California State University, Northridge
Access Keys

This information applies to pages in the CSUN template system.Windows-press ALT + an access key. Macintosh-press CTRL + an access key.

The following access keys are available:

Search CSUN

Web

.

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences decorative banner.

Resources


 

Programs

 

Contact

History Department
612 Sierra Tower
CSU Northridge
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330-8250

Hours: M-F (8 a.m. to 5 p.m)
Phone: (818) 677-3566
Fax: (818) 677-3614

susan.mueller@csun.edu

Faculty

Full Time

Thomas Andrews

(PhD, Wisconsin, 2003; Assistant Professor) U.S. West, Environmental, Native American: thomas.andrews@csun.edu

Jeffrey Auerbach

(PhD, Yale, 1995; Associate Professor) Modern Britain, Imperialism, World, Modern European Cultural:. jeffrey.auerbach@csun.edu

Joyce Broussard

(PhD, USC, 1998; Assistant Professor) Nineteenth Century U.S. ,Women and Gender, Public History, Documentary Film Email: joyce.broussard@csun.edu

Flannery Burke

(PhD, Wisconsin, 2002; Assistant Professor) US West, Gender, Cultural and Intellectual. Email: flannery.burke@csun.edu On leave 2006-7

Ronald L. F. Davis

(PhD, Missouri, 1974; Professor) U.S. Economic, Labor, Civil War Email: ronald.davis@csun.edu

Thomas W. Devine

(PhD, North Carolina, 2000; Associate Professor) 20th Century U.S., Cold War Thought and Culture, Youth Culture: tom.devine@csun.edu

Susan Fitzpatrick-Behrens

(PhD, UC-San Diego, 2001; Assistant Professor) Central and South America, US - Latin American Relations, Popular Religion: susan.fitzpatrick@csun.edu

Richard S. Horowitz

(PhD, Harvard, 1998; Associate Professor) China, East Asia, Comparative, World History: richard.s.horowitz@csun.edu

Rachel T. Howes

(Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara, 2003, Assistant Professor) Medieval Islamic World. Middle East: rachel.howes@csun.edu

Patricia Juarez-Dappe

(Ph.D. UCLA, 2002; Assistant Professor) Latin America, Argentina, Southern Cone, Economic History: patricia.juarezdappe@csun.edu

Charles W. Macune Jr.

(PhD, University of Texas, Austin 1974; Professor) Mexico, Latin America.

Thomas R. Maddux

(PhD, Michigan, 1969; Professor and Department Chair Modern U.S., U.S. Foreign Relations, U.S. in the 1980s: thomas.maddux@csun.edu

Christopher P. Magra

(PhD, Pittsburgh, 2006; Assistant Professor) Early America/Atlantic World, Economic, Maritime, American Revolution: chris.magra@csun.edu

Michael Meyer

(PhD, UCLA, 1970; Professor) Modern Germany, European Cultural and Intellectual, Anti-Semitism: michael.meyer@csun.edu

Clementine Oliver

(PhD, UC-Berkeley, 2000; Assistant Professor) Medieval Europe, England: coliver@csun.edu

Merry A. Ovnick

(PhD, UCLA, 2000; Associate Professor) Los Angeles, Urban, Cultural, Architectural
Email: merry.ovnick@csun.edu

James E. Sefton

(PhD, UCLA 1965; Professor) U.S., Constitutional, Photography

Josh Sides

(PhD, UCLA, 1999; Whitsett Professor of California History) California History, Urban History, Race Relations: jsides@csun.edu

Frank L. Vatai

(PhD, SUNY Binghamton, 1982; Associate Professor) Ancient Greece and Rome, Intellectual History

 

Part-Time Faculty:

Kathleen Addison (MPhil, UCLA; Lecturer) Russia. Email: kathleen.addison@csun.edu

Shiva Bajpai (PhD, University of London, 1967; Professor Emeritus) India.

Michael Blodgett (MPhil, UCSB; Lecturer) World History: blodgett@umail.ucsb.edu

Robert Cleve (PhD, UCLA, 1982; Lecturer) Ancient Greece and Rome; Western Civilization: rcleve@msn.com

Darryle Gatlin (PhD, UCLA, 1990; Lecturer) Africa. darryle.j.gatlin@csun.edu

Elaine Goodfriend (PhD, UC-Berkeley, 1990; Lecturer) Near East Studies, Jewish History: elaine.goodfriend@csun.edu

Robert Marshall (MA, Wayne State, 1979; University Archivist) Archival Studies. robert.marshall@csun.edu

Donal O'Sullivan (PhD, Catholic University of Eichstadt, 2001; Lecturer)
Modern Europe, Eastern Europe.donal.osullivan@csun.edu

David Parker (PhD, Claremont Graduate University; Lecturer) US History.dmillerparker@gmail.com

Michael Powelson (PhD, Columbia, 1995; Lecturer) Latin America. mikepowelson@yahoo.com

Brad Reynolds (PhD, USC, 1982; Lecturer) Caribbean, Latin America, US History. bradley.reynolds@csun.edu

Leslie Smithers (PhD, Perdue, 2001; Lecturer) US History, Women's History. drsmitherss@hotmail.com

Bob Tomlinson (MPhil, Claremont Graduate University; Lecturer) Military History, World History. tomlinrw@aol.com

Tristan Traviolia (MPhil, UCLA; Lecturer) Colonial US. tristan.traviolia@csun.edu

Tamas Ungvari (PhD, University of Budapest, 1984; Lecturer) Jewish History, Hungary, Europe. tamas.ungvari@csun.edu

Michael Ward (MPhil, Claremont Graduate University; Lecturer) US West. michael.k.ward@worldnet.att.net

Nan Yamane (PhD, UCLA, 1995; Lecturer) US Women, US West, California History. nay2257@csun.edu

 

The College of Social & Behavioral Sciences is located in Sierra Hall Room 401 / CSU, Northridge 18111 Nordhoff Street, Northridge, CA 91330-8256 / Phone: 818-677-3317