mIRC


Channels and Logging

When you start the program, a mIRC Options box will open. It will look like this:

connect

If the server you want, in this case vcsun, is in the box and you have filled in the requested information, click on Connect to IRC server:

Once you are connected to the vcsun server, a welcome message will appear in the status box.

Welcome

The mIRC Channel Folders dialogue box will appear. If it does not appear, select it by its icon and it will open.

="Channel

To have it automatically open when you join lrc, enable the Pop up folder on connect option at the bottom of the window.

To add a channel, type the name where requested and click on Add. The name will then appear with the other channels that have been entered. To join a channel, highlight that channel from the list and click on Join.

As soon as you Join the channel, a channel dialogue box will open with the name of the channel at the top and the names of the people on that channel listed on the right.

Channel Box

Whoever starts the channel will have a special sign in front of their name. This indicates that they are the Ops.


Logging the Channel

Automatic logging allows you to automatically log channel and chat automatically whenever they open. From the channel window, you can enable the logging feature. Click on the left corner of the window and a drop-down menu will appear.

="Channel

To enable the logging, click on it and a check will indicate it is on.

To permanently set the logging feature, from the File|Options menu, File/Options

select the Logging tab:

="logging"

In the Automatically log area, select the options you want to automatically log when you connect to the server. You can log channels and direct (DCC) chats. In the area below that, the location of logs and buffers saves: indicate where you want those logs to be recorded. I suggest you create a separate log directory before you start logging activity.

Although it is recommended that you configure mIRC to automatically log your Private Chats or DCC and the Channels, there is a way to capture a session if it has not been automatically logged. From the Channel or DCC window left mouse click on the icon in the top left corner

Buffer Menu and from the menu select Buffer/Save

Buffer Save and another box will open.

This box will ask you to indicate where you want the log to be saved. During the install process, a log subdirectory was created and that will be the default. Unless you want to save it to a different directory leave that. The file name automatically given will be the name of the channel or DCC that you are saving. Once again, unless you want to assign a different name, accept the default. Remember, when a log is saved in mIRC it will append to the existing log and not overwrite if there is an existing log with for that channel or DCC.

Buffer Log To save, click on OK

Viewing the Log

You can view and delete any log files which are listed in your Logs and Buffers directory. From this File|Options dialogue window, you can view and delete any log files which are listed in your logs and buffers directory by simply highlighting it and select either View or Delete.

Each time you return to a channel or chat, the log is appended to and not erased. Take a look at a log from two Virtual Office sessions.

Viewing the Log on the Internet - Webpup

There is also a feature to allow you to post the log to the Internet. A real-time log can be created using Webpup, a web bot. To create this log you send a message to Webpup and will respond by telling you he has joined the channel and the address for the log.

WebPup

The command is

In mIRC5.5 and later, this is a clickable link that will open in a browser window. In earlier versions, to copy the address you mark the text as usual with the mouse by pressing the left mouse-button and dragging it. The moment you release the left mouse-button, the text will be copied into the clipboard. You can then do the usual Shift-Insert key combination to paste the text in your browser.

This is a real-time log that is created as the discussion goes on. To view the latest comments you must Reload or refresh the page frequently during the session.

At the end of the session, send a message to Webpup to close the logging feature:

The command is:

and Webpup will acknowledge.

WebPup



Comments about this page may be directed to the Office of Online Instruction at webteach@csun.edu.