Business Law

2020 Business Law and Real Estate Student Award and Scholarship Recipients Announced

April 24, 2020

Business Law and Real Estate Student Award and Scholarship Recipients Announced 


The Department of Business Law is proud to announce the recipients of our student awards and scholarships for this year.  We honor the recipients of the Business Law Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Award: Maryam Afshar, Lili Arshad, Andrea Baylian, Silvia Bustamante, Kristine Kevorkova, Patricia Mamac, and Talin Shahnazarian.  This award recognizes excellence in academic achievement in Business Law for graduating seniors.  These students will receive a certificate signed by the Department Chair and the College Dean, as well as a gold cord to be worn at graduation.

The recipient of our very first Business Law Faculty and Alumni Scholarship is Atousa Ahmadzadi, a Business Law major.  This is $1,000 scholarship awarded to a Business Law major who has demonstrated academic excellence and financial need.  Atousa is also the recipient of the Business Law Book Award, which is designed to support Business Law majors with financial need and who excel in the department’s upper-division courses.
In addition, we are pleased to recognize those of our Real Estate majors who are receiving scholarships from the Real Estate & Land Use Institute (RELUI): Andrew Powell, Thiago Delia, Gabrielle Markari, Sienna Gabriel, Monica Hernandez, and Andrew Camberos.  The purpose of RELUI is to promote and advance knowledge, objective research, and education relating to land use and real estate.
This year, the students and their guests will be honored by the faculty at a virtual Zoom celebration in May.  Department Chair Kurt Saunders added: "On behalf of my colleagues, I want to congratulate all of our award and scholarship recipients.  We're so proud of their achievements, and we know that many successes await them in their future careers.  We're very much looking forward to celebrating with them.  I also want to thank the members of the Department Awards & Scholarships Committee -- Professors Nina Golden, Valerie Flugge, and Sandor Samuels -- for their efforts in selecting this year's recipients and their dedication to our students."


Congratulations to out award recipients!!!