Student Recreation Center

  • SRC Determination Studio

Open Rec Boxing

BoxingKnock your fitness goals out with the Open Rec Boxing program. Work with our in-house Boxing Fitness Assistant and challenge yourself through an alternative workout similar to that of professional boxers.

In order to participate in Open Rec Boxing (ORB) at the SRC, members must complete an initial orientation with a staff member in the Determination Studio that covers the use of the studio and equipment as well as form and technique of basic boxing movements. Members may complete a one-on-one orientation at any time during normal ORB hours or attend a Group Boxing Orientation at the established times each month. After attending an orientation, you are able to participate in ORB as a returning member. Hand wraps are required in order to attend any orientation or during designated ORB hours and can be purchased at the pro shop for $5.33. 


Spring 2014 ORB Hours (Tuesday, Jan. 20 – Sunday, May 24)

Monday and Wednesday:
1 – 4:50 p.m.

Tuesday:
12:30 – 5 p.m.
8 – 11 p.m.

Thursday:
2 – 5 p.m.
8 – 11 p.m.

Friday:
10 a.m. – 12:50 p.m.

Saturday:
11 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Sunday:
10 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Special Spring 2014 ORB Hours

Friday, Jan. 30; Friday, Feb. 20; Friday, March 20; Friday, April 17: 10 – 11 a.m.
Tuesday, March 31: 10:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 5: Closed
Monday, April 6 – Friday, April 10 (Spring Break): Closed
Tuesday, April 7 and Tuesday, May 19:  12:30 – 5 p.m.
Thursday, April 9 and Thursday, May 21: 2 – 5 p.m.


Group Boxing Orientations

If you’re a new member of the SRC and interested in Open Rec Boxing this semester, attending a One-on-One or Group Boxing Orientation is mandatory to participate. You can sign up to attend a group orientation at any of the below times. One-on-one orientations are available during regular ORB hours. 

Orientation will help new members become familiar with boxing equipment and learn basic techniques used by professional boxers. Handwraps are required to participate and can be purchased at the SRC Pro Shop. You can register for a group orientation one week in advance. Don’t miss out on an amazing fitness opportunity!

Spring 2014 Group Boxing Orientations (Determination Studio)

Friday, Jan. 30 11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. & 5:30 – 6:45 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 20 11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. & 5:30 – 6:45 p.m.
Friday, Mar. 20 11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. & 5:30 – 6:45 p.m.
Friday, April 17 11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. & 5:30 – 6:45 p.m.

Regular ORB hours will be limited to 10 – 11 a.m. on these Fridays.