March 1, 2004 Vol. VIII, No. 11

Honors and Awards

Honors and Awards

Cynthia Desrochers (Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching) has been elected for a three-year term to the 200407 Core Committee for the Professional and Organizational Development Network in Higher Education.

Faye Grindstaff (Secondary Education), professor emeritus, received the Southland Council Teachers of English Lifetime Achievement Award at the organization's fall conference.

Charles Hatfield (English) participated in two panels at UCLA's super*Market: The Independent Comic Arts Festival. Hatfield joined historian Patrick Rosenkranz for a dialogue on underground comics, and moderated a panel on political cartooning.

Barbara Kroll (English) recently participated in a Prompt Development workshop in Iowa City, creating topics for the new ACT writing test.

Louis Rubino (Health Sciences) received a two year appointment as a visiting professor at Sun Yat-sen School of Business, Zhongshan University, China.

Mary Schliff (Music) has received the California Association for Music Education John Swain College/University Music Educator Award. She will be honored at the association's March 19 banquet in Sacramento.

Tarek Shraibati (Manufacturing Systems Engineering and Management) is the recipient of the 2003 Education Achievement Award of Region 12, Society of Manufacturing Engineering. He also was selected as Distinguished Engineering Educator of the Year by the Engineers' Council.

Research and Sponsored Projects

The following faculty members have received support as part of the MBRS SCORE Program from the National Institutes of Health: Barney Bales (Physics and Astronomy) $314,777; Robert Carpenter (Biology) $168,941, Steve Dudgeon (Biology) $46,287, Joseph Hajdu (Chemistry) $314,777, Donald Jacobs (Chemistry) $114,816, Luciana Lagana (Psychology) $53,711, Taeboem Oh (Chemistry) $142,471, Michael Summers (Biology) $100,695, Michele Wittig (Psychology) $152,453, Ben Yaspelkis (Kinesiology) $173,466, Maria Elena Zavala (Biology) $83,037.

Roger DiJulio (Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics) has received $145,413 from the Regents of the University of California, in continuing support of a project titled "MESA/MSP 20032004."

Warren Furumoto (Science and Mathematics) has received $40,500 from San Francisco State University, in continuing support of a project titled "Alliance for Minority Participation."

Alan Glassman (Management) received $1,323,800 from the State of California's Department of General Services in support of a program titled "California Procurement and Contracting Academy (Cal-PCA)."

Karla Johnson-Majedi and S.T. Mau (Engineering and Computer Science) received $32,452 from the Regents of the University of California in support of a project titled "MESA Engineering Program (MEP) 20032004."

Debra Sheets (Health Sciences) has received $14,453 from the Regents of the University of California, in support of a project titled "Geriatrics Education Center."

@csun | March 1, 2004 issue
Public Relations | University Advancement
Home | CSUN A-Z | New Sites | People Finder | Calendar | News & Events
Students | Faculty/Staff | Parents/Prospective Students | Alumni | Business & Government | The Community