@csun.edu

Cathy Smith

Student Engagement Coordinator
cathy.smith@csun.edu

Placeholder

Amber Bui

Community College Outreach Specialist
HERE Center Program Coordinator
amber.bui@csun.edu

Veronica Villasenor

HERE Center STEM Transfer Program Manager
veronica.villasenor@csun.edu

Carla Orieta

HERE Center Director of Community Outreach and Engagement
carla.orieta@csun.edu

Kirsten Cintigo

Communications Student Assistant

Jose Galvez

Webmaster

Critical Race Theory Advisory Group

The BUILD PODER Critical Race Theory Advisory Group was formed to move CRT more directly into our institutional change through consultation on BUILD PODER’s Fall conference, by moving our mentor training more directly in line with CRT tenets, by working through university initiatives to encourage adoption of CRT tenets in curriculum, RTP, and other means of changing our university culture to become more aware and reactive to racism and other forms of oppression on campus.

Carrie Saetermoe

Principal Investigator
Program Director – Research Enrichment Core
HERE Center Co-Director
Professor of Psychology

Dimpal Jain

 

Dolores Delgado-Bernal

Professor
Department of Chicana(o)/Latina(o) Studies & Charter College of Education
CSULA

Douglas Kaback

Director - Neighborhood Partners in Action
Institute for Community Health and Wellbeing
Lecturer - Department of Theatre

José Paez

Full-Time Lecturer
Department of Social Work

Octavio Villapando

 

Que-Lam Huynh

Associate Professor of Psychology

Stevie Ruiz

 

Tracy Lachica Buenavista

Professor
Asian American Studies

Will Garrow

Will Garrow

 

LOCAL STEERING COMMITTEE

The BUILD PODER Local Steering Committee meets semi-annually to discuss program progress and evaluation, future directions, and optimizing programmatic resources to meet student goals. The committee consists of two members from the National Institutes of Health, two off-campus experts, and the PIs for BUILD PODER. Invaluable insights and suggestions are garnered from our Local Steering Committee meetings and the BUILD PODER PIs are grateful to our off-campus members of the LSC.

Desirée Salazar

Program Director at National Institute of General Medical Sciences

Diane Adger-Johnson

 

Danny Solorzano

Professor of Social Science & Comparative Education
Director of the Center for Critical Race Studies
Graduate School of Education & Information Studies, UCLA

Dr. Britt Rios-Ellis

Founding Dean, College of Health Sciences and Human Services, CSUMB
Former and Founding Director, NCLR/CSULB Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation, and Leadership Training

Gabriela Chavira

Principal Investigator
Program Director – Student Training Core
Professor of Psychology

Carrie Saetermoe

Principal Investigator
Program Director – Research Enrichment Core
HERE Center Co-Director
Professor of Psychology

Crist Khachikian

Principal Investigator
Associate Vice President Research & Graduate Studies

Evaluation Team

 

Andrew Ainsworth from CARE and the Center for Research Evaluation (CARE) at the University of Mississippi (Ole Miss)

For more information, visit CARE website.