Academic First Year Experiences

  • CommonRead 2014 Banner Students Holding Postmortal

Nomination Process

Who Chose The Postmortal: A Novel by Drew Magary? 

Postmortal book vover shows impaled Grim Reaper

"It was the grim reaper,

with his scythe plunged straight through his own back,

impaling him and leaving him dangling in midair" (Magary 24).

How We Pick the Books

The Freshman Common Reading Selection Committee members volunteer their service each year. CSUN students, staff, and faculty who would like to join next year's committee are welcome to contact Cheryl Spector on campus at x3932 or via email at before mid-October. CSUN freshmen have offered crucial advice in recent years and are warmly welcome to help us select next year's book.

The Committee typically meets twice: once in late October to choose a short list of four to six finalists from the list of nominated titles; and a second time in January to select from the short list the winning title for the upcoming academic year.

Got opinions about next year's nominated titles? Blog with us.

If you'd like to share your opinion about any of the books nominated for 2015-2016, please do! (The growing list will be posted soon.) You can submit your opinions for posting on the CSUN Common Reading Blog:

Selection Committee Members (2013-2014)

The following opinionated and lively readers spent time during fall 2013 and January 2014 debating whether to choose The Postmortal: A Novel as CSUN's Freshman Common Reading for 2014-2015. Names marked with an asterisk (*) belong to CSUN undergraduate students. Care to join next year's committee? Read "How We Pick the Books" (on this page).

Selection Committee Members


List of Selection Committee Members
  • Karen Abramowitz

  • Jada Augustine

  • Sister Rita Basta

  • Stacey Bieber

  • Erin Delaney

  • Nicole Dickson*

  • Alexa Dimakos

  • Kimberly Embleton

  • Susanna Eng-Ziskin

  • Natasha Feldman*

  • Breanne Foster*

  • Kate Gurewitz

  • Lindsay Hansen

  • Nicol Jensen*

  • Jamie Johnson 

  • Brennis Lucero-Wagoner

  • Melissa Cardini-Marcussen*

  • Debbi Mercado

  • Harmanpreet Kaur Panesar*

  • Marlene Pearson

  • Sabrina Peck

  • Jocelyn Sandoval*

  • Ronit Sarig

  • Heidi Schumacher

  • Terri Silverberg

  • Cheryl Spector

  • Sylvia Stoker*

  • Lizeth Villanueva*

  • Cira Winarto*

  • Louise Xu*