June 01, 2004 Vol. VIII, No. 17

Honors and Awards

Stephanie Ballard (University Library) in April was inducted into Beta Phi Mu, the international honor society for library and information studies. Eligibility for membership in Beta Phi Mu is by invitation of the faculty from an American Library Association accredited professional degree program. The honor recognizes scholastic achievement and dedication to service.

Jay Christensen (Management) passed the requirements for certified federal resume writer (CFRW), sponsored by the Professional Resume Writing and Research Association. The CFRW achievement represents nine weeks of work.

Susan Curzon (University Library) was reappointed by the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors to the County's Library Commission for a term of office expiring in April 2006.

Anthony Dawahare and Leilani Hall (English) have been awarded Humanities Faculty Fellows grants for fall 2004.

Ramón García (Chicano/a Studies) was awarded a fellowship to attend the Summer Literary Seminars in Saint Petersburg, Russia, in June.

Leilani Hall and Brian Leung (English) have been selected to serve two-year positions on the Pedagogy Forum Steering Committee for the Associated Writing Programs' 2005 and 2006 conference.

Mohammad Qayoumi (Administration and Finance) was invited to serve as a Senior Examiner on the Board of Examiners for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award for 2004.

Terri Silverberg (English) was awarded a Polished Apple Award from the University Ambassadors in their annual ceremony honoring professors for dedication to students and to CSUN.

Taehyung Wang (Computer Science) received the 20042005 Research, Scholarship, and Creativity Award for his proposal titled "A Bioinformatics Database and Agent-based Information Retrieval."

In honor of National Nurses Week, May 612, each member of the nursing staff at Klotz Student Health Center was presented with a certificate of appreciation signed by 12th District Los Angeles City Councilmember Greig Smith. The certificate recognized the staff's' "dedication and hard work in assisting the students, faculty and staff at California State University, Northridge." Certificates were presented to William Bonk, Carolyn D'Apremont, Rani Johnson, Jeri Landon, Karen Lindquist, Debbie Martinez, Xochilt Rodriguez, Dora Saucedo, and Lettie Smith-Pacheco.

@csun | June 01, 2004 issue
Public Relations | University Advancement
Home | CSUN A-Z | New Sites | People Finder | Calendar | News & Events
Students | Faculty/Staff | Parents/Prospective Students | Alumni | Business & Government | The Community