April 28, 2003 Vol. VII, No. 15


Honors and Awards
Terry Piper (Student Affairs) received three awards at the American College Personnel Association's annual conference. Piper was recognized as a diamond honoree by The Education Leadership Foundation for his contribution to the association. He also received the Albert Hood Award from the University of Iowa and the Maude Stewart Award from Ohio State University, awards given to distinguished alumni in the higher education and student affairs professions.

The College of Extended Learning won three awards in the annual Admissions Advertising Awards contest sponsored by Admissions Marketing Report, a national publication for colleges and universities. The college won a gold award in the total public relations category and silver awards in the total advertising campaign and newsletter categories.

Leilani Hall (English) placed second in this year's Jane Kenyon Poetry Prize for her poem "For Josh Who Thought He Would Not Turn Seven." She was awarded $300 and her poem will be published in the fall issue of Water-Stone.

Carmelo Gariano (Modern Languages and Literatures) won first prize in the Los Carbonells essay contest for his essay titled "Lo Espectral en la Narrativa de Matías Montes-Huidobro." The contest, sponsored by the Miami branch of the Pan-American Cultural Circle, assesses the significance of the 20th century Latin American writer.

Jon Stahl (Cinema and Television Arts) received the 2003 International Broadcast Education Association Festival's award of excellence in the juried faculty scriptwriting competition.

Edie Pistolesi (Art) was selected by the National Art Education Association (NAEA) as Art Educator of the Year for higher education institutions in the Pacific region.

David Bach (Physics and Astronomy), Cindy Heiss (Family Environmental Sciences), Miguel Endara (Philosophy), Gong-Yuh Lin (Geography), Sheena Malhotra (Women's Studies), Elena Anne Marchisotto (Mathematics), Mark Raab (Anthropology), Angie Schock and Scott Williams (Family Environmental Sciences) were recipients of $2,000 stipend awards given by the Office of Undergraduate Studies and the Online Instruction Stipend Committee for their online GE courses to be offered in fall 2003. Marta Sanchez (Chicano/a Studies), Abe Feinberg (Systems and Operations Management) and Paula Dimarco (Art) each received $500 stipends for their half-online courses in the Share the Space Program.

Student Eric Williams (Electrical Engineering) has been named one of four 2003 outstanding students in Southern California by the Institution for the Advancement of Engineering (IAE). Williams, a senior, is considered one of the College of Engineering and Computer Sciences' top students.

Helen Castillo (Health and Human Development) has joined the Board of Trustees at West Hills Hospital.

Jeffrey Kahan (English) was awarded a contract to co-edit "The Compendium of Renaissance Drama." Kahan is also editing "Henry V" for the University of British Columbia and completing a 1,200-page manuscript of Shakespeare imitations and forgeries for Routledge due May 2003.

Students Johanna Escalante, Paul Siripaisan and Nina Sritanoothamakul of the Family Environmental Sciences Department's culinary team took first place in the food preparation competition at the Southern California Institute of Food Technologists Section Annual Food Conference on Jan. 14. The conference with the theme "Advances and Challenges: The Blending of Functional Foods and Chinese Medicine," was hosted by FES with Claudia Fajardo-Lira as conference chair and Dee Larkin assisting with planning the event.

Saundra Sparling (Special Education) has been selected as a KCET 2003 "Unsung Hero of the Year." Awards were presented during Black History Month to distinguished blacks in areas such as the arts, business, education and social services who have demonstrated a commitment to improving the quality of life in their respective communities.

Christina Banuelos (Biology) has been named CSUN Work-Study Student Employee of the Year.

Student Miguel Almena will receive a $1,000 graphic arts scholarship from the Mid-Valley Chamber of Commerce for his design of the chamber's new logo.

Steven Oppenheimer (Biology) received the 2003 Senator Richard Alarcon Community Award for his dedication to improving the quality of life in the San Fernando Valley and for his contributions to CSUN's Science Teacher Training Program.

Mary Hirt (Kinesiology) received the National Teacher of the Year award from the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance for her work as a full-time instructor at Lincoln Middle School in Santa Monica. Hirt is a part time lecturer and CSUN alumni.

The College of Extended Learning's public relations/marketing department won two awards of distinction from the international competition, The Communicator Awards 2003 Print Media.

@csun | April 28, 2003 issue
Public Relations | University Advancement
Home | CSUN A-Z | New Sites | People Finder | Calendar | News & Events
Students | Faculty/Staff | Parents/Prospective Students | Alumni | Business & Government | The Community