• California State University of Northridge Library


The executive committees that are overseen by the executive branch of Student Government are commonly referred to as super committees and exist to execute the operations of the Student Government.

Standing committees are work groups made up of Associated Students (A.S.) senators who research student issues, deliberate, and develop reports, resolutions, policies or statements in response to those issues.

The information below provides a description of executive and standing committees, committee chairs and meeting times.

Standing Committee: External Affairs

Chair: Paige Hajiloo

The External Affairs Committee discusses issues concerning students that relate to entities outside the university. Some examples include the California State Student Association (CSSA), the Northridge East Neighborhood Council, the City of Los Angeles and the California State Legislature.

Standing Committee: Internal Affairs

Chair: Kiana Requena

The Internal Affairs Committee discusses issues concerning the programs and services provided by Associated Students. They perform regular program evaluations and suggest recommendations for improvement. They also review proposed program ideas.

Standing Committee: University Affairs

Chair: Charlie Rodriguez-Salazar

The University Affairs Committee discusses campus issues specifically relating to the policies and practices of the university administration, both the CSUN administration and the California State University Office of the Chancellor.

Executive Committee: Diversity and Inclusion

Chair: Eden Laur

The Diversity and Inclusion Committee works as a team to create a more diverse and inclusive environment within the CSUN community. They address student concerns submitted through the online submission forum and are working towards a greater sense of inclusivity for all.

Executive Committee: Elections

Chair: Michael Tejax

The Elections Committee is the body charged with facilitating the Associated Students elections. Committee members put great emphasis on remaining impartial and running inclusive and fair elections. President, vice president and senate elections occur annually in the spring.

Executive Committee: Finance

Chair: Nicole Fregozo

The Finance Committee makes recommendations to the Associated Students senate concerning funding requests from student organizations and A.S. departments. The committee also prepares the Associated Students annual budget.

Executive Committee: Judicial Court

Chair: Marisa Mendoza

The Judicial Court acts as the Associated Students’ judiciary. They review constitutions for student organizations that are looking to become chartered and interpret A.S. Constitution and other policies when necessary.