May 30, 2000 Vol. IV, No. 17

Award Winners, Emeriti Named at Honored Faculty Reception

Cal State Northridge Interim President Louanne Kennedy and Faculty President Al Kinderman hosted the university's annual Honored Faculty Reception on Thursday, May 18, announcing faculty award winners, emeriti and 25-year service recipients.

The annual breakfast and program capped the academic year, providing special recognition to the university's longest serving faculty and to those selected this year for special faculty awards. Those recognized at the annual reception included the following:

Outstanding Professor Award

June Downing, Special Education
Award sponsored by CSUN University Relations

Distinguished Teaching Award

Edith Dimo, Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures
Nancy Page Fernandez, History
Award sponsored by the President's Office

Advancement of Teaching Effectiveness Award

Louis Rubino, Health Sciences
Award sponsored by the President's Associates

Creativity Award

Stephanie Satie, English
Award sponsored by the President's Associates

Scholarly Publication Award

Anton Lowenberg, Economics
Award sponsored by the President's Associates

Outstanding Achievement in Equity and Diversity

Maria Elena Zavala, Biology
Award sponsored by the Presidential Advisory Board on Equity and Diversity

Emeriti Faculty

The following faculty have been granted emeritus status:
Rudolph Acuna, Chicano/a Studies
Alan Armer, Radio-TV-Film
Anthony Arthur, English
Peter Bellinger, Biology
James Bennett, Office Systems and Business Education
Jay Berger, Finance, Real Estate and Insurance
William Brown, Economics
Joseph Buchwald, Finance, Real Estate and Insurance
Donald Butler, Psychology
Richard Camp, History
Linda Caren, Biology
Mary Gay Doman, Modern and Classical Languages & Literatures
Willis Downing, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Charles Fierro, Music
Eugene Fritsche, Geological Sciences
Lillie Grossman, Family Environmental Sciences
Philip Handler, English
Jose Hernandez, Chicano/a Studies
Lesley Johnstone, English
Ronald Krane, Sociology
Paul Kravagna, Art
Kian Kwan, Sociology
Joseph Launie, Finance, Real Estate and Insurance
Larry Lichten, Computer Science
Lawrence Littwin, Political Science
Kit Machado, Political Science
John McGhee, Mathematics
Elliot Mininberg, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Alexander Muller, History
Jack O'Neill, Political Science
Ray Pettit, Electrical and Computer Engineering
William Rivers, Mechanical Engineering
Lester Saft, Economics
Mark Sanders, Psychology
Lawrence Schneider, Journalism
David Schwartz, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ezel Shaw, History
Owen Smith, Theatre
Richard Strayer, Accounting and MIS
Yuh Sun, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Shirley Teeter, Management
William Vincent, Kinesiology
Warren Wedin, English
George Welton, Leisure Studies and Recreation
David Whitwell, Music

CSUN Faculty Completing 25 Years of Service in the CSU System William Brown, Economics
Bonita Campbell, Civil and Manufacturing Engineering
Laurence Caretto, Mechanical Engineering
Maryellen Clemons, Theatre
Marshall Clevenson, Mathematics
Adam Gifford, Economics
Robert Hanna, Management
John Hartzog, Religious Studies
Christopher Holmes, University Counseling Services
Paul Krivonos, Communication Studies
Fred Kuretski, Radio-TV-Film
Paul Lee, Physics and Astronomy
R. Joyce Linden, Special Education
Roberta Madison, Health Sciences
Roscoe Needles, Management
William Toutant, Music
Eugene Turner, Geography

May 30, 2000

Return to the top of the page