Sept. 22, 1997 Vol. II, No. 3


Editor's Note: These announcements henceforth will be printed in this publication. Achievements will appear on a space-available basis with general priority based on their date of submission. Any items held for space reasons should appear in the next Achievements column.

Campus community members are encouraged to submit items with the title "Achievements" by:


Susan Plutsky and Barbara Wilson (both of Office Systems and Business Education) co-authored "Faculty Perceptions of Students' Business Communication Needs" (Business Communication Quarterly, Dec. 1996) and "Predicting Success in Upper-Division Business Communication Classes" (Journal of Education for Business, vol. 72, no. 3, Jan./Feb. 1997). Wilson also authored "A Descriptive Study: The Intellectual Development of Business Administration Students" (The Delta Pi Epsilon Journal, vol. XXXVIII, no. 4, Fall 1996).

James Aldrich (Sociology) co-authored a book, "Annotated Information Resource Manual for Public Administration, First Edition" (University of La Verne Press, 1997).

Barbara Tabachnick (Psychology) co-authored "Therapist Responses to Recovered and Never-Forgotten Memories of Child Sex Abuse: A National Survey of Licensed Psychologists" (Violence Against Women, Aug. 1997).

Sembiam Rengarajan (Electrical and Computer Engineering) co-authored "Extension of Orchard's Pattern Synthesis Technique for Over-determined Systems" (Electromagnetics, vol. 17, no. 1, pp. 15-23, Jan.-Feb. 1997). He also co-authored "A Comparison of Two Forms of Spherical Wave Expansions" (Electromagnetics, vol. 17, no. 1, pp. 75-87, Jan.-Feb. 1997).

Rengarajan also co-authored "A Method Using Focal Plane Analysis to Determine the Performance of Reflector Antennas" (ICAP 1997), a paper presented at the International Conference on Antennas and Propagation held in Edinburgh, Scotland, in April.

William Flores (Social and Behavioral Sciences) published a book with Rina Benmayor (CSU Monterey Bay), "Latino Cultural Citizenship: Claiming Identity, Space and Rights" (Boston: Beacon Press, 1997).


Harry Murphy (Center on Disabilities) presented a paper "Leadership Issues in the Field of Disability" at the Human Computer Interface convention in San Francisco. He also presented another paper "Trends in the CSUN Technology Conference Over the Years" at the Association for Assistive Technology in Europe.

Daniel Kessner (Music) and William Toutant (Arts, Media, and Communication) participated in the Fifth Romanian-American Music Days Festival July 4-17 in Romania. Among the works performed were Kessner's Chamber Concert No. 3, Five Preludes for Piano, and Orchestral Prelude No. 2 (Raging), and Toutant's Quintetto Amaroso, Peregrinations and Small Suite for Piano. Jennifer Zvi (Learning Disability Specialist) and Mary Ann Cummins Prager (Student Affairs) were presenters at the "Accommodating Students with Disabilities" workshop sponsored by the Western University of Health Science's Office of Learning Enhancement and Academic Development.

Marvin Harden (Art) was included in an international exhibition, "Book Obsession," at Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Israel, April-July 1997. Prints from his book "Natural Selections" also were shown at an invitational exhibition, "Changing Media: Books & Prints," at the Armory Center for the Arts, Feb. 2-April 6, 1997. A one-man exhibition "Marvin Harden, Paintings," took place at Ventura College Art Galleries, March 5-21.

Gary Chapman (Physics and Astronomy) presented a paper on results from the past 12 years of monitoring solar variability. The poster paper was presented at the 19th Summer Workshop held at the National Solar Observatory, Sacramento Peak, NM, Sept. 9-12.


Kirk Behnke (Center on Disabilities) was awarded the Assistive Technology Practitioner credential by the Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America.

Jay Siegel (Chemistry alumnus) was named a 1998 Arthur C. Cope Scholar by the American Chemical Society, an award given in recognition of outstanding research achievements in organic chemistry. Siegel is currently an associate professor of chemistry at the University of California, San Diego. At CSUN, he performed undergraduate research under the guidance of Edward Rosenberg.

Adele Gottfried (Educational Psychology and Counseling) received a Mensa award for excellence in research for her paper, "A Longitudinal Study of Academic Intrinsic Motivation in Intellectually Gifted Children: Childhood through Early Adolescence," published in Gifted Child Quarterly (1996, vol. 40, no. 4, pp. 179-183). This was an international competition.

Carrie Saetermoe (Psychology) was named the 1997-98 Jerome Richfield Scholar at Cal State Northridge.

David Whitwell (Music) was awarded the "Goldege Verdienstmedaille," the highest honor of the Austrian Band Association (Styria). The presentation was made in July at a banquet held near Salzburg.

Robert Carpenter (Biology) was awarded a Fulbright grant to conduct research on the Great Barrier Reef in Australia. He is one of about 1,600 U.S. grantees who will travel abroad for the 1997-98 academic year under the Fulbright Program. Carpenter was the director of research for National Undersea Research Program in the Virgin Islands prior to becoming a CSUN professor in 1988.


Stephen Walton (Physics and Astronomy) was elected secretary of the Solar Physics Division of the American Astronomical Society in June.

Joyce Feucht-Haviar (College of Extended Learning) has been appointed to the advisory committee of the University Continuing Education Assn.'s Review.

Sandra Harris (University Counseling Services) was elected for a three-year term as California representative to the American Psychological Assn.'s Council of Representatives. California has three seats on the APA Council.

Harry Murphy (Center on Disabilities) was appointed by the European Commission to the conference program committee of the TIDE (Technology Initiatives for Disabled and Elderly) meeting of June 1998 in Helsinki, Finland. He also was appointed to the program committee of the Sixth International Conference for Computers Helping People with Special Needs, to be held in Vienna and Budapest in August 1998.

Sembiam Rengarajan (Electrical and Computer Engineering) was appointed topical editor for the topic of "antennas" for the special publication of URSI (International Union of Radio Science) Radio Science Review 1996-1999 to be published in "Radio Science." Rengarajan was a visiting professor at the University of Pretoria, South Africa, during the summer of 1997. He also gave guest lectures on research problems in antennas and electromagnetic theory at the University of Stellenbosch.

David Whitwell (Music) was elected to a six-year term on the board of directors of the World Assn. for Symphonic Bands and Ensembles, a member of the International Music Council, UNESCO. The election was conducted in more than 50 countries.

September 22, 1997

Return to the top of the page